Appletini, Anyone?

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

I think that appletinis are one of my favorite guilty pleasures. They're actually quite strong because they're pure flavored vodka.

If I'm lucky, the bartender will place a swirl of caramel in glass and a red cherry or two makes me the happiest. I can't drink more than two of these without being completely inebriated.

Since I don't want to embarrass myself. I will always stop at two drinks.

My first experience with an appletini was in Florida with my sister, Adrianne. For many many years I did not drink a drop of alcohol. I was a fundamental Baptist from the time I was age 19 until I turned 30.

After my divorce things happened and I stopped going to the church I had been attending for over 15 years for a myriad of reasons. I have since loosened up a little bit about my attitude regarding alcohol and I will, from time-to-time, have a drink or two.

Mom was an alcoholic and for several years after she died I was absolutely adamant that in addition to my religious convictions as a Baptist, I wasn't going to embibe in the poison that in part facilitated the choice that took my mother's life.

Eventually I came to grips with the whole situation and stopped blaming alcohol for her death and began to see her slide into alcoholism for what it was...an unfortunate and destructive choice to abuse alcohol to bury both physical and emotional pain. It was a two edged sword for her.

The older I get the less alcohol I consume. Once in awhile, like this past Friday, I have another drink that I like. It just so happens that my favorite drink at the Voodoo Brewery (where since I started dating Jeff we go) is a delicious hard apple cider.

Thanks for reading. :)

Apple is today's
freewrite word prompt. A New 5 minute freewrite prompts are posted daily @mariannewest.

I hope you'll join our growing group of dedicated freewriters! Contests weekly, win SBI!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I used to like hard apple cider. I haven't had any alcohol in forever. I think once I had kids, I felt I wanted to be alert at all times - and, alcohol has so many calories. I rather eat LOL

I can't really drink because of the migraines... but once in a while when we go out Jeff will order me a drink. I agree, the calories are stupid and empty but at this point I'm not really worried about gaining weight. When migraines hit I go all day without eating so I can't wait to eat the next day or two. When I had kids I didn't drink either. In fact I was fundamental Baptist and they don't touch it. Thanks for reading!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think, I would love to try a appletinis. I am guessing it's made from apples ..lol. I had my first alcohol last month after a lot of badgering by my friends. I finally gave in and it wasn't so bad. I had baileys'. A friend told me not to expect the creamishness that comes with it from other alcohol though.

Well, I like the flavor of fruit drinks. Bailey's does have a creamy I think so does Kahlua.
Thanks for stopping by reading and commenting

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I just experienced the true you. A whole conversation was had in my mind through your monologue. Beautiful and free!
Happy New Year!

Thank you for reading and I'm glad that you enjoyed this freewrite. Honestly I never know what's going to come out of my head for these. Feel free to freewrite with us! follow @mariannewest for the new daily prompt.

Posted using Partiko Android

Don't think I have ever tried that
When we love someone, it is easier to blame everything and anything but I suppose
Glad you had closure <3

I have come with the next prompt and if you already have done the prompt, then next thing to do is to head on over to Free Write House :)

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Click On Me For Prompt👇🏿

IMG_9525.JPG

And don't forget to swing on over to the @FreeWriteHouse, to win some SBI shares

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86