Weekend Ruminations

in #palnet5 years ago

The weekend arrived and for people who work Monday through Friday it's a break for all...unless you work a second job, or you are one of two parents with small kids, or a single parent. You see what I'm driving at. It may be a bit of a break for some of us.

We all need rest, and a change of scenery. Weekends mean I don't wake up for good at 5:15 a.m. I don't drive 55 miles to work (or Jeff doesn't have to drive me to work).

It's a break from wearing dress clothes for me or mulling over which shoes to wear or if my shirt matches my pants or wearing makeup (unless I go out of the house).

It's a break from talking or active listening for eight hours a day. Sometimes you just don't want to people. It's a break from packing lunch or lugging water bottles up the stairs.

It's a break from taking notes, battling computers and cleaning up other people's slack because the member's had to call repeatedly over the same issue.

It's also a break from buzz words and acronyms and double speak by big corporations trying to be personable and failing miserably.

It's not payday at my job since we are paid bimonthly, so payday won't be a break for us all.

I hope you have the weekend off work. You really deserve a break, unless you want money more, then staying home will not provide a break for your money shortage.

SRC

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt a break for us all
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I once wrote in a comment each day is the same to me about the "Hurray it is Friday". A bored person I was called.

I am a single mom my entire life. There are no breaks for a single parent. I had 2 jobs outside the house plus my own business (next to children) at home. You always wake up early, schedule, work.
A break has to be scheduled too and is not a break if you have to work extra and afterwards for over one week to have 1 free day off.
💕

Posted using Partiko Android

When I first left my exhusband I lived just like that and worked three jobs 7 days a week. It is not a fun existence! My baths were my vacation which I fell asleep in. I was a single mom if two boys. Then I went to college as a late learner at the age of 38 and work full-time and went to college have time to earn a bachelor's degree. I took Summers off of school so that I could actually get to read books that I wanted to read. I admire you for what you need to do. I work one full-time job 40 hours a week now and have weekends off. It does much for my mental health. @wakeupkitty. Thank you for stopping in. 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

I believe you it does. I had parttime jobs so also a lot of travelling plus you always work longer.
I simply did not sleep to get all the work done.
Also always studied and had several volunteering jobs with 5 kids and for over 11 years foster children as well.

I am happy I do not have foster children any longer and three out of five are adults now plus I gave up on my own business and don't write for magazines any longer. I gave up on working in the Zoo, editing a magazine etc. Still do not know how I managed it all.

Looking back I don't believe it was all worth it. The only thing I am really happy with is my driver's license.

Happy Saturday and enjoy your weekend 💕

I admire your fortitude @wakeupkitty.

Posted using Partiko Android

its kinda funny reading this post, I just finished my first weeks work in a new environment today after working alone for so many years. the change I needed was to get to work! Have a wonderful weekend and enjoy the break.

Hey! Congratulations @Paulag on the new gig! Yes, it's all perspective on what we classify as a break, isn't it?

Posted using Partiko Android

It's not the story, but the comments here that is making me think deep on the lives of single mothers..
.Am here with the weekends freewrite prompt.

For singles who want to mingle
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-9-7-2019-single-prompt-option
...
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-9-7-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
Do have a wonderful weekend.

Thank you for the prompt @botefarm. Yes, single parenting is challenging.

Posted using Partiko Android

I work for myself from home so Saturday is the only day I have to get up early, 8am, to go to the market for the week's provisions. Every other day I lounge in bed until 10;)

Oh how glorious @deirdyweirdy! I contemplated work from home at my job. I could and save a bundle on transportation but I am not sure I want the complete isolation. Enjoy your Saturday!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for reading @curie

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05