A Penny For Your ThoughtssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #partiko5 years ago

This old adage, phrase, colloquialism or what have you, is essentially intended to spur a conversation or inspire a quiet onlooker to engage in a meaningful discourse. A mere penny even a hundred years ago wasn't considered real economic incentive to offer any insight. So, an interpretation can also be "you're welcome to join our chat but you're not going to get rewarded monetarily"

Enter the fools gold of a blockchain touting incentive based social media. I'm sure many of you have attempted to elucidate what the concept of steem is to others. I'm also sure you've heard these replies..

So, it's basically reddit with a volatile speculative crypto asset integrated into an ecosystem. This is a pretty astute and accurate assessment. This wise non steemian might then say something to the effect of "aren't there enough opinions, trolls, assholes, etc online as is, why would anyone set up a system of wealth distribution around what is already freely available in abundance?"

Touchè

They then might wonder how such a system goes about said distribution? The answer is a pseudo democracy of "voted" for board members that act in utter futility in asinine attempts to regulate a monstrous hybrid of anarcho-capitalism.

Wow, this sounds great! Right about now I'm thinking this would be a great post to spam to all the introduce yourself posts.

But, wait there's more, what if I told you why it's a pseudo democracy!?!

Go on.. Well you see the votes are weighted meaning the old rich buggers are the only ones that have any influence, and they tend to protect themselves and their investments in the blockchain by forming unions with no oversight thus ensuring the top 1% stay in complete control. Sound familiar?

Still yet the plot thickens, as if this hell wasn't unattractive enough, there is an anonymous investor that has exponentially more weight than any other entity on the blockchain and they definitely have put all their yes men pawns into places of power and beholden profitable positions. In true dystopian despotic form this entity is known only as "freedom" How IRONIC!

So basically, we have a bunch of uninformed utopian seeking static characters perpetuating a decentralized myth. There are the elite, the first world sanctioning, war mongering, propagandists that bring the hypothesis of Illuminati masters right to your very own account that is worth pennies on the dollar. I'm not even going to get into the specifics of the failed pegged to the USD SBD and all the other disastrous economic strategies that only further widen the income inequality gap prevalent here.

If people read my post they might give me some pretty charts about how many minnows become dolphins, and dolphins orcas etc. As a, sociologist I can always come up with stats n figures that refute such glowing fantasies. This is the nature of stats, they are biased and agenda based always.

These delusional clingers to this failed experiment can't see the coral for the reef, and will choose to focus on their data instead of the harsh realities this little red fish paints for all to see.

BTW I've only barely scratched the surface as to the travesties and abysmal past and present trappings of the bloated decaying ecosystem. I came here with visions of collaboration with NGOs and hopes of strengthening or galvanizing a community of revolutionary thinkers. What I've found is a magnifying lens of the megalomania that is free to all on the internet as long you pay your ISP in fiat. If you love drama and wasting your time and energy for perhaps a percentage of a penny this is definitely the place for you.

Happy holidays y'all see you in 2019 until then keep regurgitating the same limp and fledgling messages of hope for your precious steem. Down over 90% in 2018 it's not surprising only crazy people or those so desperate for this to turn around are left clamoring away.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I only blame the economic incentives, it’s still not engineered to the point to bring the best in behaviours while retaining a modest degree in freedom.

Agreed @kevinwong... When I go off on these Lil rants I can see why I'm generally told to love it or leave it, which I respect.. But, while I'm sure I come off as an egoistical, disgruntled, complain box I'm at least not apathetic or hopeless. My intent is definitely not to merely undermine the party I'm a late arrival to but to demonstrate a newb dumbass such as myself can identify major issues within weeks and perhaps some focus will be initiated to implement some changes..I really appreciate your input and output for the blockchain...

Posted using Partiko Android

I love it!

Things I can’t say out loud at steemit : “My experience here has served as evidence to my hypothesis that nothing destroys anarcho-capitalism like anarcho-capitalism.”

