A Trip to Steemfest - Feeling for the ChildrensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #parenting6 years ago

Leaving the @gardenofeden is always
an interesting experience.

We’ve been traveling from airport to airport
for a couple of days now
on our way to Steemfest2 in Lisbon. 


Though living in airports for days on end,
sleeping on floors and benches,



running through terminals to make plane connections,
eating subpar food and having access to only bottled or treated fountain water,



breathing stale indoor artificially temperature controlled air,
existing under fluorescent lighting and being exposed to lots of EMFs,
not being able to put my bare feet on the earth,
and being in highly controlled secured environments,
still the most difficult part of being away from the @gardenofeden is...

...watching the way people interact with children. 



 Granted, I have seen two mothers nursing in public, even though there are nursing rooms in a couple of the airports—I’m not sure if these rooms exist especially to give the mother a place to rest in silence with her child, or so a woman will not be seen baring her breast in public—or perhaps a little of both. 



I have seen  a mother giving her child a ride on the top of her rolling suitcase, a father sleeping on a bench with his infant sprawled across his chest, a family nestled together in a corner soothing their young one, and a few teenagers sitting with families reading their own books of choice.  


 

I wanted to take some airport photos of people and their children, but it seemed somehow invasive.  I especially wanted to take photos or videos of people mistreating their children, just to let them know someone was watching.  However, I didn't have my camera out on the spot, and instead have opted to show some photos of some amazing children as a reminder of their beauty and grace.  


I have also witnessed parents yanking their small children down the terminals by the arms while the child cries at the top of their lungs, and a mother spanking her chid repeatedly for touching a straw on the counter at a coffee shop!!!  I have heard parents telling their children they don’t care what they want as they are to do as they are told - "just obey".  I have seen passengers angry with children for breaking the silence with joyous laughter.  I have seen parents making their son eat the food they purchased for him, even though the child made it clear he was not hungry. I even heard a mother tell her child that they may see each other again someday, but for now she wanted him go with his daddy, as she coldly peeled the child off her body through his sobbing gasps.  OMG!!!  So heart wrenching. 


Unfortunately, may of these types of treatment are common occurrences, and many people don’t even consider this abuse, but as normal everyday interactions with their loved ones.  I imagine there are very few who would treat another adult like this — let alone display this behavior in public. If people will do these things in public what will they do behind closed doors?  I shudder at the mere thought of it.   It surprises me that we as individuals and as a society accept this kind of controlling and detrimental behavior, especially to a child. 



I get sickened every time I witness this abuse, and honestly I never really know what to do.  Often times I don’t even want to leave home, as it feels hopeless to feel the turmoil of some families, while feeling very tied about what to do to help.  I have tried many things to stop the abuse, or at the least to bring awareness that it is being seen.  Most parents are extremely resistant to any type of suggestions, definitely constructive criticism, and often even an offer to help. I still haven’t figured out how to deal with these situations in a way that will be of benefit, and not create more animosity or heighten the anger. 


I remind myself of what the parent must have been through in their own childhood to incite such treatment of their own babies.  I close my eyes, pray for new levels of awareness for them, bless the situation, and give thanks that I have learned to honor a child, not to act like they are my property or mine to control. 




I do have quite a unique perspective on raising children.  Last year I won the Golden Steemit Best Undiscovered Author Award for my post entitled: Imagine the Potential for Life If Children Grew Up with True Freedom, in a World of Self-Design: Here is a Real Example of Children Living Such a Life We're Creating A Whole New Paradigm In Honor of the Children!


Since I am on my way to Steefest2 in Lisbon, it seems appropriate that I share my winning post with you again, especially  as these feelings of disgust and hopelessness arise within me.  I feel there are some gems on honoring a child that we would all do well to remember. 





One of my most favorite things about being at the @gardenofeden is the children.  Not only the kids themselves, but the way they  are treated.  They are respected, listened to, cared for, shown responsibility, kindness, and honored as the divine beings that they are. 


@quinneaker is the daddy of three of the children who are growing up at the @gardenofeden.  He is the best parent I have EVER witnessed, and is an inspiration to all who have tuned into his relationship with them.  Seeing the grand potential of children at such young ages is truly astounding, and I have never seen such empowered children living in love. 


@quinneaker will be speaking at Steemfest.  I’m not yet certain on what subject he will speak, but I am certain that whatever it is, it will be an enlightened perspective.  Parenting is one of his specialties and regardless of whether he specifically speaks about parenting or not as his speech subject,  I hope that anyone who cares about children will get a download of his valuable insight.

  
May my award winning post be of some value to you.  I dream of a world where humanity becomes aware of the potential for truly empowered, capable and responsible, loving, free children, and the same for society as a whole!!  If we can just look at ourselves and get out of their way, we can learn from our greatest teachers--the children.  


Give your kids a huge dose of love today.  


Here are a couple of my other posts about parenting/children: 

Sort:  

Another amazing post, I am so glad you won best undiscovered author last year. You really deserved it.

Hope a lot of people read this post and your gems to come.

