Voting for my Witness

in #payitforward5 years ago (edited)

Hello Folks!

The other day, I got a comment from @blockbrothers asking me if I would vote for them as Steemit witnesses. For me, voting in our community is a serious business. Though I wanted to separate my personal life from my on line life especially in Steemit, I guess, old habits are hard to kill and in casting my votes, I am still doing it the same way as I do in the physical world.

I am not going to spend all day trying to find the proper words to define a witness. So here is steemit's definition:

The Steem blockchain requires a set of people to create blocks and uses a consensus mechanism called delegated proof of stake, or DPOS. The community elects 'witnesses' to act as the network's block producers and governance body. There are 20 full-time witnesses, producing a block every 63-second round. A 21st position is shared by the backup witnesses, who are scheduled proportionally to the amount of stake-weighted community approval they have. Witnesses are compensated with Steem Power for each block they create.

I just want to add that each member is entitled to vote for 30 witnesses and they can revoke their votes anytime.

But before randomly voting for the first names you see on this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

I just want to share with you guys how I arrived into my decision to vote for my witnesses:

Qualifications

Like any candidate in the real world, its noteworthy to visit the pages or blogs of your witnesses to get to know first hand their backgrounds- education, work experience, etc. @blockbrothers looked something like this:

If you guys would read closely, they did not just mention their educational backgrounds or their previous work experiences but their interests as well.

Check their works or advocates

Not all witnesses concentrate on developing steemit based apps. Some of them might specialize in security while others curate and support people who are starting up in the system. Whatever their specializations are, they will be stating them in their respective posts and, its up to you to decide if you wanted to support them or not.

Personal Experience

I do not really want to vote for any witness for the sake of voting. I wanted to support anyone to whom I have personal encounters with. They might already be upvoting or commenting my posts or, I know someone who is connected with them and I was able to build a good rapport with that person.

For me, @brittandjosie had been a great supporter for quite awhile already and, as I have been reading her blog posts, I would always read that she is working with the @blockbrothers. That gave me confidence to support these guys because, if this wonderful person is connected with them, the likelihood that we have the same priorities and advocates is likely.

Same is true with @c-squared who had been my supporter for quite awhile now.

Check if their witness accounts are active or not

Before panicking why your votes did not go through, its reasonable to check their accounts to make sure that everything is working out perfectly.

Set a proxy

Although I do not fully agree with people who does set proxies- someone would vote using your accounts for you- I think that its only fair to inform anyone especially newbies like me of this option- in case they feel overwhelmed with the choices they need to make.

At the end of the day, whoever you guys decide to vote is a matter of personal choice really. Perhaps, you are voting for this and that witness because they are your friends or, you are working with them or share the same advocates and priorities.

Maybe, like me when I was starting up, I just clicked the first name even without logically justifying the reason behind it. Or, as I had been stating before, I voted for the sake of voting someone.

Well, I think that I am wiser now and, I just want to share these facts to new people out there who are like me starting up in this community.

Finally, I just want to stress this out: every action has a logical reason behind it. That's another reason men are different from the rest of the world.

PS

If there are other people out there who had been engaging with me and are also witnesses, feel free to let me know about it in the comments section.

@brittandjosie @c-squared @blockbrothers

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

One of my favorite witness teams out there!

Every vote is highly appreciated ,

@blockbrothers are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Personally, I don't think this system is very fair. I think the Witnesses below Top 20 should be allowed to participate some more. It's ridiculous that the Top 20 get all the Blocks and every other block is randomly assigned to one of the other >100 Witnesses.

Great post! Are you sure you are a nurse, and not a reporter?

I am a 100% nurse that is obsessed with cryptocurrency. LOLZ Also, I think that the "status" of a witness is based on the vote they garnered so if you're on the top 20, then, a lot of people trusts and voted for you.

Hah I checked just zesterday that I still have soo many votes left...And IM pretty surprised that I havent voted for @blockbrothers yet ..just found out...sooo corrected my mistake :DIm also surprised they're soo low in the rankings btw

Thats appreciated matko,
Gr. Britt

Good write up. I already voted for them.

Thanks @rebeccabe. @Brittandjosie and I appreciate that very much. Just to put things into perspective: I am not connected with the @blockbrothers in any way aside from me voting and following their accounts.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 138 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I was the one who asked and the fact that you did this blog with your thoughts , This means alot Thank you
Gr.
Britt

No worries Britt! I just want to walk people on how I arrived on my decision in case some are like me before who would just click whichever name they see.

Thank you for asking me though- without it, I will not be making this post. hehehe

Well, I think that I am wiser now and, I just want to share these facts to new people out there who are like me starting up in this community.

Definitely a useful blog article for the newbies. Great work coming from a 100% nurse!

Here is another article by @aggroed that provides additional insights into witness voting. https://busy.org/@aggroed/consensus-witness-again-phew

I didn't have any tears when I lost the Pumpkin vote. But I had some when I got to be back in the top 20. I'm a big softy.

@devann, thank you for the link. I did enjoy it and, its reassuring that I am not the only "cry baby" around. hehehehehe

Great info! I think a lot of people don't realize how important it is to use their votes. I will admit it took me quite a while before I finally starting filling out all of my slots. It is probably time to do an audit, as well, so thanks for the reminder!

No worries @plantstoplanks, I still have 26 uncasted votes and, the first 4 took me like 5 months to decide (I started on Steemit around August 2018-last week).

Thanks for the info. This will come in handy to make my vote

Posted using Partiko Android

I am glad that my post was able to assist you @robmojo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36