Speaking out

in #payitforward5 years ago

My culture had always been very judgmental with people who seeks counseling for whatever issues they are having. As a result, a lot of us gets passive aggressive, accept abuse, even defend them by saying that I deserve it and, gets stressed, depressed and in severe cases, loses their sanity.

It has something to do perhaps with our view religious view that, we wanted to suffer as much as our god suffered. It might have been because it had been deeply ingrained in us that, speaking our private affairs to a non family member is akin to besmirching the family honor. It might even be that, everyone else just tolerates the whole abuse because, that's what we're for- to suffer.


(copyright by pixabay)

You guys knew that for quite awhile now, I had been struggling to get a grip over my stresses and anxieties in my life. And, I did scheduled an online counselling because, I do want to speak to someone who can listen to me in a non judgmental and supportive way. I feel that speaking with anyone here who is directly involved in my life about my concerns now will eventually complicate the issue so, I opted for that free option to speak to a counselor

I am not going to disclose the whole hour that I had been speaking to this person but what I just wanted to say is that, sometimes, the wisest thing to do is speaking out. Not to anyone who you cannot trust but to someone who could be an outsider. That was how I felt the whole day.

I got derailed because my body seems to be releasing all the tensions in it and, I spent majority of the time walking- to release the stress, sleeping and doing things which I enjoyed doing. And, now that I am writing this, I just feel happy, whole, at peace and very much validated. I feel that whatever I felt were finally put to rest and, I am ready to move on.

Its amazing what a few, short conversations could do in me but, it just sort of started healing me. Anyway, I'll be signing off and catching over my school work!

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

Sort:  

It is seldom a good idea to keep things bottled up. I am pleased to hear that you decided to ahead and seek out someone to speak with... it will only benefit you! And all the other additives, like walking and writing here will only compound that positive effect.

Good for you :)

Yes @jaynie, that was such a great idea. But, what I am applauding myself into was my decision not to speak to anyone about it here since the person clearly gaslights. I do not know what would have happened but, I believe that it would just complicate things up............

I just do not know how things work in the passive aggressive department but, as far as I am concerned, after speaking to the counselor, I just felt happier, at peace and, I am just ready to move on.

@nurseanne84, I couldn't be more proud of you! You're still going strong and keep posting quality posts. Great to see you being active in the PowerHouseCreatives community.

I took a peek in your wallet and noticed you had quite some liquid Steem, and - even more important - SBD. Since the price of SBD is more than double the prize of Seem, this is a good time to exchange it. Once exchanged, you'll have a truckload of Steem you can use to power up. You will then reach that first important milestone of having your own 100SP. Congratulations!

I'll be removing my delegation, because I'm 100% sure you can make it on your own from now on. By retracting the delegation, I will be able to help other newcomers to get started here.

Keep up the good work. You're doing great!!!

Thank you for your tip @simplymike. I will surely do that. Thank you for your support in keeping me afloat while I find my footing here.


We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and/or resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

I'd chosen writing it out rather than speaking out 😁 because sometimes what bothering me is something in my mind. Glad that you chosen the right path to release the burden from your heart and mind @nurseanne84.

I don't think any religions and traditions made us to be a masochist😊 though I don't deny it when people we live with shape the way we think about life. If you choose not to be a fatalist like other did for their limited understanding and views about the religion, than you are free to speak out your mind😉

That is the problem @cicisaja. When you get to move out and live alone, all your support group goes out of the window too. I think that I did a great move by not speaking to anyone here(though that might be free and convenient) because, if that person gaslights, then, it would just complicate things up.

I go for walks and lie in bed when I'm stressed which is most every day. I do also meditate

that worked with me before but unfortunately, I just went into this point where I felt so stressed and, I cannot focus at all.

Hi, @nurseanne84!

You just got a 0.71% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

As crazy as it may seem I've found that a great way to resolve 'inner conflict' that potentially can trigger anger etc is to talk to myself about it ~ Actually speaking out loud about the issues. So the thoughts are not just staying in 'my head.'

Say for instance that a friend does something I don't like, I outwardly talk about (to myself) what I don't like about her actions and how it has affected me. But then I talk (again to myself) from her point of view. I continue going back and forward between the two of us, until the conflict is dissipated.

Walking and being in nature is great, as is writing ~ As long as you can keep it light and positive. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Yes. that would be a nice way to look at both of your perspectives.

Great dear friend! Get it out any way that you can, else it festers and poisons the thoughts.
Blessings

I hope that you can overcome those feelings. Personally, I found that religion did nothing for me, so I ditched it from my life a very long time ago.

Best wishes to you, @nurseanne84. 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16