Saturday Silliness - I wrote a parody song "Every Step I Take"

in #parodysong6 years ago

I've been messing around with Actifit a bit, and since the last thing I want is to clutter up this account with those posts, I'm doing that from @blueox, an automated account I use to upvote Minnesotans. I figure it's fine to use those rewards to power up the bot, and eventually get my delegation back.

But because of this while I'm on my walk I'm thinking about Babe, which led me to half-writing this song while I was out today, and coming home to finish it. Babe is a giant, mythical blue ox, companion to Paul Bunyan the giant lumberjack, and a mainstay of local mythology.

Paul_Bunyan_and_Babe_statues_Bemidji_Minnesota_crop.JPG
Photo via Wikimedia Commons.

Minnesota is called "The Land of 10,000 Lakes," although actually we have 11,842 lakes. (And it has to be at least 10 acres to count.) And the legend is that all of these lakes were created by Babe's footprints as he wandered around the young forests with his friend Paul.

So, well, I wrote the chorus to this song, and the rest sort of followed. No recording of it yet but I'm pretty sure you know what it sounds like. (My version is much less creepy.)

Every step I take
Every move I make
Every ground I break
Makes a brand new lake
I'm the ox of blue

Every single day
As I make my way
There's a place you may
Build another quay
I'm the ox of blue

Oh can't you see
It's all cause of me
I create a lake
With every step I take

For heaven's sake
Every move I make
If I go out for cake
There's another lake
I'm the ox of blue

Since you've gone I've been lost without a trace
Awake at night and all I can do is pace
Lakes are showing up all over the place
People gettin' all up upon my case
I keep crying and that just makes the water rise

Oh can't you see
It's all cause of me
I create a lake
With every step I take

For heaven's sake
Every move I make
If I go out for cake
There's another lake
I'm the ox of blue
Every step I take
Makes another lake
I'm the ox of blue

I'm the ox of blue
I'm the ox of blue
I'm the ox of blue
I'm the ox of blue
I'm the ox of blue
I'm the ox of blue
I'm the ox of blue

Sort:  

You got a 32.32% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tcpolymath!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This spoken-word version of @tcpolymath's song is not going to win any awards. :)

Loved this! I sang it out loud in my head as I read through your lyrics! Having had part of my life in Michigan, I too know of Babe and his blue ox :)

Ah that photo really makes me miss MN. Even more so getting drawn in with 10k lake and a state that actually has standards for what is a lake.

Florida the land of 10,000 retention ponds. I don’t care what they claim they are they are retention ponds! When they can’t see the other side over a body of water they call it the ocean. They would be quite confused in MN lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82