It's Book Lovers Day today. Are you still on Steem?!

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

Yes, it may sound a little weird as we all read a lot on Steem.

But today is 9th August - the Book Lovers Day.

On Book Lovers Day, we are supposed to ditch all our laptops, computers, smartphones, tablets etc. gadgets and pick up a book to spend some time with them on this day. But why?

Because books are very special things. It's the purest form of escapism. They can take you along in a land of fantasy or may give you a ride on some time machine to take you back in the historical periods. You can go to any place, time or culture with books and enjoy your time there.

This is an unofficial holiday to celebrate your time with books. So what are you reading today?

Honestly, I haven't read any book in a long time now. So I thought to read a book that was authored by myself. Interestingly, I couldn't find it in my book shelf. Perhaps it will take some time to search for it.

So I decided to pick some random book and I logged into Book Crossing website. It has been several years I logged into this website. Obviously, I struggled for some time to enter the correct password.

I used to find the concept of Book Crossing very interesting. It was an amazing sociology experiment. Anyone can release books "into the wild" for anyone to pick up and thus keep track of the book's journey across the planet through BookCrossing ID for that book. Since my city is a tourist place, many travelers from across the world used to drop books through Book Crossing website and it was a fun exercise to go for book hunting.

But sadly, I didn't find a single book lying in my city today. Not only my city, but there were only two cities in my country with books on BookCrossing. It seemed very strange to me. Why not many books are traveling these days! Perhaps many people have quit reading printed books!

As Book Crossing used to say, "if you love your books, let them go", but I wonder where all those books have gone!!!

Anyway, now I've decided to visit an old library in my city and explore and spend some time with books.

How about you? What are you doing different on Book Lovers Day?

Sort:  

I have never heard about Book Lover Day. Thanks for updating my knowledge.

Glad to see another book lover here! But yeah, we can set aside any day for book reading as per our choice. Why just one day a year!

But such a day is a good reminder for people like me who are forgetting their old companion viz. books.

Here's a Wiki page for this day, if you are interested in more details:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Book_Lovers_Day

Book Lovers Day
Book Lovers Day (aka National Book Lovers Day in the US) is celebrated on August 9 every year. This is an unofficial holiday observed to encourage bibliophiles celebrate reading and literature. People are advised to put away their smartphones and every possible technological distraction and pick up a book to read. Book Lovers Day is widely recognized on global scale yet its origin and creator remains unknown to date.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi, @xyzashu!

You just got a 0.54% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67