A subtle hint?

in #parenting5 years ago

Well, that was weird... just before bed this evening, my oldest daughter showed me this laptop that she had drawn up! As you can see, there is a game that she has designed on the top screen, where you are piloting a car or ship of some sort going up, and dodging the incoming obstacles!

On the bottom there is a fairly standard (if somewhat oversized) number pad, with a really tiny ABC format for the keyboard... Finally, there is a great huge battery that powers the entire device... apparently it runs on mostly on love hearts.

She's put a bit of thought into this... and perhaps it is a bit of a slight nudge for me to finish setting up either a little netbook or an old desktop for her in the attic. I would prefer to put it on her desk in her room, but my wife is against that idea. So, the attic is it... next to my gaming computer! So, I guess that will be tomorrow's project... along with attaching trellises to the garden wall, and making sure I've got Stellar joined to an inflation pool and Tezos up and baking.

Well, we'll see what actually gets done tomorrow... Hopefully at least two out the three... but in principle, all of them should be possible! The garden stuff is a bit trickier for me though...

It's a pretty skinny laptop as well!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  



This post has been manually selected, curated and upvoted by CI mod staff team. Supporting all posts that are in high quality and don’t get enough recognition.



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was voted: 100%

I don't know which I love more - the game/computer she designed, or that the battery runs on love! Yes, get this girl a rig of some sorts set up in the attic asap - in a few (ish...LOL) years time, she'll be running her own computer software company, and everyone who works there will say it feels like one big happy family. Oh, and best of luck with the to do list! 😊

I think it is great that it runs on hearts... Not sure that I can manage to make that happen with a normal computer... But that may be due to me not trying hard enough!

It runs on love hearts, that's the best.

Sigh... If only real computers could do that!

I love that she's using her imagination like this! No computer? Make your own...

Posted using Partiko Android

It is pretty cute, but I really should set up her own!

ah, those subtle hints, eh, @bengy? :) I used to get those. Only my boys weren't all that subtle. Maybe that's the difference between girls and boys.

It's cool that you have something that you can give her without necessarily needing to go out and get something. I'm not so keen on a netbook myself, but for her needs, and I'm guessing it's mainly internet research and maybe some report writing and putting together a project, she wouldn't need a bunch of computing power.

Of course, the old computer lying around would probably fit the bill, too. So which ever way you go, it'll be good. It's really too bad that laptops don't run off of love hearts, though. :)

I've got an old netbook and a laptop, I think one of those would be fine for her at the moment. It would be less bulk than the desktops... But I'm also tempted by the chromebook angle, however, that means making a new purchase instead of repurposing old equipment!

Yep. I know what I would have done (repurposed), for a lot of reasons, in addition to financial, but I've bought new, too, before I really needed to (mainly for business expense reasons). So, been there done that, as I'm sure most of us have. :) Are you going to write a post when you decide?

I should do! I think in the end I'm going to repurpose one of the old laptops rather than a desktop, the desk that we've got for her won't really have that much space anyway.

She's creative... so, I really should get that computer set up! I've got some really nice games for here... and a really interesting programming wand from Kano that would be nice to get off my computer!

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 69000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 70000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.471 which ranks you at #2129 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 216 contributions, your post is ranked at #61.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98