Focus Determines Our Destination 🚗

in #partiko6 years ago (edited)

The Secret to Achieving Results (23).jpg

Life is a lot like driving a car. We have the choice everyday to direct our focus on the future through the windshield, or on our past through the rear-view mirror.

I drive my car almost every day. One of my biggest pet-peeves I have is when the car behind me decides to ride super close to my vehicle.

At that precise moment, I have a choice. I can either focus my sights on the rear-view mirror and get upset with that car, or I can ignore it and direct my focus straight in front of me.

Lately, to help from becoming upset and possibly brake-checking the person behind me, I will turn my rear-view mirror facing upwards towards the roof of my car so that I can't see behind me for a few minutes.

Sometimes, in life, we need to rid ourselves of the things we shouldn't waste time focusing on. I figure, if I'm not thinking about it, then how can I get myself worked up or agitated?

If my focus is set on the future through my windshield, then the car following close behind doesn't effect my spirit and I can then continue feeling at peace.

Whatever you choose to focus on, good or bad, will expand. In other words... the more you focus on a particular thought, the feeling of that thought begins to manifest itself within you. The more you have that feeling within you, the more you will attract it in your life. It's a law of the universe, much like gravity.

For me, I don't want to feel increased levels of agitation or frustration. I want to feel at peace, happy, and joy-filled all the time. Since that is the case, my focus is directed towards things and thoughts that provoke positive emotions such as my beautiful wife, my amazing kids, my relationship with God, Steem, and close friendships.

So next time someone cuts you off in traffic or someone honks their horn at you, direct your focus on what makes you feel at peace. You could even turn on your favorite song or listen to a book on audio to keep your mind away from the matter at hand.

Focus determines our destination. Where is your focus right now and do you need to direct it in a different direction. The past is the past. Focus on what is in store for you in the future.

-Ken, The Daily Climb

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

This post has received a 62.06 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @kenmelendez.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

What a good thinking....

This is awesome man, and so true. You know what would help me look forward and stay focused?? A new computer! LOL lots of my frustrations lately, and outbursts of swear words that I never used to say, have come from my computer. Well it is 9 years old....lol I just can't afford a new computer right now. lol I like how positive and cheery you always are! It's great my friend! Keep it up. And I will admit, I do not like tailgaters either. lol

Hi Ken,

In the Myer-Briggs personality test, people who score an "N" are intuitive in nature, creative, derive pleasure from mental stimulation instead of physical stimulation, and THINK OF THE FUTURE more than the past or present.


Some people get different personality scores at different times but I consistently get ENFP-A.


I kind of sense that you are ENFJ-T @kenmelendez I'm not sure since it's just a guess, but people with that score are really good at speaking, maybe writing and are incredibly talented at inspiring people and communities. A lot of pastors are ENFJ but unlike ENFP, they ARE good at manual work and getting things done!


I hope it's okay I shared this with you, Ken. I didn't include any links and I used my own words.

Hello me your post like comment and follow please my post like comment and follow please thank you
https://steemit.com/partiko/@kamarraza1996/my-real-story-post-2br763rop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66