Gail Arts: Father's Day Special

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit friends! Hello dear readers!

I sincerely like to thank you all for the support that I had been receiving. Although I am in the midst of financial crisis, rest assured I would not power down and let my account grow so that I would be able to help others [somehow] in this social platform by curating the works of other aspiring artists, artists, aspiring writers, and writers.

Anywise, Father's day celebration is fast approaching and I am so excited for it. Aside from the fact that I am the one assigned for the decorations for this special celebration in our church, I cannot wait to express how thankful I am to have a very supportive father.

A part of thanking my father on how grateful I am to him, I decided to create an artwork for him.


Tadah! I decided to create this artwork for my ever loving and supportive father. By the way, the image source was from a photo which is one of our memorable experience together when we were in Singapore.


The first thing I did was to sketch on my favorite black visual diary. Just like my previous artwork, I have decided to use my white charcoal pencil. I find this very convenient to use because whenever I use it, it is very fluid.

As you can see, the sketch was just easy to make. I did not bother making complicated details because I want my artwork to look simple.

Materials Used:

Since watercolor is not effective for this type of medium, I decided to use my poster colors. I used the 6 color poster colors from Colleen and then these additional two colors (gold and silver) from Dong-A. I really wanted to buy a lot of poster colors but it is very inconvenient for me. I find the prices very expensive especially that I am unemployed now and I am quite busy receiving for the teachers' board.

I decided to plan out the colors that would be used and mixdd the colors before putting paint on the surface.


When I was through mixing the colors, I decided to paint the lettering at the back which says UNIVERSAL STUDIOUS. But since on the photo [and in real life as well], the sign is rotating so I decided to paint some of the letters only.


I then added gold based on the image source. So that the color gold would not be monotonous, I decided to mix it with other compatible colors such as brown and white (just little pigment from these colors).


I also decided to paint the globe with different hues of blue.

In case you only have one brush, always make sure that you clean your brush properly in putting another color. It also helps to use different containers for the watercolor water for specific colors with same tones.


I then painted our clothes. Since I was wearing pink on the photo, I mixed color red and white to come up with pink. I also tried adding shadows on some corners of my clothes to make it look a little realistic.


And then I decided to paint the background and our faces as well. I must say, it is pretty hard because the brushes I used were not that small to give enough attention on the small details.

I also used gold and mixed it with other colors for the logo at the back. It also makes the artwork more attractive because most off the colors used were mixed with either silver or gold.

The moment I showed this to my dad, he was just so happy. Probably because I really take less effort on making artworks for my loved one.

I do hope you are as happy as him upon sharing this simple artwork with you.

What are the things you have in mind though that you wish to give to your dad as a way of saying you're grateful to him? Comment down below and share your insights!

Love,
Johanna Gail

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Nice art! Wala akong ganyan haha dapat mag draw ako no? Hehe good idea.

Resteeming this!

Laban! Post lang ng post!

Thank you @jacinta.sevilla. ironic lang ha, after kong ipost to inaway ako ng tatay ko. Leverrrn

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Such a gorgeous post, @gailbelga ! I love this <3 !!!

I can feel the warmth of your bond and of the memory that you shared through this artwork <3 And no wonder your father was super happy to receive it <3 What a beautiful gift for father's day !!!! :D

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89