The artwork of my mom and her students

in #palnet5 years ago

I'm sitting in my car right now and waiting for @laputis to finish administring ear training exams for 8th graders in her school. It's is an extremely hot day in Vilnius with no sign of rain. Tomorrow the temperatures are supposed to be even more extreme.

Yesterday I returned from my hometown Klaipeda where I improvised on the organ an hour-long recital based on my dad's paintings. He is no longer with us but my mom still lives in the apartment where I grew up.

She is an art teacher at the Eduardas Balsys Art Gymnasium, the school which I graduated from over 25 years ago. I told her about the opportunity her kids would have on Steem. So she showed some of more recent watercolor artwork her kids made. The pencil drawings are hers.

As you can see she likes to draw birds and Christian imagery.

The colored watercolors of her students I find kind of amazing considering they are just 5th graders.

In order to learn to draw a bird, she practiced maybe 100 variations of the same bird in different positions. She recommended I also look at photos of various animals and try to draw them multiple times.

Maybe this way our Pinky and Spiky universe will expand?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

What beautiful drawings, they have a lot of talent

Yes, they do! Only talented kids are admitted to this school.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow. It look beautiful. They really look great

Thanks! My mom really likes teaching...

Posted using Partiko Android

they are great, and wow from the 5th graders. What I like about art is that no matter how much one practices, it is going to change over time through shifts in skill, thinking and the way a tool is held. I think also that once there is some life experience and perspective, the depth gets added to the work that makes it increasingly the mind of the artist.

My dad was an art teacher from the age of 16 til he had a stroke during a volunteer class he held at a church community at 82. I think he was pretty influential as an artist, but very influential as a teacher.

Yes, I think teachers could be even more influential than artists. But in my opinion it's best when you are both an artist and a teacher. This way you can teach by example.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep. I agree. Too often teaching isn't backed up with real world experience.

What interesting drawings and sketches.
I really liked the birds :-)

It's great to see such talent! I love the bird study :)

Wow... these drawings are fantastic, very talented children! I admire the last one of Jesus. What a fantastic drawing, the details of it are incredible. If you really look at it closely, you can see hundreds of whimsical looking faces in it, so clever! Thank you for sharing Vidas❣️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87