Garden Update 3 - Whats growing on my deck? A Herb-a-licious minty heavan.

in #palnet5 years ago

Garden Update #3 – What’s growing in my Deck?

20190628_175310.jpg

A continuation from my first and second posts.

This is the last area (for now) this year that is growing food. I have some potting soil left, and some seeds. I think I may try to get a late start - worst case I waste some seeds. Best case, I have to eat more veggies!

Planter #1

20190628_175316.jpg

  • Lemon Balm – I like the smell of lemon balm – and not to mention the mosquitoes do not like the smell! I pick leaves a few times a week to make some fresh tea with. I will add some spearmint and peppermint to it and have a nice blend. I have made it, and put it in the fridge to cool. My wife and kids even like the flavor of it. I was able to cut some once already and dry it, although it was not nearly enough to last me when the season is over. It is not really growing a ton, I can take a few leaves, but it is not going gang busters. I may need to add a 2nd plant next year.
  • Dill – I think, can’t remember this morning. I have not used it at all. I know a lot of grilling can use fresh dill but I have not gotten it into my head to use it yet. I will have to work on that. I might take some and dehydrate it just to see how it works. It’s a new plant for me and at the time sounded like something I would use. Not sure about next year.

Planter #3 - Youngest Kids Planter

20190628_175319.jpg

  • Sugar Snap peas – I had my kids helping and made them pick what seed they wanted to plant. They will eat a few so he picked sugar snap peas. Not too much to look at and I need to give it something to climb. Next year I think I will just add more to the garden.

Planter #3 My Fav
20190628_175323.jpg

  • Spearmint – winner winner. I can’t get enough of this stuff. I have cut a bunch and dried it but considering how much I pick to make a pot of tea I need more plants. I think next year I might do a whole planter of spearmint. I want to get some real production to dehydrate my own for next year, and I love this stuff fresh!
  • Peppermint. – Same thing here, I dehydrated some once, but I use way too much. I need 2-3-4x what I have now. I am mint and tea crazy, I know but why not grow it if I am going to be using it? This stuff is great and is really trying to expand out of the planter.

Planter 4 – Oldest Kids Planter

20190628_175325.jpg

  • Carrots – Both boys were helping, and my oldest love carrots so we planted carrots. We followed the rules and only putting one row per the spacing. Now it seems like a pitiful waste of space and they are not liking the area they are in. No much to do that his point but let them run until the fall and see what we get for a harvest. I think the carrots will stay in the bigger planter and ground for next year. They seem to like it more.

Thoughts.

I think next years the planters 1-3 will be 1 Lemon Balm, 1, Peppermint, 1, Spearmint and the 4th might be more of the same, or a new herb to try. Might need to do a bit of research to see looks interesting to grow and use in daily cooking. I didn’t bring a salad to work for lunch since I think today is a half day and we are going out on the river. That means I need to eat a ice cream pale of greens tomorrow to catch up!

Grow on!! ~Senstless~

SteemSilverGold--Banner.png


Follow me on Weku
Follow me on Steemit
Follow me on Whaleshares
Follow me on Trybe
Follow me on Narrative

Sort:  

I love dill. I love it in scrambled eggs, in tuna, egg or chicken salad sandwiches. I love it sprinkled in salads and dips. It is great with cumin and lemon pepper on chicken inside of gyros.

🤤

I know, that's why I got it. It's just new to us so I never think about it. Got to just pick some and add it to stuff!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89