MomshieDiaries: Patience

in #parenting6 years ago
Life does not come with a manual and so does being a mother nor a parent!

I remembered how excited I was the moment I learned that I was pregnant. It was beyond measure but somehow a little worried at the same time. One thing that helped me is that my mom was always there for me, my loving and ever supportive husband and most especially being surrounded by friends who have already kids and who love kids.

Being a mother brought me a lot of realizations and appreciated my mom and all the mothers out there. It is not an easy role to have and every day we learn something new most especially a deeper understanding of our own well being. From the time I was having my labor, I couldn’t fathom the pain I was having until I saw my precious little tyke.

No amount of education have ever prepared me and my husband from being a parent. Though it’s not something new to us, taking care of babies and kids as we were brought up taking care of our younger brothers and cousins, however, it feels different when it is your own. Becoming a parent has literally transformed me and my husband in all aspects of our lives; the way we think, talk, things we do, have all changed, the moment our son was born. Yet we gratefully accept all of it because amidst these, God remained constant and He serves as our strength.

Days became longer and nights became shorter mostly happens during the first year. Oh, the sleepless nights. Yet there is no greater amount of joy you will ever feel of having a child. Our son teaches us to read more and research stuffs more, be more responsible, patient and understanding. It is true that no matter how many times we read a lot of information about babies and heard a lot of advices from experienced parents, some times it will not be applicable to your child. Like when your baby cries and you are confused and blatantly clueless on how to soothe him that you have exhausted all the tricks you have learned but none of it could help you. I feel so helpless during these moments and would wish that if only there is a switch button to make him stop.

My son is definitely intelligent not because I am speaking as his mother, but he is really intelligent. When he was less than a year old he could talk few words like mama, hi, he can sing in the same tune as the nursery songs even if you don’t seem to understand the words that sprung out his mouth, he was able to mimic a short sentence, and he even can follow dance steps from the tv.

And now that he is turning three, he picks out the clothes that he will wear for the day. He has his shoe preference for his outfit of the day. He talks a lot more and with his curiousity, he throws us a lot of questions each day. With his age now, he does a lot of tricks and he is mostly testing the waters.

Having one child requires a LOT of patience and you need to be attuned to your child especially as he grows. Patience, I must say, it is the hardest to cultivate. While the cliché “patience is a virtue” is true, it tends to give the idea that this is an innate quality with which only few people are born with. I feel that I am not equipped to display generous amount of patience towards my son as my emotions easily get at height most especially dealing with his tantrums. I feel sorry all the time in most cases where I raise my voice, I am just human and still a work in progress. Definitely, I will continue to aspire to lengthen my patience as the time goes by.

Challenges we face each day as we are both working:

Morning


As we are both working and there is no one to take care of our son, we send him to the nursery while we are at work. Every morning, I exercise my patience starting from the moment my son wakes up. Oh boy, I can count only few days each week where I could successfully prepare him for school on time without any scene. I tried so many tricks and have set routines each day so that he will get used to it. But he is only two so we really need to adjust a lot. I understand that he is only a child and he requires longer sleep and would never understand well everything I say. It is certainly a struggle for me to be on time for work.

Evening


Just recently, he cries a lot for some things that I couldn’t understand. He has his sessions lately before he sleeps. I am trying my best to hold my temper and just keep quiet until he melts down. But before I do that, I would always attempt to talk to him politely and ask what seems to be wrong. If he still continues to cry I will just let him be because after all, he will stop at some point.

At the end of the day, we can endure much more than we think we can. With these two, I can always be the best of me that I can be, regardless, how my day turns out to be. Both of them boosts me to become better each day as a wife and a mother.

We definitely learn a lot when it comes to being a parent. We discover a lot of things about ourselves, develop a lot of useful skills, and recognize our strengths that can be applied at work or anywhere else.

I thank God everyday for this simple joys and challenges we face each day. I thank you langga for being a great husband and awesome father to our son. All your efforts doing the household chores, taking care of us and providing our family’s need are highly appreciated.

Thank you for taking time to read my post. If by any chance you would like to provide me tips about parenting please feel free to share and comment below. I would love to hear from you.

All photos taken using my iPhone.

Sort:  

Di bale pogi nman. Haha 😉

Oo nga mana sa tatay.

😲😲 saang parte?? 😅😅

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen for the SteemPH UAE : Daily Featured Posts | 17 May 2018.

Hello cutie! Lavahn lang loisey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78