....I was bored so I decided to take a look at the Trending page, "Really People It's Over For Steem"

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

34wic1.jpg

I was a bit bored today on Steemit so I decided to take a trip over to the trending page to see if there was anything interesting over there. Let's face it, Steem is done, it's over, there's no hope in sight from what I can see. Requesting people to make meme's to inspire growth is pretty useless...where is our Waves of Change? Poorly written articles, copy and paste, sloppy lunch stories....

Let's take a look at the offerings...

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@ncquote/jp-morgan-chase-owned-ship-seized-with-20-tons-of-cocaine-and-bitcoin-is-for-criminals

The article starts out:

On the 4th of July while everyone was celebrating the nations independence apparently someone else was planning >an even bigger celebration.

This article should have started:

Sixteen hours ago I decided while everyone at Steem was asleep I decided I would plan an even bigger celebration after running away with $107.51 for this poorly written two paragraph article.

**
Let's take a look at this little gem where someone made $70.86 giving people his (minuscule) unprofessional opinion on coins/investment strategy:

https://steemit.com/steemleo/@whatageek/why-i-am-not-looking-at-the-price-of-any-steem-coin-for-3-months

In it he writes:

There is also the fact that I do not have a clue which site will do well and what the price of the coins will be. Like literally >zero clue. I do not fully understand why steem is so low.

Well obviously he does has a clue when it comes to knowing what sites will let him scam them out of $70.86. Here was my response to him:

I do not fully understand why steem is so low.

Like literally zero clue

Here I will give you one: When people get paid $70.77 for a piece of crap article like this it's hard for investors to want to invest in bad product.

**

Here's a post on the death of Ross Perot:

https://steemit.com/rossperot/@zer0hedge/ross-perot-dead-at-89-after-battle-with-cancer

My only question to them was:

.....considering one could find twice as much information for free on any news articles printed on the death of Mr Perot Steemians are paying you $182.98 why?

Enough said.

**

There was this article where Steemians dished out $117.44 for this guy to literally copy and past from news sources the failings of Deutsche Bank.

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@ncquote/deutsche-bank-will-invest-in-bitcoin-sooner-than-you-think

**

Really I didn't think anyone could beat this article after I read it...but believe it or not there was one worse than an article on someone who was served up a sloppy lunch....

https://steemit.com/food/@purepinay/how-s-lunch

Afterwards to which Steemians were served a bill of $82.42 for that tidbit of sloppy information.

**

So what's the "I Robbed Steem Award" winner of the day?

https://steemit.com/steemengine/@steemleaves/buying-low-and-sellling-a-little-higher-lol

A post where the author doesn't know selling only has two L's and includes a laugh in your face right in the title. They got paid $60.49 to post:

BgxWBRxjvNhnbM9DiyHtCptYaDNF3xx85r8if8spuMjfmbKbneWDt4zuWNPUPWFmpK4PUfcnt5tSATa5na7GbFVR1AKLFDfsvoPjg5UbFkKdgXj5NbjGDy7GYCimDDHjk3g4hFiU9z5VjCXQg3rvFSgqrmLy6uEirKa8yNEKHovzu5x.png
The market has been going up and down. I enjoy it doing so everyday. Makes it so I can make a little steem everyday! Day trading is great when you have no transaction fees!

I am sure they are enjoying it everyday, that day may come to an end because of irresponsible behavior like this. You either want to save the platform or you don't. Someone has to take the reins and make the tough decisions. Limits have to be set. You cannot run a system that doles out money any differently then a bank, if some people can rob the bank everyday some day the bank will close.

After reading some of the comments left on these post it's only evident that the new down vote feature isn't going to work. I was the only one to question these people as to why they think their post deserved the kind of money it made. Everyone else up voted the post followed by a glowing comment, it's literally the most absurd thing I've seen for a social media platform. Allowing this pattern to continue discourages people, stifles growth and open debate yet the behavior continues despite the fact it's killing Steem. It's impossible to restructure any failing institution when you keep the bad behaviors intact, Steem is no different.

Sort:  

Good article and I think your heart is in the right place, btw...

I think that there is one other major discrepancy inherent in the Steem Ecosystem (and any other that may try and emulate it) and that is we have a great imbalance between most world currencies. Steem is indexed to U$D in more ways than one, and this attracts lots of small accounts that simply siphon funds from the system. It's like a bucket with a rusty bottom and polished sides, looks good until you see it from the top. I do not know if such a design can ever be made to work properly. All the safeguards of "stake" in the system and having "skin in the game" and still, steem is collected and sold off for immediate returns which means "at the lowest prices".