Did I just say that? Good thing I don’t make crazy payout, most of the people who hate my opinion are too large to notice me at large salmon status

I’m still so happy I found this place. I made so many great friends. Those people are here, you just have to filter out the noise a bit, and once you connect to a few sometimes a few others reveal themselves like you’ve just done for me.

It’s also taught me a whole lot about myself and allowed me to grow in more ways than I can count. I got over my fear of fame and big brother (both are still obnoxious but I’m over my paranoia) and practice reintegrating into society after 5+ years away. I’ve learned that atruly anything is possible and even managed to score my first stash of crypto when I was penniless.

This place was designed brilliantly, it just had a few fatal flaws that were caused by the idealogical zealism . I just hope someone else fixes these flaws and does it better before Facebook catches on.

Thx for the resteem and it's great to see that you have benefited so much from the community here.

Im by no means completely fed up with this platform, and I don't mean to harp on the drama and failings. I agree that there are plenty of amazing people here and much to be gained for all of us by developing solid relationships.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love that you mentioned all this...there is too much fapping and scapegoating. I try to ignore it now for my sanity but I totally agree

And yet it’s still the best we got....

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yea, I suppose so @bengiles I don't feel too much like a "we" I just kind of exist to troll and be the antagonist here.

I only partially enjoy this endeavor, I'm not exactly invested, or committed and I don't think I care if this place succeeds, so I don't know why I bother being an irritating twat. It is a bit amusing to get whales to reply to me and it's very telling how they choose to interact with me.

What speaks the loudest for me is the silence, as I know many have seen my musings that are less than favourable and yet I'm mostly ignored. If I'm not ignored I'm told to just leave if it sucks so bad..Above is the first respectable response I've gotten from anyone that's a very big fish.

It's really interesting to me to see the parallels here and out in the real world, it's truly a microcosm of the global mess we are all in.

But, alas I loathe doomsdayers and saviours alike and I fear this place has forced my hand at being both. There are great minds and good people here so I'll stick around but I'd be lying if I said it was for anything other than entertainment and interaction with the few good folks I've bumped into here.

Posted using Partiko Android

oh wow.

I just kind of exist to troll

seriously wow..

so if you are honest with yourself, then dont you want to change something about yourself too?
just wondering

Not really no, I suppose I could attempt to be less blunt, offensive, or more tactful with my critiques and opinions, but that's just for steemian life.

This place is a very small segment of who I am and what I do with my awareness. If I had reason to believe being more polite and politically correct here would be beneficial for me or the community I would be more cunning. But, I don't see the point any putting that much energy into a platform I'm disenfranchised with and realising how utterly insignificant I am here.

I think it's difficult for anyone that's invested here, and been around since the inception or near to it to comprehend exactly why I feel so jaded.

My observations can't allow me to put much of myself into this experiment, and as far as my life outside of here goes I'd change nothing except for it'd be nice to be so busy doing things I love to do that I'd not find the time to steem while on the toilet..Thats looking like the realistic and deserving allotment of time Im willing to devote here.

If you feel your delegations will be better served elsewhere by all means you reserve the right to do so. I appreciate your support but having discovered the flow chart of witness voting and the disillusionment within those ranks after your delegations I just can't see the optimism or hope anymore.

If the price of steem was up I'm positive people would be less tightly wound up and be more engaging. You're one in a million @cryoto.piotr and I think everyone recognises that which means there is a sliver of hope for a community to flourish. But, the majority makes this place more of a cult that is bound by the dollar. And unfortunately this place needs way more than good intentions, and most of the interaction i see is kiss ass brown nosing which frankly I find revolting.

Well, I'm off to continue my preparations for my cookout nye party I'm hosting, so I've got a full plate ahead of me. All the best and happy new year..

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @skramatters

I always enjoy your unique writing style :) Sometimes Im losing you but still I cannot stop reading.

Cheers, Piotr

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by skramatters from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

If the audio version is Sean Connery or Morgan Freeman then I'd definitely find this useful...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79