Blessings~*~

I hope people begin to understand the implications of our parenting and how our actions will affect many many generations to come. It's time to take a look at ourselves and honor the kids as the divine beings that they are. Thanks for your support @quinneaker. I am grateful for your input, your example and your insight. May others be so blessed to witness the magical relationships you have with your children. You're truly an inspiration!

∞§∞Bless it be∞§∞

Wow! I really don't know how you designed this post but it looks fantastic! The kidlets are a blast too. Thanks for sharing, namaste :)

Thanks @eric-boucher. Kids are the BEST!!!! So glad to share them with you.

just by having your transition energy in the world, carrying and cascading and influencing everything and everyone in your path is enough to adjust the rebalance, we can't get to everyone but you can be a positive light to the ones that you touch. i understand the leaving of the energy base of home but sometimes we have to step out into the world. look forward to seeing you in a few days!

It is true, the best we can do is BE the change. Examining ourselves and engaging our true values with full-on dedication. It doesn't really feel enough though when you're standing there witnessing the abuse of a child. Today there was a lady in the airport who just let her baby scream for many many many minutes and did nothing to console him or help him in any way.. She just ignored it as if nothing was happening, going on with her conversation---and this was a baby of only months! We have a long way to go as a human race...I hope we embrace the opportunity to learn from the true teachers....soon!!!!

Excited to see you at SF2 @teamhumble. We are here awaiting your arrival!

This is amazing... So glad to know you are really good with designs also.
@everlove, I decided to make a contribution in my little way to SteemFest 2 through my Act of Creativity, but it got no publicity. I would appreciate you checking this out, and letting me know what you feel about it. Thank you as you do.
https://steemit.com/steemfest/@ufxpression/steemfest-2-take-a-look-at-some-designed-t-shirts-which-could-be-used-for-the-event

It's always a worthwhile endeavor to share the amazingness of Steemit. You've made some bold designs. Thanks for sharing them @ufxpression.

I 💚 this. Looking forward to meeting you at Steemfest and learning more about the @gardenofeden!

I hope you hurry up and get here @connecteconomy. It will be great to connect with you.

On the count down!!

The time is now!!!!

Great post ! Have a great time at steemfest !! Wish I was there ! 💕✌👍😊

I have no doubt it will be an amazing event to remember. We will send our updates as the event unfolds.

Awesome !!💕✌👍

Thanks for your travel log and the "re-print" of your award winning post. I'd missed it the first time around and it really was excellent! Have a great Steemfest and greetings to all of you!

How great it is to have you here @kus-knee. I appreciate your taking the time to read my post. Kids are the most important aspect of being alive and so integral to the health, wealth and overall well-being of our planet and humanity as a whole. It's great to have a place to share our passions.

Super excited about Steemfest--the beauty is unfolding already--such a great city and the Steemians gathering are like family. Blessed to have you here in spirit with us! <3

Hi @everlove, what a warm and powerful post. THANKS!

Feel sad to come alone to Lisbon and leave my kids at home, they love traveling bit this time they stay with mum. But a long summer trip is scheduled!

That's always the hardest part about leaving home, is leaving our loved ones behind. It's great that you will have some dedicated time together. Hopefully Steemfest will be well worth you investment.

Next SteemFest3 will be with Kids. #plan!

I'm sure they would add some real life to Steemfest!!!

Everlove you have such a peaceful genuine smile. It makes me happy!

This reminds me of playing with my sisters kids. 2, 3, 5 years. I just love following their imaginations and seeing what happens. Children can teach us so much about what our souls need. They are so beautiful and in the moment. It's something that should be honored and cherished.

Ren was so happy to meet you guys. She absolutely loves you and told me all about your adventures around Lisbon. You guys are inspiring for us. Thank you.

I appreciate the compliment. Kids are the greatest, so pure, free and alive---unless we squash it out of them. I agree--that should be honored and cherished. Priceless!!!

It was truly a delight to send time with Ren. She has been so hospitable to us in this city. We had a great day together, and then again today we got to play again!!! Grateful we are getting to share a bit of your family here, and grateful to be an inspiration. Thanks for the acknowledgement @happymoneyman. Much love back to you! <3

PS. I got to hang out with my sister's 3 kids yesterday. I had your article on my heart and it helped me be so present and enjoy playing with them for Halloween. It was beautiful. Thanks again.

So glad to be with you and the children!!! It truly is the best potential the human race has to finally move into a space of true connection. May we take the opportunity to give them such an experience!! <3

Hmm...@everlove
You just an epitome of true motherly love...what else can I say...excellent post as always ma'am
Wish you lots of fun in Lisbon
💓 💓 💓 😘

Thanks for being here @kenhudoy. I appreciate your comment and acknowledgement! What else is there to do but love?

We are having fun in Lisboa already!!! <3 <3

Haaa...just keep some steeming fun for us who wanna enjoy next yrs steemfest... Keep charming us with more pics of ur hot legs 😋

Hahaha---next year's Steemfest will come super soon. No time like the present to prepare!! Glad you're tuning in @kenhudoy.

Why not...love beautiful faces...expecially our hot ladies from Eden...😘😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16