Upwork: Scammers

in #partiko6 years ago (edited)

I thought today will be a good day for me but sadly it isn't. I am safe though, no harms are done but it is a really important message from me.

A few days ago, I signed up a website called Upwork. The website is very interesting to see. So many jobs feed to look and try out. I thought it can be a perfect second job for me. So I checked it out.

After I got submitted to be on Upwork, I look at some job feeds to start. I submitted and wait for the clients to reply. It took 2 days and I almost gave up on it. Since I'm new, they wouldn't take a new person too seriously. Now a client texts me to work with them, I got very excited about it.

We did an interview and it was going so well. I answered some questions and do some things like printing. I didn't give them my personal information because I do not fully trust them. Things go on, and I was so close to trusting them until they gave a check with $2500. I was shocked in excitement but it gave me some concerns about this check. So I told my good friend Alex for the "good" news. I told him about the check and he told me to let him look at it; I did but he noticed something wrong about the check.

Alex told me that this check is for insurance for injuries from a car accident. I got confused about why they sent me this. We both realized it is a scam. I was mad but very upset. I ask the clients questions about the check and ask, "Is Upwork a safe place to work and Is this a scam?" He told me, no but I don't believe him, so I declined the job and never speak to him again.

I did cry because I almost got scammed but thank goodness my friend was there to point the mistake here. Without him, I would have lost all my money. I lost some trust from Upwork but I'm giving a second chance since they are scammers everywhere. I still won't give up!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That's pretty crappy! I can't believe someone would try to do that to you. But there are scammers everywhere and it's good to be really cautious. It's a good idea to check things out with a friend and see what they think! you can still make your own decision but it doesn't hurt to get somebody else's opinion. 👍😎

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm sticking with my friends first

Posted using Partiko Android

I wrote a bunch of guides on how to identify different kinds of scam that you may find useful. The one you describe here seems to work very similarly to the roommate scam. They send you a check, say it was accidentally too much, ask you to pay them the difference, then the check bounces and the amount you sent back comes out of your pocket.

It's scary too. I'm glad we notice the issue

Posted using Partiko Android

It's better to hang out with people better than you. Pick out associates whose behavior is better than yours and you'll drift in that direction.

True but it saddens that they're spammers everywhere. It's really sad

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06