A Low Rumbling Sound . . . Haiku, The Destruction of Port Royal, and a forgotten chapter in the founding of the New World *****

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

A low rumbling sound, . . .
Massive earthquake! Seismic wave!
Port Royal . . . destroyed.


Today is the 327th anniversary of the earthquake and tsunami that destroyed Port Royal, Jamaica, on 7 June 1692.

Though few today realize it, or have even heard of it, Port Royal was at the time the most important of the English colonies in the New World. It had roughly the same population as Boston, but several times the ship traffic, and was of far greater strategic importance.

Indeed, the history of the New World as a whole, and the founding of what later became the United States specifically, was changed forever on the fateful day when Oliver Cromwell, acting on orders from the King, attempted to capture the heavily fortified Spanish colony of Cuba, but failed badly.

Rather than return to England empty-handed, which could well have cost him his life, Cromwell set his sights on capturing nearby Jamaica, which the Spanish considered of far less importance, as no gold or precious jewels had been discovered there.


Big mistake. Huge.

At this time, in the mid-17th century, the Caribbean was widely known as the "Spanish Main," because the Spanish armada was considered to be virtually unbeatable, and thus they ruled the seas.

Cuba and Jamaica were only two among a large number of Spanish colonies dotting the region.

Which is why, when Cromwell attacked Jamaica in 1655, and the small Spanish population quickly abandoned the island, escaping to the north, they effectively passed control of the Caribbean Sea to the English without even realizing that they had done so.

It was the beginning of the end for Spanish rule over the region, and the beginnings of well over a century of global dominance of the British Navy.


Port Royal itself, at the time a terminal barrier island at the end of a long sandspit, enclosed what would turn out to be the seventh largest natural harbor in the world. This afforded more than enough room to house the entire British Naval Fleet and much more.

Even more important, on the landward side of the island, the water was protected, and yet deep enough right next to the island to "haul out" large ships, which was the process of pushing a ship over on one side, then the other, in order to laboriously remove barnacles and other borers from the wooden hull.

Of even greater strategic significance, Jamaica's Blue Mountains afforded full 360-degree views of the surrounding waters, which is to say nearly all of the central Caribbean, allowing spotters to see which ships were traveling through the region, and alert the Navy and the town below.


The British quickly ringed the harbor with six forts, and filled in the deep channel between the island and the sandspit leading to the mainland, sinking several decommissioned vessels, and using soldiers to dump rocks and boulders from the mainland to connect the two.

They quickly began preying upon Spanish treasure and merchant ships, and such "prizes" of all enemy flags, using their own naval vessels.

They also employed pirates, commissioning many as "privateers," which meant that they were pirates for the king, and thus operating legally under British law, with most of the spoils going to the crown.

Captain Sir Charles Morgan, in fact, though he has been commonly depicted as a pirate, was in fact a privateer operating under the auspices of the British crown. He was later made Lieutenant Governor of Jamaica.

In this way, Port Royal quickly became one of the wealthiest cities in the world, simultaneously strangling the flow of wealth to the Spanish crown, thus changing the balance of power throughout Europe.


Earthquakes and other acts of nature were not uncommon in Jamaica. The filled-in channel between Port Royal and the Palisados, the local name for the sandspit, was washed out a few years later by violent storms, and had to be rebuilt.

In 1688, a large earthquake caused several buildings next to the wharf to literally topple over onto some of the ships in harbor, prompting the wife of a local minister to predict that Port Royal, then widely known as "the wickedest city," would be destroyed by God for its many sins.

And its sins were rampant; as in addition to being a haven for pirates and privateers (though not as openly as years before, after there was some effort to crack down), Port Royal was known for quite literally having a church, a tavern, and a brothel on every corner.

The permanent population at the time appears to have been between 2,000 - 3,000, but often swelled to between 6,500 - 8,000, depending upon the number of ships in harbor at any given time.


On 7 June 1692, at roughly 11:43 AM local time (according to a stopped pocket watch found underwater centuries later), the earth let loose, liquefaction from the earthquake caused three- and four-story brick buildings to sink straight down into the sand, and then the tsunami came and swept everything from its path.

