Essential Dynamic Stretch For Runners

in #partiko6 years ago (edited)

Revolution of Sports Science

Runners are becoming faster, weightlifters can lift heavier, and gaining results are much more faster. This is due to the improvement of sports science. After attending a short course of Level 1 Sports Science organized by National Sports Institute (Institut Sukan Negara), I found out that stretching is essential for distance runners.

The stretching is not our normal strething that we hold our joints or other body parts and hold them for 10-20 seconds for warming up. These stretches are called static stretch. This kind of stretch can only be done after workout cooling down). The reason behind this stretch is to loosen our muscles after a long workout ir order to avoid injury.

The stretch that is essential before start running is the dynamic stretch. It is a type of stretching that we do not hold our joints or limbs, instead we move slowly in a controlled range of motion.

Forward Leg Swing

This stretch is to warm up our hip flexor and hamstring. Swing your leg front and back like a pendulum for 20 counts and repeat the other leg.


Source

Lateral Leg Swing

This stretch is to warm up our hip flexor and adductor. Swing your front foot left and right like a pendulum but in controlled motion for 20 counts for each leg, then you are ready to go!!!

Source

Besides these two exercises, there few more dynamic stretchs that we can do such as walking lunges, half squat, A & B skipping.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I am not a runner, but I suffer from Arthritis and need to move as best I can. I really like these two stretches and they are going into my routine. These are new to me, and I already lunge and squat in my own way :)

Thank you very much!!

Me pleasure.. these two workouts is zero impact. Therefore, it is good for people with joint problems. Good choice for choosing lunge and squat for your workout.😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, definitely. This is why these caught my eye. I'm always on the lookout for things I can do without making everything worse. Things like stairs just about kill me.

No worries. I will post few more stretches that are injury friendly with maximum results😊.

Posted using Partiko Android

No worries. I will post few more stretches that are injury friendly with maximum results😊.

Posted using Partiko Android

Soooooo....TIL that we were doing the wrong warmup exercises for decades since primary school. Mindblowing.

Maybe I should try this next time before I go for jogging :P and maybe adapt them for fingers before I start a game...haha.

I also did the old school exercise before discovering the dynamic stretch. You should give it a try😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

i used to love running. but my knee problem screw it all up. oh, how i miss my good old running days.

Hey.. thanks for dropping by.. maybe u can test different type of shoes and low impact workout to strengthen your knees.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09