24 offline hours experiment

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

I picked up a post by @mariusfebruary and I have decided to try it as it does fit my ideas about this lovely world. I believe we live in a decade when we are hyperlinked to the world out there via multiple channels and less connected to our inner cores. I arranged my life a bit upfront and I went all in on Friday - Saturday at midnight. I met on Friday evening after work with @adetorrent and @soyrosa. I was then in transition phase already, trying to hide my phone from the view and I only took one picture with the food.

I had a friend staying over as she lives outside London and that was the most difficult part to arrange as she is a bit lost in big cities and she had to manage to find the way towards my place from Camden without my help as usual. I was proud of her as she made it around midnight exactly after my 24 hours expired. So she is pretty unsure that she will be able to survive without her phone and GPS.

I felt all this time, a bit like in my early childhood when if I wanted to meet with a friend I just went to his door and knock and if he wasn't there I just waited for him outside making shapes from the clouds in the sky. It was kind of easy to me, I didnt struggle to live without reading posts about crypto 😂 but I did miss it from time to time. I am inspired to try more and I remembered that no such a long time ago I used to go to 10-15 days silence meditation camps and the world didn't stopped without me checking on it. I might organise my life so that I have a day or two off a month in the wild getting back to my compass and moon gazing. I will see. Meanwhile I really appreciate this opportunity to do a deep cleaning in my room and to sort out the things that they need to go.

I am going to a yoga meditation class and a jazz event this evening and I am almost inspired to live my phone behind. Do you like to live in a world without being instantly connected to the world out there?

Love and hugs,
Teodora

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Good for you!

I think regular offlining is essential. I keep my phone out of my bedroom and don't logon to anything until 2 hrz after waking up.. and I tend to have a 3 hr offline stint in the middle of the day.

So shorter burstz but same idea.

I should do more 24 hr offline sessions.

Do you feel better for it?

Posted using Partiko Android

I feel that reminded me of a lost treasure. As I work 9-5 I am a bit jealous about the fact that you can go offline during the day. But it will come at one point. I am so glad that are other people that feel that we can disconnect and is better for us :)

Posted using Partiko Android

:D It reminds me of the time I had to hand in my phone for repair and had to wait for 4 hours... Decided to go to the cinema but realized I had no way of knowing which movies were 'on' at what time and which public transport would take me there :') Also, had no way of letting anyone know that I would be late for dinner.

It's really good to experience sometimes, and honestly, having a real 'offline' moment would be a great idea for me too :-)

Glad your friend found the house though! :D Being uncomfortable yourself is one thing, but having your friend get lost in London would have felt different probably :')

Haha I never thought that in our days the cinema don't have anymore a big list with the movies that are running. I haven't been in a cinema for a few months, I need to correct this soon :)

It was a great experience and I thought I would be shaking as an addict, but to be honest I was relatively relaxed and had fun. My friend was my biggest concern, luckily I alert her in advance about my great plan and she did like to play the game, but until she was at my place I did had a bit my heart in my throat ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10