Week 11 - Pay It Forward Curation Contest - Entry @permieemmy

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

Hello there my spring chickens,

This is my second entry into @thedarkhorse's #payitforward contest. Last time, I did ok which was great because I got to showcase a couple of really positive people with some cool projects on the horizon and some curious things to say. The support that I received when I jumped on this Steemit train made me want to help out in my minuscule way that I can and it felt good. So Imma give it another bash because everyone deserves a spotlight, even if it is from little old me.

So here is goes for Week 11 #payitforward Contest:

1. @cynfullliving

cynfull living.png

I'm no vegan, but that doesn't mean I don't enjoy an incredible vegan recipe when I see one. I was looking for some good recipes to prove my boyfriend wrong about non-meat meals (as you do) and I found @cynfullliving (and won that argument). What I like about this though, is demi-veganism. I don't want to tar all vegans with the same brush but sometimes I feel like I get that look of scorn when I say I'm not vegan. I do, however, limit my meat consumption and try to only eat sustainable animal products, so I'm often eating vegan anyway.

Cyn is a demi-vegan vegan chef based in Trinidad, which is not a place renowned for its veganism. But, she's sharing some good recipes, how-tos, knowledge, and experiences about veganism and demi-veganism. I like that's it's not all healthy fancy food; a lot of it is good wholesome soul food. I think, like me, you'll want to try some of these recipes out, while also wanting to share her adventure in stepping out of the norm of her own culture. It's like vegan food, but with that spicy Caribbean flair.

I support this tremendously. And rather than laying down this strict ruling, there's some wiggle room and those of us trying to do a little better need wiggle room. She shares adventures of running her business CynFull Living, which brings some tasty vegan food to Trinidad and its local food fares, and promotes other good food bloggers in the same breath.

[Our experience at the Vegan Food Festival]_https://steemit.com/vegan/@cynfullliving/our-experience-at-the-vegan-food-festival)

2. @homesteadinmama

homesteadinmama.png

OK so I love homesteading stuff but often it's painted in such a quaint and idealistic way that the true understanding of the work that needs to be done in this lifestyle is often lost. So are the real dramas that accompany this life. However, in my journey to find some good homesteading blogs, I came across @homesteadinmama. She's living out her dream of raising a littlun on a homestead and sharing that journey with the world.

I love her work because she's brazen and honest and tells hilarious real life stories, like the one below. She resteems some great stuff that gives really good advice for other homesteaders as well as taking part in the community with her whole heart. I love her storytelling, I love her enthusiasm, and I love her handy hints and tips.

Here's her latest debacle and it really made me chuckle (and it will if you've ever been there):
Who Let the Hogs OUT!?!

  1. BONUS - @performingarts

performingarts.png

@performingarts is a duo from South Africa, Nikki and Bruno Kopf and they're writing all about the passion behind performing arts. They're professional dancers, leading Fire Desire Entertainment.

They hit me up in response to one of my posts about a permaculture community I visited, exuding delight and inspiration from this place. As a permaculturalist, you often get the chance to be around creative people who demonstrate a way of free living and expressing passion through the expressive arts and I really love that these two are hitting the keyboards to promote that.

On the one hand, they are inspired to help dancers find a way to get their message out through platforms like DTube and Steemit, as a means to create more sustainable financial income.

Their main aim, however, is to use Steemit to fund social projects, focused on the performing arts, in rural and underprivileged communities in South Africa. This is a big mission and one I think we should all support them in, as many of us have found our own personal freedom through our creative means in times of struggle; something this couple are trying to bring to those less fortunate in their home country.

Check out their blogs that showcase their dance and performing arts work through stunning photography and amazing videos. Try to support them because that money goes out to supporting their local community.

Introducing Performing Arts on SteepShot! Redefining the Limits

Hope you like them!
Peace - @permieemmy

Sort:  

Great entries! Thanks for sharing and participating in the #payitforward contest. I'm very happy we found you. I have visited, commented and upvoted all your featured authors. Best wishes to you.

Thank you so much for your support! It's been fun to find others and so rewarding to have people like you giving me a boost :)

The pleasure is all mine. :)

I have upvoted all 3 of your featured bloggers. Thank you for your entry!

Cause your a champion ;)

Wow thank you so much for that shout out! I was really not expecting that :) Much appreciated!

No problem! Checked out your blog and it was awesome so I wanted to share :)

These look like fun reads. I will go ahead and leave a couple tabs open for visiting later today.
I am especially looking forward to the one about the pigs. I love a good laugh.

The pig article is brilliant. And pigs are kind of scary so I can understand the chaos!

I think they all can when they escape. Just the other day I helped the neighbor locate his cow. Lets just say I was relieved when he arrived to claim the beast.

Bahahaha one time I was looking after someone's farm and I was just quietly minding my business reading my book outside real late at night, really dark out and I could hear this kinda pounding sound, it was in the jungle so I just ignored it thinking it was a jungle sound. Then all of a sudden her horse just went galloping passed me and I just thought... well here we go. Hahaha

ooooh no! I think I may have been more worried about what was chasing the horse. I am not at all familiar with the jungle but imagine this could have turned out very, very bad.
I think you are brave. Glad you lived to tell about it.

She ran out into the village and was just standing in the road eating grass. All very strange! I guess I didn't think about something chasing her, I just thought that she had broken free!

Thanks for continuing your support in this project. Going to go check them out now.

Will check all the entries later...

Good to see your participation

Oh my... YOU are TOO sweet! Thank you so much for your kind words.

Totally a great entry and keep it up, every post helps especially when it is aimed at improving someone else. You'll get there and remember, there are no 'little old mes' on Steemit. Looking forward to your next entry.

Thank you for the entry @permieemmy, I appreciate your support of this contest :) I love the look of your choices too...the "who let the hogs out" looks awesome!

Great post @permieemmy :) I love your choices. The pig one was really hilarious :) Keep up the great work.

Thanks! I also love yours!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77