#thoughtfuldailypost - Meet Me Halfway

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

With my Zeke Thoughts posts for the #thoughtfuldailypost movement, I try and share something I have discovered and built into my thinking or social interaction. To deal with our thoughts and constructively communicate with others in a more positive manor is an excellent way to be constantly improving our lives and those around us.

text16.png

Meet Me Halfway

This is something I have found very effective lately to inspire people to try harder. Someone not trying tends to get me a little angry. Whether they are distracted dealing with problems, have confidence issues, or are just battling with their Irish genes (haha this is me!) it is easy to not put forth the effort in anything they do. As someone who has tried to turn laziness into efficiency my whole life,I see doing something half-assed as a much bigger waste of effort than doing something ...whole-assed?

So, instead of trying to discipline an employee or child into doing a better job, I am simply asking them to meet me half way. (Btw NEVER refer to your employees as your kids if you ever want them to behave like adults!)

Someone not pulling their weight in a business setting as part of a team? Rather than singling them out in a confrontation or just being passive aggressive angry about it, tell them how you will help them and all they need to do is meet you half way.

Kids not cleaning their room (for example?). Instead of escalating the situation and moving into consequences, let them know you will help them fold some blankets to get started but they have to meet you half way.

text16.png

Are there people in your life who refuse to meet you half way? Remove them for improved happiness if you are being the example of meeting them halfway, and showing them how you need them to do the same.

Surround yourself with folks who have shown they will meet you half way and teach others to do the same.

That will make for some positive results!

text16.png

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

@zekepickleman,

This was a wonderful addition to my #thoughtfuldailypost movement!! I like the word "movement" I think better than "initiative"... anyway, first... thank you for sharing this at the #pypt with @shadowspub at the @theramble...

Surround yourself with folks who have shown they will meet you half way and teach others to do the same.

This is the exact mindset I was trying to convey... Meet me halfway... love this my friend. Instead of giving up, or feeling a negative end is the only answer... Meet Me Halfway... Thank you again, for spreading the love... !tip

Wes

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT

So glad it wring true for you my friend. I threw it together last minute but I knew I was going to write about it. Working with both my kids and junior techs who have just joined the team.

See ya thurs!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Indeed my friend!!

I give you credit, to the new moniker of Movement as I was just saying "initiative" before... didn't really want to use "challenge" or "contest" because I don't feel it is that... I send positive energy your way my friend on your junior techs and kids... let us know how things are going, won't you?

I agree ! If you are not going to do something the right way ...... then don’t bother doing it all..... most of the time when people attempt to take short cuts ..... they spend more time doing it over.

As a chronically lazy person, it took me many years to come to that realization. Laziness breeds efficiency I guess!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for sharing this #thoughtfuldailypost in PYPT this week! It is a good musing and good advice! Kudos!

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT

So great to hang out with you every Thursday. Thanks for the support! #pypt

Posted using Partiko iOS

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi zekepickleman the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

whole-assed half-way :P thanks for sharing on #pypt... a nice mix of humor and wisdom is to be found here :D

Ah yes. I try and use humour to help top up when I am short on wisdom. ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT

Sometimes that is the best way to do it. Often if you offer to help, they will show up.

That's pretty good advice. Belittlement and passive aggressiveness never work out well.
"Just meet me half way," I'll have to try that with my wife hahaha.

Posted using Partiko Android

You have to tread a bit more carefully when there are wifepoints involved but it still holds true. If marriages are filled with both going a little more than half way, they work phenomenally well.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Meet halfway...wow, that's pretty inspiring. Let someone gain the momentum themselves for a purpose and help them further when they get themselves up! Thanks for sharing :)

Exactly.

I usually had to be given a crack in the ass to get up and moving earlier in life. I am finding that the younger generation don’t respond as well to that. Damned if I am going to baby them and teach them they are entitled to no hardship or difficulty. Meet me half way and you will learn to be a part of a team which will be an evolving life skill.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Half way is the least people can do its a two way street in life
Amen

Great message! Whole-assed? Lol

🎁 Hi @zekepickleman! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @wesphilbin!

@wesphilbin wrote lately about: Thoughtful Daily Post - August 7Th 2019 - Never Give Up Feel free to follow @wesphilbin if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89