PALcoin, palnet.io and World Environment Day

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)


It's here!!! finally...

I was trying to finish a big photo post about a sustainability project I've been sitting on for the last two weeks, while I was waiting for palcoin to emerge.. and ta-daaaaa, PALcoin is here... and my post is so - not. So instead I give you this hodgepodge of name dropping and gratuitous randomness...



A huge thunder storm is sitting over my house, so earlier my lights and electric were playing musical chairs. because NO, I do not yet have a tiny off grid home with solar. Moon already palcoin!!! The bigger post will need to wait for the weekend, cuz tomorrow is Crimshow.. and I aint gonna miss dat.



First off, the minnowsupportproject and their lovely PAL discord server which I call internet home, are trying to reinvent the lightbulb by introducing an innovative system to garner renewed interest in posting and engaging on Steem. Level the playing field in essence, so that we all get a fair shot at that apple pie..



PALnet released an intro post and a white paper that explains it a lot better than I can. Or you can read about it here in espanol...

If you are involved with PAL, check it out. If you are not, consider joining our PAL-Discord server and finding out what lovely people we all are...


oki dats done, so I want to talk about the environment.



I was totally unaware that it is World Environment Day! I'm pretty sure its a deep secret that I only heard mentioned by the lovely Yidneth, who wrote this excellent post. In it she asked an important question:

What have you done for the planet today?

I think this is important because we are so often caught up in our busy lives, and forget to tell the people around us that we love them. The earth is everywhere, in the air we breathe, the water we drink, and it becomes very easy to take that for granted. And while I think about the environment a lot, I seldom actually DO anything really proactive. Sure I talk a lot, but there's so much we all could be doing every day, in little ways, that would add up.

Last night I was looking at these:



Reusable Zip Silicone Food Containers, made out of platinum silicone. It's environmentally friendly, free of plastic, temperature tolerant, and can be re-used again and again! Sure it is a little investment. So is Steem. Check it out on the web, there are a few different resellers, so shop around. You can read a bit more about it here

Stay tuned for my next (hopefully) post on the Growhaus - community motivated aquaponics, agriculture and activism!

Sort:  

Thank you for the mention, and thank you for caring
I woke today knowing that koalas have been declared functionally extinct that means that there are not enough to sustain one generation more and will go extinct in the while during our "watch". Small actions matter, the other day cleaning my house a package of plastic straws appeared, evil little things I cannot recall why they're there as I never use them... but evil little things. Some changes takes even not investment, simply carrying your fabric bag for groceries in your bag. Once more thanks for the mention sweetie!

i saw an article where they repurposed plastic straws to make building blocks for houses! some guy in NZ has found a way to use all sorts of plastic, so hopefully plastic will phase out. very sad about koalas tho :(

I also saw an artist that made an entire photography photoshoot built with thousands of straws to create awareness, his name is Von Wong, he called his creation the strawpocallypse

And yes, Koalas, well and polar bears soon after, we should stop this :( why HUMAAAANS WHY?

i love this clip! unfortunately humans tend to be either lazy, resistant to change, fatalistic or selfish/greedy. it's a mindset no one is willing to address because "it doesn't affect me" attitude prevails. sad but true...

Silicone zipper bags, good idea!

ima get some...

Hi @torico!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.602 which ranks you at #1771 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1774).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 193 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @torico! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 72000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 73000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79