Embrace the Boredom - It's Mentally Productive

in #palnet5 years ago

Being disconnected is a constructive thing to do from time to time. I say this as I fly across the atlantic with no internet.
Eight hours of me and my thoughts (and podcasts, books, etc….lol)

Seriously though, the spending time in your thoughts isn’t the worst thing. In fact it is often when you have a revelation or idea.

Be Bored – It’s Worth It

If you think about it – it’s the time that you are “bored.” Time when you aren’t distracted or occupied, we feel bored but this is exactly when our thoughts can bare some serious fruit.

After doing some reading and listening to a podcast I decided wasn’t in the mood for more of that and find myself just sitting here. Looking at the flight progress map and just aimlessly thinking.

Thinking about my real estate investments, thinking about crypto and posting blogs nearly daily. Thinking about my scaredycatguide website and business.

This led me to thinking about if I should be refocusing my time and efforts.

We tend to get so tied up in being busy that we often lose focus on if what we are doing is benefiting us or making us happy. Or more so, maybe the thing we spend the least amount of time on is the thing that actually gives us the most and creates the most happiness.

Just having some time to sit back and think and thus review things creates perspective that we miss when in the trenches of day to day life.

I think this holds true for a lot of things. Whether business, relationships, health and on and on.

Being bored enough to just think about stuff for a while may need to be a conscious effort now that we have so many devices and social media outlets to distract us when we aren’t “busy.”

Food for thought.

Sort:  

It is good to be Quiet and Listen to what is Going on Inside.............

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Solitude is great for self reflection and should be practiced frequently. Many great thinkers in history were loners and uncomfortable among people.

I’ve thought about this alot lately, too. For some reason, and I can’t shake it, I feel that busywork distracts me from actual work.

Since everything somehow ends up arranging itself according to the Pareto Principle, I feel like I end up devoting 80% of my time to doing busywork and 20% of my time to actual value-adding work.

Despite recognizing this fact, I can’t figure out how to flip it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

We probably need to spend less time on steemit haha ;-)

That's why I try hard to remember my dreams.. Interesting stuff in a relaxed mind.... :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65