NSNPUW - No Staking, No Powering Up Week - An Experiment

in #palnet5 years ago

Steem Engine Wallet.jpg

I've become addicted to both powering up my liquid steem and staking my tokens via Steem-Engine.
I love it; it's so easy to use.

Recently, we had #SPUD or Steem Power Up Day and to be honest, I power up my earned Steem daily. In fact, because the price of Steem has dropped so much I haven't powered down since I started, two years ago.

I also should really have a lot more Steem Power, but I've seen dApps die and DTube have all sorts of technical issues.
It all became too difficult to bother with. But now I have largely sorted out a lot of those issues and can upload content a lot more often.

Yesterday I was paid 10 Steem for the video that I had uploaded last week, combined with the various other #FFF competition entries that I had submitted. I decided to put 5 Steem into the Steem Engine so that I could buy and sell tokens.

Then as I went to power up the remaining Steem I caught myself thinking:
"What if I were to keep it liquid and then be able to sell it for FIAT in case of an emergency?"

Some Steemians recommend keeping at least 10% of their Steem non-powered up. It is a currency after all, and it should be used to actually buy and sell stuff, or as a gift for your friends and family.

So, from Friday 9th August midnight (about 2 hours after this is posted) to Friday 16th August midnight, I am not going to be powering up my Steem or Staking any tokens. I will be claiming them though.

Powering up Steem doesn't allow me to see how much I am actually accumulating in a week though, it will be an interesting experiment. My delegations and various other activities on the block-chain will still continue.

Starting Steem Power.jpg
My starting liquid Steem 5.291

Steem Engine Wallet 2.jpg
My starting Steem Engine Wallet amount: $4.07USD

I'll check back on this in a week so see where I am at.

Sort:  

I keep thinking about leaving some liquid, but I can't help myself and end up powering up for that next milestone. I'll say "when it reaches 2000, then when it reaches 2500."

Have you bought any Steem before?

Posted using Partiko Android

I've bought some through coinspot, and a couple of times for cash at the meetings. I'd prefer to do it at the meetings to be honest. Now it's dirt cheap so I think it's worth getting as much as possible.

I'd like to go Dolphin before the end of the year if possible but it means I have to do a fair bit of work.

This post is more an exercise in personal restraint. It's easy to power up or stake tokens without thinking and then wish I could invest in other things.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

If you look in my wallet you will see that I now keep it liquid and I'm accumulating a lot of liquid steem when compared to what I have powered up. I find that with the amount of engagement on steem currently, having any amount over 1000sp is the sweet sport for me to earn. (especially because I'm on the @backscratcher trail) . Unless I find something that I really want to delegate too, I will keep as much as I can liquid.

Interesting. Yeah, I think it’s also a confidence booster to have it sitting there.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations @shaidon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71