Another Uniquely Talented Singer Has Died. My Thoughts On Prodigy Frontman Keith Flint.

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

I remember the first time that I heard Prodigy. I was watching MTV in about 1996. I used to spend hours watching MTV in those days, when I was in high school.

The usual video rotation at the time consisted of Alanis Morrisette, Coolio, Backstreet Boys etc...when I first heard and saw Prodigy on TV I was shocked. They looked and sounded so different than anything else at the time. They still sound very different than anything even today.

To be honest I never owned a Prodigy CD, but Breathe and Firestarter were often on compilation albums and mix tapes. I always thought that they looked like the Sex Pistols and sounded very electronic. Keith Flint was such a unique looking guy. After seeing him once, you can never forget him.

His death is still very recent, but it seems like mental health played a role in his early death at 49. There are reports that he took his own life. It’s sad that he is gone so young. It’s way too frequent that mental health plays a role in the untimely death of people.

As a side note I remember hearing that the Prodigy song ‘Breathe’ is the most dangerous song to play while driving a car. This is due to its extremely intense and hypnotic beat and Keith’s unforgettable steaming of the lyrics. Use caution while driving at all times, especially if Prodigy comes on the radio. Whether this story is true or not, it really emphasizes the sheer power of Keith Flint’s unforgettable persona.

Image is from google images.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You gotta watch this! Birdbox challenge before there ever was one!!

Cool video. I had never seen it before. Just like you said, it was totally like birdbox. They were ahead of thier time in multiple ways it seems.

Wow prodigy. That brings me back a few years. Few decades maybe lol. I only knew of there songs breathe and firestarter by the group, as you mentioned, from compilation CDs. This is the first that I'm hearing of the singers death. That's too bad

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, every time a popular singer from years ago dies it is a sad reminder that we are all getting old.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71