New and Improved Papercraft Skull

in #papercraft6 years ago (edited)

So I made a paper skull a few days ago but wasn't very happy with the result. I'm really proud of how it turned out this time(I'm definitely making more :p ), The first one I didn't even want to photograph from too many angles since the mistakes are very visible on the sides and bottom.

0.jpg

I had almost no glue smudges, pieces lined up perfectly and the skull fits on the mandible just right(the other one I had to press together for them to "attach") and the folds remain their shape because of the thicker paper.

Old
2.jpg
New
1.jpg

Old
4.jpg
New
3.jpg

The temporal bone looks amazing in this side image.
5.jpg

Back view
6.jpg

Top
7.jpg

Bottom
8.jpg

Already sprayed it with transparent acrylic paint and it's considerably tougher now. I'm really glad I found this model by Alexey Shlyk since it sparked back my interest in an old hobby of papercraft.

I really want to learn how to make models in the papercraft program(update: learned how) and try making an australopithecus afarensis skull, most known speciment, Lucy:
1.jpg
Source

I hope to find some more amazing models and share the results here.
Thanks for checking this out, feel free to leave some comments and critiques :)

Sort:  

Thats is super cool. Did you use a pattern or just wing it. I love the detail and am amazed as the end result, even the first try. I am now going to try figure out what else we can make at home.

Its a pattern I found online, i tried making my own though :)

Awesome that means there should be some other cool ones too, are you planning on making another one in a different style?

Yep, I found 4 3d models of fosil skulls that I aleady made into patterns, just have to make

nice, I look forward to seeing them :) Is there a fascination with skulls in general, as I am sure there would be plenty of choice of fun things to make, I think I will google a turtle :)

Good luck :)

Keep practicing your folding techniqued and im sure you will fold our space time soon ;)

Working on it xD

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by -Killua from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

WOW thats real impressive work, must have taken so much time but the end result is awesome

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11