Pay it forward: empowering the youth and farming rebound

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

dl1iu9zqw4.jpg

Pay it forward curation contest is on the roll and is now on its 19th week! Rules are easy and anyone can join so what are you waiting for? Come join the wagon!

My first featured blogger this week is @jazzhero(50) who manned the project account @scholarsph(42) and spoke about the very first scholar of their group: ScholarsPH Blog #1: Our First Scholar, Myke. While @jazzhero is the blogger, I would like any support to my curation through this #payitforward contest to go to @scholarsph.

@scholarsph aims to uplift the Philippine community through education - one youth at a time. The group will support tertiary-level or collegiate students by providing funds for their school fees and allowance.
SuHsUxz.jpg
Source: from the original blog

I strongly believe that one of the biggest means to alleviate poverty in our country is to empower our youth through education. Ideally, that should be the case for every child. However, only few are privileged because many are at economic disadvantage. This @scholarsph project may be starting small but I also believe that many privileged people out there are willing to help thus @scholarsph's drop can ripple in the ocean. Kudos to @tagalogtrail who conceptualized the project and to everyone behind and making the great idea into reality.

My second featured blogger for this week is @gabbynhice(52) who chooses to stay positive in spite of losing from their recent rice harvest.
20180806_183102.jpg
Source: from the original blog

@gabbynhice is a European guy living in Cagayan which is in the northern part of Philippines. He is managing their farm there with his family - a Filipina wife and daughter. He lost because of "know-it-all" attitude of my fellow Filipinos but he made his way of proving his point. His technique of growing rice is apparently better. Then he was saying my fellow Filipinos eventually heeded to his technique. Now my fellows have learned their lesson. Thank you! Ahh, I just hope people would listen at the start so we avoid further damage (which reminds me again of this encounter).

After that losing moment, he sprang back into action and immediately came back to business on the following day. He is not letting the bad experience stop him but instead made it his inspiration for his wife and daughter to keep going. He admits not knowing much of running the tractor than his Filipino right hand worker but he also believes that there are more opportunities in the country than going abroad (which many Filipinos believe in).

To the #payitforward judges and participants, please focus more on @gabbynhice's second blog of going back to business with respect to the payout timing. I just had to mention the previous blog to shed more light to the newer one. Thanks. 😊

Aside from my great regards to farmers who are the foundation of our food production (which I applaud with farmers and @gabbynhice as one), we need more people like him to spread positivity.

I hope you are enjoying the week, folks!

Join #ccc and get guaranteed daily income and payout for newbies by following the honor code - The Creed - with conditions and limitations. Click here for the details.

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

Great entry, @macoolette! Both bloggers have been voted! 😉

Thank you for your support @trincowski. 😊

Salamat po sa pag tag sa @tagalogtrail. A quick update po na ma popost din sa mga susunod na oras ni tito @jazzhero or other members ng team. Na reach na po namin ang goal in 7 days para sa panggastos ni Myke for this month. To all who supported at mag susupport pa po sa proyekto ni Isko @scholarsph pwede nyo po kaming kontakin sa aming tambayan

Mula po sa bumubuo ng proyektong ito lubos kaming nagpapasalamat sa inyong oras para sa pag feature nito.

7 days!? Galing! Ibig sabihin marami talaga ang may puso at gustong tumulong. Yaman din lamang at di pa tapos ang payout ng post ninyo, naway dumami pa ang sumuporta para madagdagan ang scholar ng Pinas. Muli, maraming salamat sa inyong lahat sa konsepto at adhikaing ito. Mabuhay kayo!

Salamat po. Bukod po sa mga upvotes, mayroon din po talagang may mabubuting loob ang nagbigay ng direktang donasyon. At meron na din pong ilang nag-pledge :) Ang dami pa rin po talagang nais makatulong sa iba :)

My faith in humanity has been strengthened. 😊

Would just like to drop a quick thanks for your post! Several people find their way to @scholarsph blog because of your sharing :) Thanks a bunch.

That is the purpose of the curation contest: to send traffic to the featured blog with the hope that such traffic will support the said blog. I do not yet have many followers but I am hoping that small things will still help to compound a bigger impact.

You're very much welcome. And thanks too for your time to come back with your appreciation. 😊

Thank u for shareing my post and hope after few months i can share a better news. By the way i will make ulogs about all the work what we do so all those who are intrested in gardening or farming can get maybe a new knowledge.
Just example like my post last week about the organic fertilizers made at home from egg shells or banana skin😉
Salamat po again and God bless!😊

Indeed, may other farmers learn from you or even non-farmers share what they know. Keep #Ulogging!

God bless you too and your family!

Great entry post, @macoolette! i have supported both of your featured bloggers!

Thank you for your support @zorank!

nice picks @macoolette, you're going to be an expert curator soon... I can see how good your eyes on spotting the valuable steemian's posts... thanks you!

Thank you @dipoabasch! For as much as possible, I try my best to pick posts that bring value or life lesson to others and not just for the personal gain of the bloggers.

For the first one I voted on this post:
https://steemit.com/myfundition/@scholarsph/scholarsph-blog-1-our-first-scholar-myke

and also gave a vote to their other post which hasn't paid out. The second blogger was also supported.

That makes it support for all three blogs! Thank you very much!

I strongly believe that one of the biggest means to alleviate poverty in our country is to empower our youth through education.

Fully agree and I can attest to that. My family struggled for a long time until I finished my studies and grew my career. A scholarship grant made all that possible for me :)

Thanks a lot for nominating us @macoolette. It's actually purely team effort and I'm just one of the several writers for the account :) Due to people like you, we've reached our month's goal quite early.

Well, that makes us two who can attest to what I mentioned. Blessed you with a scholarship grant. I applied for a few scholarship programs but all have been elusive. I went to the farm, been a sidewalk vendor or gone door to door selling. In the end, everything was worth the effort. 😊

With the great support for the first scholar, I am sure there are still more people out there who would want to support the next scholars.

It's a great start. Congratulations to all of you who made it! 😊

That's a big inspiration. Dreams and hard work really pay off. Kudos to you!

As the first scholar's teacher said, we hope the support would somehow lessen the students' burden so they could focus on their studies more, and avoid taking too many part-time jobs or worrying about finances.

I couldn't agree more. 👍👍

Thank you for another great entry @macoolette :) I too agree that education is the key to alleviating education! I'm off to have a look at your your entries now!

You're welcome. And thanks again for your time and support. 😊

I supported your featured post. Thank you for your entry

Thank you for your support, @wolfhart.

well, I don't know, but it seems to me that poverty in Philippines is so severe that a lot of people can't buy a computer. I'm saying this because I wanna now what do you think about on-line educational platforms such as coursera or edx. Is that possible that they could solve this problem (lack of education) to some extent?

I've been loaded and has not come for replies sooner. This post is past payout but I just want to reply to your comment.

There is a mouthful to say about online education. For one and to your point, many Filipinos may not be able to afford computer, much more internet connection. Even if they can afford both, there is very limited knowledge for them to know that there are online opportunities out there. What do they know? Facebook!

On the other hand, our educational and employment systems are not yet ready to embrace online education. Most employers would think less of a candidate who acquired knowledge and skills online. It is as if online education is of lower value. I can not blame them because I have seen that on my own experience. I acquired an industry certification online but I was not satisfied with the course content.

I think the bottom line is for Filipinos to not be satisfied with status quo and keep exploring what opportunities are out there...

You're welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73