The Gift

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

The heat was oppressive. Sun beat relentlessly upon the small mobile home where Shayla lived with her mom and brother. Mom wasn't taking the heat so well, but on a budget that ran short of payday every week a new air conditioner was out of reach.

Shayla struggled to her feet feeling clammy and moist from head to toe, despite the tank top and cut offs. She pushed hair clinging to her cheeks away with a distracted motion.

Going to the kitchen, she poured water from the cold water tap. It was far from cold. She shut the faucet off. It dripped in a steady, relentless "ping, ping" into the worn basin, the water stain in a rorsach shape was growing like an embolism on the once white porcelain.

Pulling a plastic ice cube tray from the little freezer, she dropped several cubes into the two glasses. They began dissolving immediately.

Walking into the family room crammed with used furniture in various stages of decay she approached her Mom sitting with eyes closed near an open window. Not a puff of air filtered in to ease the sweltering heat and humidity. Shayla looked down at the once stunning woman and tapped her arm, when her eyes opened she offered the water to her. Her Mom's fingers grasped the chilled glass filled with condescension already and she brought it to her lips with a small sigh. Her eyes smiled up at her daughter.

"Are you OK, Mom?"

The woman nodded once and after drinking half of the glass closed her eyes once more.

Sweat beaded her furrowed brow. Shayla said lightly, "I'm going to the store with Matt. I have a few bucks left from my birthday money. I won't be long."

Her Mom opened her eyes to smile and said, "Get something nice for yourself, dear."

The door opened when Matt entered the darkened family room door. "Ready?" He asked.

She nodded and left her Mom rest.

"Thanks for coming," she stated, "I'm really worried about Mom. Let's go to Walker's Family Department Store."

The place was all but deserted but for a scrawny cashier named Pete who greeted them as they walked in and glanced at his oversized watch.

Shayla walked through the isles of cheap merchandise looking for the clearance isle. It was picked through, as usual.

On the last isle she spotted the little fan with a $20 price tag. She lifted the prize up and brushed off a season's worth of dust from the base. It would work.

Cashing out, she was short the taxes. Matt pulled change from his worn jean's pocket. They thanked Pete and headed back to the hot box mobile home.

Shayla pushed through the outside junk waiting for garbage day and walked to her Mom's chair. She rooted for an electrical outlet and plugged her little fan in. Pointing it at her Mom the breeze began pushing her Mom's hair lazily and her Mom woke with a startled expression.

Shayla giggled and her Mom sat up, "Shayla, your birthday money!?"

Shayla leaned in to kiss her Mom's cheek. "Mom, your the reason I'm here. I love you and want to have you around a lot longer. This is my present to me."

Her Mom just stared at the child, her child all grown up and marveled once again how lucky she was then wordlessly pulled the girl close for a long, tight hug.

"Happy Birthday, Baby girl," she whispered, and leaned back into the fan's breeze.

SRC

*This freewrite exceeds the 5 minute counter, but lately I'm verbose and the stories are falling from my fingers, so I write to see where the prompt leads. Freewriting is cathartic and I'm enjoying this outlet as I temporarily vacate my current headspace and walk through my character's world. I am glad that freewriting with the community allows such freedom.

Thanks for coming along and providing your feedback.

This is a freewrite from @mariannewest using today's prompt fan
Find new daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I too liked it...

I'm curious; when you are writing, do you listen to music?

From your post:

Going to the kitchen, she poured water from the cold water tap. It was far from cold. She shut the faucet off. It dripped in a steady, relentless "ping, ping" into the worn basin, the water stain in a rorsach shape was growing like an embolism on the once white porcelain.

Love this ... there have been many analogies in life... this hits perfectly especially I suppose, if this story not only does that..." tells a story", but portrays a moment in your own actual life...

Bravo... look forward to more...

Thank you very much for the wonderful comment. I did listen to a steemit artist prior to writing, but usually I do not. I'm glad this piece resonates with you.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am happy that the stories are pouring out of you. A very sweet ending and we all wish for a daughter like that.

Thank you @@@mariannewest. I love when words flow so well. Hugs.

Posted using Partiko Android

One thing about freewring is once you start writing, you start getting more inspiration that will make you wanna writ more.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts to us.

Thank you @maxijcomm, I agree totally.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad you exceeded the five minutes, rather than leave us all dangling and wondering what happened next! You described the oppressive heat so well, I could almost feel it even though it is 31 degrees here.

It's funny because it's far from hot here yet but I remember heat in a small trailer vividly. Thanks for the support @scrbblingramma.

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I liked it Janelle, though I don't understand what the
[SRC]( repeat was all about.(the text is repeated, as
far as I can tell word for word) So the prompt is "The Gift"?
Upvoted @wandrnrose7

Thanks for sharing that! The src is the photo source and when I was cutting and pasting inadvertently dropped the whole copied post. I've edited the duplicate. The prompt is fan. Take care and thanks for reading!

Glad to help!

Thank you again for sharing my work. It encourages me more than I can say. @c-squared

Posted using Partiko Android

Such a sweet sweet story full of love. Always love to read your story :)

I am supposed to deliver prompt but saw you have done "turn signal". But glad I can come to read yours. ❤️

Thank you for reading, my sweet @imajadeline. I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87