This is a totally separate issue, and much bigger IMO. Yet much the same, as it deals with Human Nature, which at it's root is selfishness.

I'm still bullish long term. I'm not sure how long term long term is though. I still think Steem has a shot at $1 this year.

You trying to change up the subject or you just tip toeing through the tulips? lol.

You seem a bit too negative. I don't think things are that bad. Most people probably use their feed anyways.

....so you couldn't read the headline let alone the article? Really?

I don't think it's over for Steem or Steemit or the Trending page.

great article and im one of the bad people your talking about
i write a few sentences and paste someone elses story since my grammar sucks lol
although i dont even make ten dollars per post so in that respect i am different from them in that perspective lol
have a great day and i would reesteem this but dont feel like putting myself down while im at it lol
cheers and have a great afternoon

I wouldn't complain if they were say under ten bucks but this is ridiculous, these people pull other people away from reading quality content and engaging as the platform was meant.

im not knocking you sunlit im just saying that this place is meant for everyone and i dish out good content from other people and its not as the same as you write it since you are putting your own content in there but my grammar is terrible and just because someone puts out content that it is not from them does not mean that is not qaulity just because they are notwriting it
lol
can you tell im trying to stick up for myself lmao
everything i post is good content even though i didnt write it myself
well everything ipost isgood content unlessim attacking the beanie sanders and marky marks of this place
i totally understand where you are coming from though gurl
have a great day
cheers

Copy/paste, plagiarising, or spinning an article like that Zer0hedge account is probably not a good thing. That account is not even affiliated with the actual Zerohedge.

There already exist stuff like @dlike for sharing, provided you add your own input.

If you want to share stuff that aren’t yours, decline payout.

so what your saying if there is good info and its from someone else do not putit on here
i have bad grammar and if you dont like people pasting truthful and good article with truth compared to MSM, well then sir maybe you should not read them and dont upvote me if you feel this way lol
and for the second part i dont know how to use the video apps
ive been here for over a half year and your the first person to tell me this
everybody else has not ever had a problem
i will continue to do things like this since if its good info and there is facts to back it up people should be able to see it no matter where it comes from
enjoy your day enforcer48
cheers
you dont have to comment to me either if you dont think i should have rewards although im definitely not here for that if you can tell from my communications with beanie
he takes all the rewards most of the time lol
cheers

These people didn't actually make any money, though. Those votes are paid for, meaning they made no actual profit. But yeah, I think bid bot business hurt STEEM more than people are willing to admit.

There's just no reason to engange with the token in any way as its been overtaken by these bots.

You know how silly that sounded? Of course they make money if they didn't people wouldn't use them. Doesn't matter the amount it matters they got a return. That return hedges on the amount the post makes and/or they self up vote the post for to ensure maximum satisfactory results for themselves. At someone's encouragement I tried it once, after paying a buck or buck fifty to a bid bot I got a vote...it was something like nine or nineteen cents over what I paid the bot. I think it was nine cents though because the next day I laughed at all that effort for nine cents while the person who encouraged me thought a rate of ten percent on my money overnight was doing great. He insisted no bank would have paid me that. (lol) I guess it's all in prospective. The reality though is this: I would have no problem at all handing out money to someone that I know I am not getting it back from them IF I knew someone else was going to give it back to me instead. Those someone else's are the other people on Steemit, they are going to give this guy his money back that he gave to someone else to turn a profit for him.....think about that.

Don't lecture people who are right kid.

Buying a one dollar vote and getting 1.09 isn't a fucking profit because you lose that to curation. You will not profit from votes from vote bots. All the blogs you show, its like 100 dollars or 175 dollars, why isn't it 1000 or 5000 dollars? If bots are profitable you think people who use them just stop buying votes when they hit 200 bucks?

The only chance you have to turn a profit with this is attracting whales who vote for curation. For instance go look at the @redes account on steemworld, it only votes on blogs that have high payouts. Still even with a few votes like that you will have a very hard time turning a profit, most bots won't vote on your post until after 20 minutes, you WILL lose a lot to curation

I don't think people should use bots.

This is why I'm awaiting the FREE downvote pool, I will be using all mine on a daily basis for overpaid junk on the trending page. Something at least is being done to combat it, wouldn't you say?

It may work, it may not.. but change is on the way.

Oh great, give berni more flags for free. I can't wait. Lol!

Who knows what's going to happen, likely war for a while!

