Tiny Silver Dimes

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

Happy Sunday Steemians!

Yesterday I posted about my new silver Thaler coin... what I didn't mention was that, in the same antiques cave I also bought an 1853 Dime.

Now, I know that I was overcharged for this one a bit (the one on the left) but I was so excited to add to my collection, I couldn't leave it behind. The other dime in the photo is a really worn little thing from 1873 that was hiding in the lot that my other half gave me... but silver is silver, right?!

So the interesting things about the 1853 dime are the arrows either side of the date. In 1853, the silver content of fractional coins was reduced by 6.9% to try to combat the hoarding of these coins. New production began in April 1853, so in order to differentiate between the higher silver content coins and the lower, the latter had these arrows added. This was because the higher silver content coins were being rounded up and removed from circulation.

The arrows were only on a series of 5 of these dime released between 1853 and 1855 - but they are far from rare due to the high volumes struck! Makes a nice little short collecting run though.

If you want to read more about this change in precious metal content and the reasons behind it, check out this link... https://coinsite.com/1853-55-dime-seated-liberty-with-arrows/

Evie x

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Oh my... you have seated liberty dimes! Great additions to your collection, my friend @eveningart!

Yay thank you! Are these particularly hard to come by? (Newbie question of the day 😀)

Posted using Partiko Android

"Braw wee coin mate. Also, Devon looks like a bonnie place ta' bide. Ahh like 'att picture ay th' laddie stackin' stones. Looks like me in mah yooth! " -Captain Joshua Slane

Thanks my captain! And Devon's gorgeous but sounds like you hail from somewhere wild and beautiful yourself! Evie x

Posted using Partiko Android

That is really interesting about the arrows. You are building up a great little collection. ☺️

Thanks- I'm completely hooked! I hadn't even noticed them till I got it home to check it out. I love the little bits of history that appear with them.

Posted using Partiko Android

And just barely finished my first roll of Rosie /Mercury dimes taking almost three years too. I don't get too many, and never any of the older ones like yours in my municipality as I would have to go into the Vancouver coin shops to find.

Help out a newbie from the UK... roll? Is that 50 coins? And is it a random assortment or across specific dates. Plus- congratulations that's a pretty epic achievement! I'm surprised to find early ones here in southern UK... the guy in the shop said any early US coinage is hard to come by over here as people love to collect it... well has right there 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @eveningart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15