According to estimates at the time, approximately 2,000 to 2 500 people were killed immediately, with another 4,000 to 6,000 people dying in the coming weeks from injuries and disease.

The HMS Swan, then in port, was thrust up and over some of the buildings in town, losing its iron cannons overboard in the process. It quickly became a much-needed sanctuary for survivors.

The earthquake even thrust bodies from the local burial ground in the Palisados to the surface, so they were floating amongst the more recent victims, no doubt adding to the general horror of the situation.


For now I'll leave it at that, but there is so much more to this story, which has gripped me for decades.

For those who are aware of my long-unfinished novel, this is the time period and place in which it is set, in the period just prior to, and immediately following, the earthquake and tsunami that destroyed Port Royal.

I first came upon the story through a joint production of the BBC and Nova, both sources I had previously trusted, only to discover that the most fantastic parts of their story had actually been completely debunked back in 1692, in the sources they listed as having been used in preparation of their production.

So, evidently, they listed a bunch of sources that they never actually consulted, or else they simply ignored what they had to say.

Ah, well.

In the end, though I've yet to make it to Jamaica, the story has always captivated me, not least because so many aspects are still entirely relevant today.

So @katrinaariel, if you're curious about my pirate novel, here you go. This ^^^ is the background to the story.


Obviously I'm still posting via my Android phone, when possible, as my Macbook Pro has decided not to allow me to do much of anything of late. I have a couple of posts virtually ready to send that it flatly refuses to send.

Hopefully I'll have a new laptop soon. It will NOT be a Mac.

In the meantime, thanks to everyone here for your forbearance, and hopefully I'll be able to edit and correct the post shortly, and add requisite photos.

At this point, I don't seem to even have a way to delete the photo of our Muscovy duck and her turkey poults, so that's just how it goes.

Have a wonderful weekend, everyone!


Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

🏆 Hi @crescendoofpeace! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean
Subscribe and increase the reward for @crescendoofpeace :) | For investors.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

"Hopefully I'll have a new laptop soon. It will NOT be a Mac."

Oh dear - my old Lenovo laptop is still clunking alone, because I've not taken well to the new/used Apple laptop my indispensable husband got me. He loves his Apple laptop. There is enmity between the Apple and me....

Yeah, I've been working on computers since Moses was discovered in the basket, so neither Windows nor Mac yet existed, and I was working in machine language (kind of), Fortran (badly), and Dos (much, much better)!

From '89, I was working on my then-husband's pre-Windows desktop running Dos, then when I moved my art and framing shop next to an artist friend's studio in '96, she offered to let me keep my records on her Mac . . . the only other Mac I've ever worked on.

When I bought my first business laptop, in 97, I bought a PC because Mac didn't have the business programs I needed.

Through all the computers I've had since, all varying iterations of Windows, I've bitched about botched updates, but I didn't want to switch to Mac . . . I wanted to switch to Linux.

When I got my then-new HP laptop, about two years ago, it was running Windows 10, which I instantly hated. Talk about S-L-O-W!!!

I promptly got an older desktop from a friend, and converted it from XP Pro (which I loved, but which MS was no longer supporting) to Ubuntu Studio, which I instantly loved.

Fast, NOT bloated, ZERO forced updates, and just worked. It is so much leaner than Windows that it's truly amazing.

But then the desktop went kafloowy, now followed by the laptop, so my wonderful father-in-law sent me the Macbook Pro, which was sitting unused.

And I know why. Slower than Windows 10. For real.

Now, to be fair, mine us a mid-2010 Macbook Pro, and we don't know it's history. Everything works, sort of, but there are so many things I can do instantly in Windows that NO ONE has been able to tell me how to do in Mac, that at this point I see zero point in having a Mac.

If I can't even do the basic stuff I'm used to doing, then it's worthless to me.

So I'm about to buy a new laptop, which will no doubt come preinstalled with Windows 10, and likely a whole bunch of other crap.

