ULOG #22 - Real Fried Chicken in an Air Fryer!

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

I bought my Air Fryer on the recommendation of my sister-in-law who raved about it. I found one on sale for $60, regularly $99, and decided to give it a try.

It takes up some counter space, but it hasn't moved off my counter since I unboxed it. So that tells you that I like it and use it almost daily.

I've cooked a lot of things in this air fryer -

  • French fries and onion rings
  • toasted ravioli
  • fried okra, mushrooms, and cauliflower
  • boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • pork steak
  • hamburgers and turkey burgers
  • bacon, ham, and sausage
  • bratwurst and sweet Italian sausage

Wow, I should have said what I HAVEN'T tried - it might be a shorter list!

But one thing I was skeptical of was actual fried chicken from scratch. So I decided to give it a try.

As you can see from my title photo, it appears to be a success. And it was! Delicious and crispy on the outside and tender and juicy on the inside. My only regret was that I only did those two legs in the experiment! I sampled one and @crpyt-skip got the other. He liked it as much as I did. 👍👍👍

I followed the instructions in the book that came with the fryer. Well mostly anyway. It said to soak the chicken for 2 hours in buttermilk first. I skipped that step for 2 reasons - first, I didn't have any buttermilk, and second, by the time I read the instructions I was ready to do the cooking. Not wait 2 more hours. I may try that next time, but it's hard to imagine the chicken could have much better.

Basically I dipped the chicken in regular milk, then dredged in flour, then repeated with the milk and dredging. I used seasoning salt for spices.

My fryer has an automatic setting for chicken. But if yours doesn't, the temperature is 360°F. The book said to turn the chicken every 5 minutes and cook for a total of 20 minutes.

At first I was a little miffed to have to hang around the kitchen and turn the legs every 5 minutes. But then I realized that if I had been frying the chicken in a skillet I would been turning that every 5 minutes as well. But with the air Fryer- no skillet full of grease popping all over my stove, so less clean up. And healthier and less expensive with no oil used.

Bottom line, yes, you can make delicious real fried chicken in the air Fryer!

text15.png

If you enjoy writing short fiction stories (less than 1,000 words) I'd love to have you join me on Narrative. Here's a link directly to my niche Flash Fiction:

Join me on Narrative

Get in on the ground floor and see what it's all about. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me in the comments.

gwf2cppa8p.jpg

blueeyes8960.gif

Coinsplus.jpg

LINK to discord

5ShzsKnKF7vppGeV6VN3m3GSDcLoRruAhMmifZtFSDkYScLtVyWb1vMNEZUd6n8eJ9GR6KR1rEAXSfznQ6tuJnfFFUCrcmnUydT1wuuXmBBjZamfSkSx7R8QtzbrL9NhAYedbrYR5Ezg72WQDmadya61.gif


[credit@EdibleCthulhu]

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I did not try to cook withair fryer. We use a classic oven))

Much nicer in the summer heat to not have to heat up the house with the oven.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 100.00% upvote from us for your 20707 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

OH my. That air fryer sounds amazing!!!

Yes, it is, it's nice to buy one of these gadgets and actually be impressed with its usefulness!

Hi, @blueeyes8960!

You just got a 0.96% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blueeyes8960 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

OMG that looks soooooooo damn good! 😮

And it was just as good as it looked!

air fryer. i wonder how they manage to come out that idea.

I don't know, but I wish I had thought of it, lol.

Omg that looks so good! I have an air fryer too and I love it! Makes yummy dinners so easily

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes I didn't expect to find it so handy. Have you tried a grilled cheese in there? My granddaughter loves grilled cheese and it made the best one I've ever made.

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks total yum, a friday treat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28