The Barefoot Salsa

in #palnet5 years ago

I never had opportunity to do a sexy tango, but I have had the opportunity in Ft. Lauderdale to dance a sexy salsa or three with a handsome Brazilian. I wore an evening gown and ridiculous high heels. It's customary for the nicer clubs around Florida for ladies to get dressed to the nines, and that's half the fun. We even shopped for new dresses.

My sister watched us appalled when I kicked off my heels in "a dirty nightclub" to perform these exotic moves and complained about my feet touching that dance floor, but I was oblivious to it's potential dangers and went with the electric atmosphere.

I'm a country girl and grew up running barefoot in dirt around Pennsylvania. I was none the worse for it. It was no skin off my nose and the experience made me absolutely breathless. My partner was skilled in leading the dance and I exalted in my newfound grace. The pace of a salsa is exhausting and shoes were not facilitating such steps.

The man was leaving the following day back to Brazil. The music pulsed and my feet flew in ways I never before experienced. Sometimes you need to cast your fears (and high heels) to the wind and go with it.

Decades later I still smile at the experience and applaud my courage to try something completely different. I think of that night every time salsa music is played. I could have sat and watched but I am not that kind!

Dance as though no one is watching. The many types of dance all bring their own mood and expression. Music makes my feet tap, and although I don't go out anymore to dance like I once did, I will always celebrate the passion and energy of a skilled dancer!

SRC

Today's prompt is sexy tango
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That was a very beautiful story @wandrnrose7, thank you for sharing it, it's awesome.


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Upvotes in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 3 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in todays Awesome Daily report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Steem ecosystem by rewarding it".

I am honored by your comment and thank you for upvoting and sharing, too, @thisisawesome

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for creating awesome content.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Yes I had a similar experience, a man just started dancing with me and he knew so well how to do it I just had to let go and trust him. It was a wonderful memory for me too, especially now that I rarely go out dancing. I love this freewrite
And I'm here to encourage you to do it again for us!

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!


https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-627-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-stale-pepperoni-pizza

Fun memories, fun story!
The music pulsed and my feet flew in ways I never before experienced. Sometimes you need to cast your fears (and high heels) to the wind and go with it.
Decades later I still smile at the experience and applaud my courage to try something completely different.

Thank you, @carolkean. There is nothing like a freewrite memory ❤!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76