The Path To Focus: Stacking Your Way To Success

in #pathtofocus5 years ago

Habit_stacking_dude.jpg

If you have the desire to become more focused and therefore more productive, yet find that you can't quite turn your desire into positive action, then this article is for you.

The other day we spoke about how to start a new habit using the 2 minute rule, in the first article (linked below) of the series, The Path To Focus: How To Start A New Habit.

Today we are going to take a look at another excellent technique from James Clear's book, Atomic Habits, called habit stacking which is to be used in conjunction with the 2 minute rule.

Rewiring Your Brain

Ultimately we are the sum of our habits, from the time you wake up, to the time you go to sleep, you are performing a myriad of tasks with complete automation. Even really complex tasks can be automated with enough practice. This automation is, as you'd expect, controlled by our brains.

These events in our brains are caused by the firing of neurons. However those neurons do not work in isolation, they work as a team, so much so that neurologists have a saying;

Those that fire together, wire together.

All this really means is, if every time you see a friend, you have a coffee and a cigarette, then before long all you need to get a caffeine and nicotine craving, is to see your friend. Because the neurons that fire when recognising your friend, are used to firing in conjunction with the ones that appreciate caffeine and nicotine.

If you are unaware of the fire together-wire together rule, then we you at the mercy of our habits. You are literally lunging from one automated process to another. Wondering why you never seem to be able to start the projects you so desperately want to.

However if we know about this rule, then we can exploit it. To use a popular term of the time, we can hack our brains and rewire them to suit our purposes.

In other words, you too can become that hyper-focused person that you so admire.

Hack & Stack

So how do you take advantage of the brain's propensity to form subconscious associations?

Quite simply, you do something which James Clear calls habit stacking. This is a technique whereby you stack something you need to do, on top of something you already do habitually.

If we combine this with the two minute rule, we arrive at a very powerful way to start a new habit. So for example you may want to start exercising, so you say to yourself 'after I put the kettle on for my morning cup of tea/coffee, I will do a couple of minutes of sit ups while the kettle is boiling.

Or perhaps you want to write a book, or learn how to code. So in that situation you would find a habit you have around your computer, maybe something like; each time I check my email, I will write random words for two minutes.

It really doesn't matter what existing habit you use, or which one you feel you need to start, as long as you follow the formula.

After (current habit) I will (new habit).

Know Thy Self

It is the very same automatic nature of habits that give them their great strength, and at once their crippling weakness.

Because habits happen in this semi-autonomous way, you are often completely unaware that you are doing them in the first place.

For instance, from making my tutorials I've noticed that when I'm recording the voiceover for my tutorials, I have a habit of sucking my breath through my teeth after I make a point.

I also kind of click my tongue against the back of my teeth each time I finish off a particular editing segment.

Both of these habits are not great for recording good sound, however unless I make a conscious effort to think about it beforehand, I am totally unaware, until I go back to edit and I realise I've been sucking and clicking all over the place.

It is easy to draw down an example from speech habits, we all know people who say "um",*"ah", or do you know what I mean? as they are speaking. However these hidden habits can be found everywhere, from biting your nails to putting on the kettle in the morning, they manifest in all sorts of ways.

So in order for habit stacking to really be effective, you have to be aware of how many habits you have, and what they are.

The best way to do this, is to sit down somewhere quiet, open up a document on your device, or even get a pen and paper, and list down all your habits.

note: this can be daunting, so use the 2 minute rule to start off.

Below I've copied a sample of my own habits, you'll notice that I have plus, minus, and equals signs next to all of them. This represents good, bad, and neutral habits, though remember a good habit for me, might be bad for you, or vice versa.

For instance if you have an internet marketing business, you probably need to spend a fair amount of your time on Facebook, therefore logging into that site would be classed as a neutral, or even a good habit.


5 a.m. Wake up =
Turn off alarm =
Check What’s App =
Tidy Kitchen +
Drink glass of water +
Meditate 25 mins +
Yoga (2 mins) +
Turn on computer =
Open Chrome browser =
Logon to Facebook -
Check notifications -
Check feed -
Logout of Facebook +
Logon to TMFF -
Check notifications -
Browse new posts -
Answer at least 1 question/post =
Logout of TMFF +
Login to Steemit -
Browse new posts -
Answer at least 1 question/post -
Logout of Steemit +
Unplug internet ++
Start writing book (2000 word target) +
Daughter wakes, give her a cuddle/snuggle +
Finish morning writing sesh +
Logon to Facebook -
Check feed -
Morning stuff, breakfast etc. =
Take daughter to school walk dog =
Logon to Facebook -
Check Facebook feed -
Logon to TMFF -
Check posts/answers/notifications -
Logon to Youtube -
Watch at least 2 vids -
Unplug internet +
Finish 2000 words writing sesh +
Logon to Facebook -
Check feed -
Logon to Youtube -
Watch average 10 videos -
Logon to Steemit =
Write Steemit post +

Note: Some habits are bad depending on when you do them. So for me logging into Steemit at 5.30 a.m. is a bad habit because I am eating into the crucial couple of hours of peace and tranquillity that I get to work in before having to do family stuff. Whereas logging in because I need to post, or want inspiration for a post, is a neutral habit.

Staying In The Loop

So now you have all your habits written down you can start to stack your new intentions on top of them, and it is best to stack on top of good or neutral habits (we'll come to bad ones in a later article). So for instance if you look above you'll see that I have two minutes of yoga after meditation.

This is because by doing this, I am taking advantage of the habit loop, which is; cue, craving, response, reward.

