Are Contest On The Platform Sincere?...Somethings You May Want to Consider Before Entering One

in #palnet5 years ago

th.jpg

You'd thought I would have learned early on after my first experience entering a contest ended in disappointment that the winner chosen didn't even follow the rules of the contest but you know some people they just have to bang their head against the wall several times before something sets in. I definitely must be one of those people as several years ago a friend sent me a card with a brick wall on the front. Inside the card had an inscription that said every time you feel like doing something stupid bang your head into this wall. I think they were on to something about me as a couple years prior I received a card from them that said after I was made they just didn't break the mold they beat the hell out of the mold maker.

The other day one of the posters here did one of his funny post, he does them every now and then with this one being a list of funny meme's he found. They are always guaranteed for a good laugh so I often click on them when I see him post one up. They always inspire me to go looking in my fun folder for something funny to post back in the comments. The one I chose to post was this one I had come across a few days earlier on another social site:

67308591_10157139161651539_1064297538808446976_n.jpg

He responded back, "lol, that is so true but that doesn't that doesn't apply to any Steemian's right? lol. I upvoted his comment and didn't think about it to much more until later when I came across a post of someone giving away a boat load of steem....I clicked on the post out of curiosity, read through it and the numerous comments underneath. I have entered enough on here that I was trying to find the one comment closest to the character of the author...or the stupidest reply in a comment, or in a situation whereas one is asked to writing a story I'd been looking for the most lame short story I could find....as any of these are qualifying indicators of the winner.

It makes you feel bad for the people who put in any real effort or those looking to link up a donation to their cause but the reality is these supposed contest are more of a leading indicator that someone is trying to find a way to easily, indistinguishably find a way to set up one of their socks or give up votes to their multiple socks. I am not saying this holds true in one hundred percent of the cases but for those who have inquiring minds and follow the trend to see the reality it holds true more so then not.

The only time I've ever experienced a positive outcome from complaining was during a contest Jerry Banfield held once. Everyone was supposed to be guaranteed some sort of a upvote for their story yet days went by for a few people whose stories went unnoticed while some of the worst written stories were making it to the top of the upvotes. I think in that particular contest what pretty much was in play was the same as the very first one I entered on here, a lot of upvotes to those living in third world countries where language barriers made for some of the worse written post but they would be more inclined to be the most appreciative and follow in return leading to more upvotes on the post of the author. Once myself and another person complained we both received an upvote worth fifty bucks each, that was more than I had expected for the time spent writing that true life story. After the first experience it was much appreciated as it instilled my faith back into the platform.

Every so often I will see these contest where it says everyone who participates will receive some sort of an upvote but yet time and time again the most stupidest stuff gets upvoted while those who put a bit of time and effort into making a quality post/meme gets bypassed. So it really does make you wonder about the sincerity of those posting the contest. When it comes to those giving away boat loads of steem, especially when they say they may post several post on it before deciding it makes you think they are bidding the time to where no one is longer interested then they'll slip one of their sock puppets a hefty little sum, you really should be asking yourself why would someone whom it took hours of churning out post want to just hand it off to someone else. When you look and see how close they are to making it to a new level it really leaves you shaking your head. It just doesn't add up that one would make things harder on themselves, it really doesn't, unless the true intent is to bump up another sock with the ability to have a vote value worthy of helping you get to that new level quicker.

I guess this post is saying give some deep consideration about the amount of time you put into some of these contest, that will alleviate a whole lot of people standing around feeling your pain and making you look unwittingly stupid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87