Waiting For A Train (Metaphorically)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #palnet5 years ago


Pexels

Do you ever feel like you're sitting at a train station waiting for a train to come? The sun is setting and the crowds have cleared out, but you still haven't gotten to get on with things. You know the feeling?

It hasn't happened to me specifically. Well, not literally at least. Ok, there was that time that I got off a train one stop too soon while in a foreign country. The name of the stop was similar and rather than missing the stop I got off too early. Fortunately there was a train schedule on the platform and I was able to catch another train five minutes later. So that's not quite the feeling. No, this feeling is more metaphorical.

Sometimes it seems like others are making progress and you're stuck in some sort of purgatory. No matter what you do nothing seems to allow you to progress. For whatever reason, nothing seems to work. It can be frustrating to feel trapped like that. One of the hardest parts is not knowing when it will end. Unlike in my story above, there's no train schedule to let you know when you'll be able to escape.

I can tell you from personal experience that although the waiting can be a nightmare, but it does end. It may take longer than you'd like. It may take longer than you think you can survive. But it will end. And the perspective will help you appreciate the freedom so much more.

So if you're feeling stuck, hang in there. It gets better.


Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Hey, @themanwithnoname.

You just described about six and a half years of my life! In fact, I'm not entirely sure I'm out of it yet, just in a new phase of it where working helps to take care of the present but doesn't leave a lot of time to lockdown the future, since working probably won't get us to where we need to be.

I've never had that happen to me before in all my life. There's always been some way forward, and often without much delay. Maybe a day or a week or a month, but not years, and certainly not where nothing was moving into place. So, this has been an interesting experience for me.

I'm sorry, buddy. I do know what you mean though. I've been in a protracted waiting period myself. I'm starting to see what could be light at the end of the tunnel, so I'm hopeful. Hopefully you get your breakthrough soon!

It's kind of looking like the the only breakthrough for now is when the value of STEEM breaks through zero on its way to the center of the earth! Lowest I've ever seen it since I've been here. :/

I hate it when the metaphorical train is late.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, can someone tell the conductor that we're waiting?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22