Hang glider crashed when I was testing out the chase cam

While at the glider port we had some fun working some new maneuvers.

I had the chance to test out the new chase cam. I was also able to do some flying over the city of Lajolla. It was a fun day of flying.

About half way through the flight a student hang glider pilot made a mistake at launch and ended up upside down on the cliffs edge.

This was a scary time for most everyone at the glider port. The guy ended up ok and the glider had just a little bit of damage. Fun was had by all.

Sort:  

Looks scary and exciting at the same time. I am thinking about the upside guy, in worst cases, do people die?

People have died. But the sport is getting safer each year. It was much more dangerous 30 years ago.

hmmm hope they atleast die happy.

You must be really brave to try this. I fancy it, but I don't know if I would have the courage if I ever came close to 1.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi captainobviou3,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

This is the first video I see shot with a head camera. I know there are plenty out there but I've never seen any. It looks like so much fun, especially talking to another glider up in the air. By the way, how much is your altitude usually? Sorry to hear about the accident, must have been scary. Good thing nothing really bad happened.
There are a couple of bases near my city, maybe I'll try it out one day.

really great video and shows that it is important to make sure you have the skills first before doing this. Even you forgot to check your rigging in the beginning. Looks like so much fun and can see why you do this as it is the closest you get to flying and using the thermals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16