Which I will immediately bypass by having a USB boot drive with Ubuntu Studio. My laptop, my way. Enough of bloatware.

Oooh, I recognize this Steemit name:
@katrinaariel, if you're curious about my pirate novel, here you go. This ^^^ is the background to the story.

Your pirate novel?!

I'm more than curious. I'm dying to read your fiction!!!

Okay, truth be told, it's not actually a pirate novel, but due to the time and place in which it's set, pirates and privateers do enter into the story.

Fiction writing is still a tad foreign to me, notwithstanding that I've been researching and writing this novel for so long, it's so far seemingly taken the full 327 years since the earthquake, and counting. ;-/

I didn't initially set out to write a novel, but a historical piece, because as I began researching what happened, I just kept getting drawn in more and more deeply because I found it so fascinating.

And the more I learned, the more questions I uncovered, so the events and what surrounds them are this research geek's dream.

But when I realized how many of the original records had been destroyed, and how difficult it is to get access to those that still exist, I suddenly realized why James Cameron added several characters to the Titanic who weren't actually on the historic voyage. (My biggest beef with the film, though I've since forgiven him).

The funny thing is that I probably would never have found myself down this particular rabbit hole had Nova and the BBC actually used the reference materials that they listed in the end credits, but then again, I'm thankful they were so egregiously wrong, or I might never have discovered this fascination.

Marek has believed in my story from the start, as have several of my friends, and the most striking thing to me is how relevant most of it still is today, especially in the wake of the #metoo movement, and our current global (and local) rise of totalitarian regimes.

We're definitely living in interesting times.

Posted using Partiko Android

You'll have an amazing story to tell, and you'll tell it beautifully.
Have you read any of Elizabeth Letts? She brings obscure details of history to life. The reams and reams of research materials she's read do not bog down the narrative. She works it in seamlessly and judiciously. "The Perfect Horse" - the horses of World War II, rescued by Patton's team - is probably my favorite.
Marek sounds like SUCH a catch!

Thanks, I appreciate your confidence.

I'm not familiar with Elizabeth Letts, but that could also be a great description of Antonia Fraser, whose historical fiction always kept me enthralled.

Michener too, though like Stephen King, his books were sometimes overkill, and could have stood more judicious editing.

And I think that's what I'm afraid of, is winding up with a 700 page tome that no one in their right mind would read.

But then, I come to my senses, and know that my years of familiarity and love for Strunck and White would (hopefully) save me from such a fate.

Not to mention a good editor. ;-)

Which reminds me, did you ever read Edwin Newman's wonderful book, "Strictly Speaking?" It is essentially about the use and misuse of language, and far from being dry, is a delightful read.

My mom loved it so much that we all wound up reading it, and it was great fun.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh gosh yes, Stephen King, Michener, and Joyce Carol Oates could use some judicious editing! They're impervious to that imperative to "don't write the parts readers will skim" or skp (Elmore Leonard advice?). I've been trimming out and finally not even bothering to write the details I used to indulge in. It's liberating, on the one hand, but the results can be stark, on the other hand. Historical fiction is a genre where detail is expected and welcomed. You will have more than you can use, but you will also have an editor and publisher to help you make that painful decision on what to "amputate" (that's how it feels!).

Yes, it's amazing how wrapped up we can get with our creations, especially when they seem to take over and start telling the story themselves.

Amputation is right, and sometimes it feels like you're losing a kid, if not a part of yourself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haven't read it but will! Thanks -I can see his influence or inspiration in your writing: He deflates the pompous, the grandiose, the stilted, and the hollow. He rejoices in language that is lucid, graceful, direct, civilized. The reader rejoices with him.
Your prose is all that! Even your replies are!

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1215408.Strictly_Speaking

Thank you, @carolkean!

High praise indeed, especially coming from you. I am honored, and my mom wou lo d be proud.

That said, I'm still working on improving my tendency toward using convoluted run-on sentences. ;-)

Congratulations @crescendoofpeace! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 52000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 53000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65