Canadian Thanksgiving and the birth of Jesus Christ, our Lord and God / Creator and King of the Universe.

in #partiko6 years ago (edited)

In Canada we are Getting ready to celebrate the birth of God.... Jesus Christ, Yeshu ha Notzri during the Jerusalem Festival of Sukkot. Sept 23-30

The Harvest Festival of the Lord and Feast of Booths.

Video by me.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sukkot

On January 31, 1957, the Governor General of Canada Vincent Massey issued a proclamation stating: "A Day of General Thanksgiving to Almighty God for the bountiful harvest with which Canada has been blessed – to be observed on the second Monday in October."

The Birth of Jesus on Sukkot: http://biblelight.net/sukkoth.htm

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Very different content for you @offgridlife :) Is this a Canadian thing? or just some religions? I am familiar with Sukkot but not the idea that it is the time of birth of Jesus

Yeah it is a Canadian thing... we Celebrate the Feast of the Lord / Harvest Festival / Thanksgiving around the same time as Sukkot each year and not in November like the USA.... our Thanksgiving is in memory of the birth of Jesus (Lord/God of the Universe)

Posted using Partiko iOS

On January 31, 1957, the Governor General of Canada Vincent Massey issued a proclamation stating: "A Day of General Thanksgiving to Almighty God for the bountiful harvest with which Canada has been blessed – to be observed on the second Monday in October."

Posted using Partiko iOS

Myself I am a student of Spinoza and several Catholic and Jewish mystics like Moses Cordovero, Abraham Abulafia, Moses de Leon, Chaim Vital, the Baal Shem Tov but I am very Interested in the Life of Jesus the Nazarene (Yeshu ha Notzri) so I do a lot of research on the subject.... http://biblelight.net/sukkoth.htm

Very interesting link. I was familiar with Sukkot because my wife is Jewish. I looked up Spinoza but am not a student of philosophy. Looks like many Kabbalist teachers. Good content. I have learned several things today :)

Yeah ... I am reading the Zohar and trying to learn Hebrew and Aramaic.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Cool intellectual pursuit. My wife's Hebrew is ok. From religious school.

Do you build a Sukkah in a few weeks? It is a magical tradition.

Posted using Partiko iOS

We don't practice at home. My wife attends services occasionally with family.

One day many many years ago I stumbled across a quote by one of my hero’s Albert Einstein.... when he was asked if he Believed in God...he said “I believe in Spinoza’s God” ... so I became interested in Baruch Spinoza. I read through his book The Ethics of Spinoza and decided like Einstein and Carl Sagan I too believe in the God of Spinoza

Posted using Partiko iOS

interesting, visit my blog :D

Sure... are you Anishinaabe ?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I see you are in Venezuela... I will follow you and try to help.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @offgridlife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you so much for your continued support and always positive comments. I Love you

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeshua hamashiach, love the sound of it!!!
Aramaic is a very interesting language :)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88