Escape

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

Escape

The train whistle blew. We grabbed up our sacks and looked out the door. As soon as it stopped was the end of our free ride. If we were caught, it may be the end of our freedom, too. Trains don't take very well to hitchhikers or stowaways. But stowing away had become an art for us. By age18, neither me nor Lily wanted to stay at home, so we grabbed one napsack a piece and what was left in the bag of pretzels and took off running.

Lily's mom likes the bottle... a little too much, and my mom is gone. She up and left my Pa right after I was born, he said. She took up with the neighbor's husband. Pa always treated me like I was somebody else's kid. Maybe I never was his child, I don't want to know.

At least Pa fed me. For that, I'm grateful. But after that, I don't have much to be grateful for; not the bruises, and not the nights without dinner because I offered a little sass. I studied hard, but I never really learned how to read and he pulled me out of school when I was in the 8th grade to work around the farm.

I really learned a lot, I learned how to take care of cows, milk 'em, feed 'em and breed 'em without getting killed by the bull.

But we really left because of what Lily did.

This is a freewrite is my response to the end find prompts daily here: @mariannewest.

I hope you'll join in with our growing group of dedicated freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I like the way things were described from present to almost day she was born and I could imagine her life moments.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @wandrnrose7! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73