Week 6 - Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @thedarkhorse

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

Hello Friends and Bananafish followers!



Chatting with @tryskele on the @greetersguild discord channel, I got curious about this awesome initiative by @thedarkhorse (click here for the contest page), whose aim is to support and encourage new steemians with quality underrated content.. For those who don't know me (and even those who do), Monday is special for me since it's the reward day for my Finish the Fiction Story Contest, hence I'm just a bit overwhelmed in this double posting but, you know what?

Who cares! I know a lot of awesome underrated steemians so.. let's do it!



DQmQA4vtHyn1mMV7XwB5b8dmQiyjLpH8jXVZ9bLqFopJ4dL.png
Graphics by @thedarkhorse


For my first entry to the contest, I will be featuring:



@cyemela
@papacrusher
@figuringoutsrn


BananaFishSeparator.gif

@cyemela: Making Red Roses the Audiobook


DQmbpcxaigqdr6eNghGFYWxLo6kuNzNY9AE5ywwbtTH5TaJ.jpg



I met Cyrus through my fiction writing contest and from the beginning I've been impressed by how polyhedric he can be in his stories. When he writes he's never banal and since I started reading his blog I've always been engaged in imaginary worlds, whether they are nightmares of a dystopic future or poetic visions of contemporary society.
Cyrus is a professional author, he has written for the Ashland Daily Tidings, Jefferson Public Radio, the Inlandia Institute, and the Talent Poetry Readings. His ebooks can be found on sale on Amazon and I have to say I was truly impressed by his collaboration in his book "Lost Angel" with Ray Manzarek, one of the founders of the Doors, whose myth will live forever with his theremin and great solos.

@cyemela's work in progress is the audiobook for his historical novel "Red Roses", I will quote from Amazon:

Red Roses, a heart-pounding page turner through the last months of Richard III's life. Seen from the eyes of the Priest of Durham.

"This Shakespeare meets Voltaire retelling of Richard III will spark a new debate on the Monarch’s legacy." – Critical Acclaim

I found it very interesting to follow his diary about his audiobook project, it's a window in the life of an author and, I have to say, I'm definitely learning something about time management and perseverance.


BananaFishSeparator.gif

@papacrusher: You Can't Go Home Again



DQmXGPq4gRVsPfZmjDTRHg7c76wfwNVzBCLWZVjDNiwzYQt_1680x8400.png



Papacrusher defines himself as "a lover of the written word, wanderer of the wayside, protector of the unprotected". Already so evocative. His writing skills and versatility are evident, whether he's writing poetry, prose, or talking about his life experiences. I knew him some months ago and I loved from the beginning his gaze on the world and his mastery in playing with words. If you look for a deep, elegant writer he's the one. I also have to say that his cultural background is evident (he's a reader of Ernest Hemingway like me!). And now I'd like to just quote a passage from the post I linked, to give you a better idea of what I'm talking about:

I will do my duty, I will travel back to that place of desolation. I will face my demons who wait with bated breath for my return like a long lost lover biding the time until the object of her affection returns. They wait to embrace me with familiar arms and knowing giggles. They want so desperately for me to be that man I have toiled to throw off my heavy, heavy laden shoulders. They may be the only ones who truly know the what I have hidden so deep within me, like a secret poem only I know the rhyme and reason to.
You can't go home again.....and honestly I would rejoice if this cruel penance would pass me by.



BananaFishSeparator.gif

@figuringoutsrn: Mackerel and cheese. Love is a disease


DQmWn4h4k8rPp7a2rhWQ7GL5yjVy7wUomRcJzxz8sppJR6g_1680x8400.png



What can I say about @figuringoutsrn, a.k.a. "The Mad Engineer"? If you will feel brave enough to dive into his blog prepare yourself for an allucinogenic trip that will blow you away and leave you with clever and provoking questions thumping into your mind (Should you kill your mother for your psychological health?.. Why it is best to never have a childhood? Science Explains). I don't or I can't say too much about him.. just that he's a talented poet and definitely one of the most original steemians I have ever met. His blog is coherent and he shows a constant stylistic choice, with his bichromatic painting and his hammering questions as a title. Check his blog, you will never regret!


BananaFishAmulet.gif



And that's all folks! This contest was a great opportunity for me to dig deeper in the accounts of some of my steemian friends, there are incredible people in this community and, quoting @giddyupngo there in the comments.. it's always nice to know what's behind the username!


banner f3nix 3.png

Sort:  

Thanks for participating in the #payitforward contest. I really appreciate you taking the time to feature such great Steemians for the contest and your detailed post about them. I have visited, commented and upvoted each of them. Wish you all the best.

That's wonderful.. thanks for supporting them. I'll keep partecipating to this great initiative.

Thank you for your entry. All of your featured bloggers have been upvoted. Glad you decided to switch weeks! Think that your featured bloggers will benefit.

Hope to partecipate next week too, thanks for the advice! ✌️

@f3nix any chance you can message me on discord? same name: thedarkhorse #6765

I doing some writing for steembasicincome and they wanted me to interview you. It's pretty quick thing.

Gladly! I reached you through discord.. timezone difference sucks.

Thank you for participating in this great challenge. I am off to check out your entries now.

Thanks to you! This is what steemit need.. people that do care.

Thanks a million for this exposure.
A pleasant surprise. I hope you do well in the contest. :)

You're welcome my friend. You don't know the mess for posting this .. tragicomic. Now I'm behind with Monday results but I really wanted to give this a try. Maybe my language is not really elaborate or refined in this post but (did I say It?) it was a war against time.

Well nobody is winning that war. Only battles are won in that war, and it seems like you have this time.

Widening the perspective I can only agree with you! There's a song where Death is invited to dance around a fire and she gets fooled by the music, forgetting her duties..

Thanks for posting this, it's nice to know what is behind the username. :-)

I wanted to curate you too but I needed a recent post and, in your case, the only one was the contest one.. next time! Thanks for passing by.. I agree with you and I'm always curious of what's behind that.

Thanks f3nix!

Thank you for this weeks entry. I am getting here late so I upvoted your Finish the Fiction Week 12 post instead
I am going to visit your entries now. Keep up the great work.
~ErodedThoughts

Hi ErodedThoughts, as always my weekly payout will be distributed between the participants so you still voted some worthy newbies :-) Your support means a lot for me and I'm really happy that I discovered your initiative. I'm still looking for true people that can walk with me and share my life values here on steemit.. see you next week as I will surely keep participating!

How cool is that! Hope to get the Steem going for Atlanta!

Fingers crossed!! ✌️

Thank you so much for this honor. Your words were moving and I greatly appreciate your friendship and the exposure. Once in a great while, I'm at a loss for words....and this is one of those moments. Thanks.

You're welcome! This curation concept is awesome and I wanted to give it a try.. say happy belated birthday to your granny, hope she had fun at the surprise party 😁

Visited and voted on those capable of getting a vote, and commented on all.

Thank you @bashadow! (What a cute doggy 😁)

I upvoted your entries to payitforward contest
thank you @f3nix

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87