So the first time you do a drug, have sex, meditate, drink coffee, or anything else that makes you feel good, you get a dopamine hit in your brain, and it is that which makes you feel good.

The next time you engage in the same activity, you get your dopamine hit before the actual act itself, it is the anticipation which gives you the hit. This is otherwise known as the thrill of the chase.

So the idea with habit stacking, is to put your new intentions on top of your good habits, or at worst your neutral ones.

That way, when you are performing your new task, you get a residual dopamine feedback loop. In other words your brain thinks to itself:

Every time I do this new task, I feel really good, therefore I must do this new task again.

If you repeat it enough times, it will become a habit that you no longer have to think about.

Conclusion

When you perform one activity with another one, you are forming neural pathways in your brain that will forever link those activities.

The automatic nature of habits, is the very thing that keeps them hidden from us.

In order to start a new habit, you can take advantage of the fire together-wire together rule and start performing a habit you want to, straight after one that you already regularly do.

The best way to habit stack is to write down all of your habits, and grade them good(+), bad(-), or neutral(=). The more you write down, the more you'll become aware of where you can stack new habits.

Always try and stack new habits on top of either good, or neutral habits.

The Path To Focus:

The Path To Focus: How To Start A New Habit

HAVE YOU HAD ANY LUCK IN STARTING HABITS SO FAR IN 2019? HAVE YOU TRIED USING THE 2 MINUTE RULE? WILL YOU COMBINE HABIT STACKING IN ORDER TO START A PROJECT? OR PERHAPS YOU HAVE TECHNIQUES OF YOUR OWN? AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Title image: Matthew T Rader on Unsplash

Cryptogee

Sort:  

Thanks for this. I've got a ton of productivity killing habits I want to kill for the new year.

No worries man, glad to help!

Care to share some of those habits? I can give you some pointers perhaps. :-)

Cg

Habit stacking – that makes a lot of sense. I've actually done something similar: lot of the times when I'm waiting my food to prepare I do pull-ups – I have a pull-up bar on the door frame, which is convenient – and push ups. Have to try this technique with some other habits too.

That's an excellent example, and it also leads to other techniques which I'll discuss in my next article. You have a habit of foreshadowing what I'm going to write next!

Haha, it's a good habit to have! :-D

Cg

You have a habit of foreshadowing what I'm going to write next!

Ah, I have a hunch what that means. Regardless, waiting for the next article, again!

Wow great article!
Im brain hacking and rewiring for years.. Without even knowing :D
But maybe by knowing now, I can make my rewiring even more efficient.

Greets from germany :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly, knowledge is power! I'm sure with focused attention you can get some amazing results :-)

Danke für dein Antwort :)))

Cg

Yes, I think so too :)

But before I can do that effectively, I have to write my Abitur and finish school.

I hate heteronomy.

Posted using Partiko Android

I disagree. By finding time to focus now while you're ultra busy, will benefit you greatly when you do finish school and will prevent you from drifting aimlessly.

Attach some easy to maintain habits to your writing and you'll surprise yourself.

There is a saying, if you want something done, give it to a busy person...

Cg

Haha I already know what fascinates and interests me.. actually way to much.. :D
For example biology but also engines and I combined this.. I do not only have plants and a big garden with my family..
But used bionik to tune my oldtimer enduro with a engine builder pro (:
And all that while studying for my abitur..^^

But at some point, there is no more time to spend at one day.
And I also don't want to be a efficiency programmed roboter.. especially in this meritocracy.
I also enjoy doing nothing. or doing things completely unstructured..
some times you see another perspective and are also faster than first planning everything and not doing something (GREAT VIDEO)

Here are also 2 posts with pictures about my enduro restauration :p

https://steemit.com/deutsch/@luegenbaron/yamaha-xt-500-fahrbar

https://steemit.com/deutsch/@luegenbaron/yamaha-xt-500-motor-fertig
After all I'm only 20 years old and want to enjoy my time, which mostly I couldn't in the past.. :)

Ps:
@cryptogee I love your bio! ;)

Haha, really cool way to combine interests!

I think you'll be okay if you keep working along those lines, and stay away from things that will lead you into bad habits.

I will read those posts, as you have piqued my interest! :-)

Ps:
@cryptogee I love your bio! ;)

Thanks :-)

Cg

Thanks man! (:

An excellent article, sir!

I've added new habits on some negative ones over the years, and that has also worked out to be quite productive...(for me)

But yes, new ones of positive ones is a much better idea!

Indeed! However this is a slightly different technique and I'll cover that in the next article, it's all about finding whatever works and then repeating. :-)

Cg

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @cryptogee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6500 comments. Your next target is to reach 7000 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@cryptogee,

You might be surprised by how close you are to becoming an advertising exec. :-)

The general theme of the post ... learn how to control your own brain ... is something I've studied for more than 20 years. I find it astonishing that so few people understand even the fundamentals ... you'd think everyone would be obsessed with the subject. Most aren't.

The human brain is actually fascinatingly/frighteningly easy to manipulate once you understand some core principals. While this may seem Machiavellian, one of the most potent takeaways I've come up with is "Don't Lie" (remember, I'm in advertising so this is harder than it sounds). :-)

Of all the things to understand about our brains, probably the most important is that it's all about patterns: Our brains are pattern-detection and pattern-comparison machines. And, of course, habits are patterns. If you start viewing the world through the lens of pattern-formation and pattern-breaking, a great deal of human belief and behavior will suddenly make sense.

History doesn't repeat itself, but it rhymes.

... And a rhyme is a pattern.

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11