It's been a war from day 1 and lots of bystanders got hit, ..hard! I had 2100 Steem and powered down most of it; that portion is now worth over 10,000 Steem. I can't find any reason to bring that back. Shame really :(

I'm just sticking around to see if any meaningful change comes, but I'm not holding my breath. Good luck.

it's been a streetfight from Day One for you, with increased flagging power it is going to be like

🐱‍👤 WORLD WAR IV (four)


WW3 will be high tech, fought with Nukes and Bots,
WW4 will be sticks and stones 😂🤣

Yeah, I like Einstein's prediction, but I rather enjoy swing trading crypto so I'll leave the Sticks and Stones to berni.

Embrace it. Not like he will upvote those junk.

Never suggested he would upvote junk, but I can guarantee he'll come after me as usual.

Curate like a boss then with 50/50.

See what I mean?

Sixteen hours ago I decided while everyone at Steem was asleep I decided I would plan an even bigger celebration...

That's a lot of decisions. Glad you recognized the pot kettle case.

No, seriously, while I do not disapprove of your feelings about the trending page, congrats to joining the ever-growing pool of grammar bashers who commit errors themselves.

slow clap

I stopped reading after re-reading that paragraph just to make sure I saw right. No, this is not a grammar critic. I long belong to that club and don't have any right to bash anyone's linguistic errors because writing in my fourth language I make more than most. More errors, I mean.

Pretty sure he was being ironic.

So, are you sure or not?

While I am convinced that many will go endless distances to argue that you can be 98%, even 99.8%, sure... you're either sure or not.

The slightest deviance of 100% and you're not sure anymore. 💯

Unless, of course, you subscribe to the belief that one could give more than their 100% [effort].

Here you go, nobody's perfect, feel free to tag me with it, I have a great sense of humor...though be forewarned some people don't and will troll you for days pointing to your every flaw...(lol)
Grammar-Police.gif

You know I did catch that double I decided I decided, I decided (lol) to leave it rather then edit it because I forgot to put my meme up until I realized it posted a pic from one of the articles highlighted. When I changed it it only changed on one format not the other so I decided to leave well enough alone. There's another mistake I didn't adjust either but I'll save it for you to find if you want to practice using your new badge.

Personally though I really do feel that regardless of education level anyone should be able to join and participate on Steemit. I have a son who had a unspecified learning disability, I always told him it was better to try then not to try at all. Through those years his brother and I had some pretty good laughs at his expense but we were extremely close knit whereas he'd laugh with us. Ironically unlike in some situations it actually encouraged him all the more as his mistakes brought joy and laughter instead of ridicule. In the end he did fairly well, he didn't end up being a genius but he can navigate words/spelling pretty good.

What is at question here isn't spelling, grammar, or a language barrier it's the amount of payout involved. Let's even overlook the difference in poor grammar or a possible language barrier, the article lacks any true embellishments. I clicked on it because it mentioned humane society, he could have done a bit of research by asking questions there on how many dogs pass through there, how many get adopted out, he could have taken a picture of the local shelter and shared it along with information on who runs it, how long it's been there, etc., if it had the title of his home town or county he could have taken a picture without capturing that if he wanted to keep his whereabouts private, he could have taken a picture of his son and daughter from behind walking towards the local shelter since this had an emphasis on being a family venture, he could have taken pictures of other animals there, he could have taken a picture of the three dogs running around playing together. He could have done a lot better job regardless of other underlying issues that anyone with some compassion or understanding of a language barrier would have overlooked, there's absolutely no reason why those who put their best foot forward shouldn't deserve recognition for their efforts, not that my up vote counts for anything but I've given out a few to well thought out post that were hard to decipher but that wasn't the point in case on that particular post. Even at it's best it still wouldn't have been worth near the amount claimed.

See? Nobody's Perfect, Sun 🤣
I put the cart before the horse all the time, but it's a simple matter to reverse👍

I have a real life too, admittedly I fired this one out a bit quickly.

More than likely true, I wouldn't say I am totally picky about who I follow but there's usually either a quality reason, someone with a good sense of humor or their lifestyle intrigues me to want to learn more about it, an example would be a homesteader I follow, so somewhere along the line I was impressed enough with you to follow.

Well, you are a valued opinion and I am glad you spoke out!
I read your blog a little and I see you are a dedicated grandmother,
which is PRICELESS. I am still hopeful for grandkids, but likely my
own kids will just adopt. Daughter is married and thinking about it,
my son has a GF right now, but that question is still future for them.
Sonny-Boy is kind of against the idea, or says he is. So I admire you
and your family, but if all I am blessed with is Grand Doggies, I will be
happy with that! 😎

We have our dysfunctional-ism for sure so I wouldn't go full throttle on that admiration. lol. You have a wonderful day.

Congratulations @sunlit7! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4750 replies. Your next target is to reach 5000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34