My Entry: Week 13 - Pay It Forward Curation Contest

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

With my first contest a thing of the past I can now prepare myself for some more action and getting involved with this project.

Thanks to one and all for for the warm welcome and the great love shown!



Source

Pay It Forward Curation Contest-Week 13 - Participate here


@krazyuncle – reputation 33

How he introduces him self:

*Long story short I’m a writer, an artist, a mechanic and a sometimes poet - (psst... - You going to have to go to the introduction post to find this out!)


  • Here is the featured post for the week.
    The Stray Dog, part 8

  • Here is a heart warming story about a man that has found a stray dog, that he has taken in and cared for. After a search for the owner, the dog will finally be his. In only a few agonising days... read the post to find out what happens...

  • @krazyuncle, is new to the platform. His blog is entirely about the stray dog that he has found (thus far). From what I can tell, he is a skilled writer and will keep everyone well entertained, even if he decides to write about dirt!

MY MAIN CRITICISM(S):

  • It's not really a criticism, it's merely a word of caution to all concerned. @krazyuncle is new to the platform and hasn't really experienced the rigours of the community!? I guess only time will tell... whether he becomes a shooting star or a statistic.

SECOND OPTION:

PLEASE NOTE

  • I've made an error of judgement with my selection and on further review decided to remove the option from my entry.
  • The decision is designed to prevent further visits to the site, and ultimately save the time and effort of the judges.

I do apologise for any inconvenience, as a result of this decision. I will endeavour to prevent this type of error in future.


MY OPTIONAL FEATURE - ART:

  • I'm sure by now everyone is in the mood for something easy on the eye and fun...so here is my selection by @inber!

Jellyfishes original at collection and some morning thoughts writing

Sort:  

Is this contests for others? is there any benefit of you? or just to represent other good content maker?

You can do it as well, it is very good to do!

If you enter the Pay It Forward contest you will gain exposure to other steemit members who are also working towards helping other new members. This typically means some upvotes and a share of the Steem-Bounty along with a chance to earn other rewards. Check out this week's post and see if it's something you might be interested in.

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@thedarkhorse/lucky-13-week-13-of-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-56c626da311ef

Before 2 months i did some contest too. my contest rules were only upvote the post and comment (resteem sometimes). I had only 0.10$ balance then. I wanted to spread 0.06 SBD only after 1-2 days of contest. did not get much response then i dropped the idea initially. @thedarkhorse .

See my contest post link here: https://steemit.com/contest/@aaarif/contest-for-steemit-new-users-sbd-prize-will-be-given

Starting a contest unless you have some followers is very hard. People don't just find your contest because you launched it so you have to expect it to take weeks before catching on.

I supported your featured posts
Thank you for you entry

Well done @rlt47! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Denmark vs France
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
Do you want to know your current ranking? Read this post

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!

Well done @rlt47! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Iceland vs Croatia
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
Do you want to know your current ranking? Read this post

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!

@ehsanwatu's post is stolen content. Here is the original content that he cut and pasted.

Your entry will still be confirmed, but please remove the link to the plagiarized content.

The 3rd link doesn't work. It also goes to the Mr Food article.

Hi @thedarkhorse, it seems the next stage of of my development is upon us...

How did you find the original material or what process do you follow? I follow the same process before hand, to avoid such a mistake...

Shall I replace that candidate with some else?

If you are willing to find a new one that is great and will increase your chances of winning a judges choice (again...hint hint, check the post that will hit in 90 minutes).

Guess more of these I look at there are some that just read to professional. This was one of them. The words used are not fitting for the average person's speech pattern. When this happens I cut and paste 1 sentence into google with quotes around it. This will then give an exact match if there are any.

Now some of these plagiarizers have gotten smart and use software to hide that they are stealing content. This software is a content spinner. So it will take words and use a thesaurus to make it so a simple match search won't work. BUT if you read these it's normally pretty obvious as the flow makes no sense at all. These are much harder to find the original source, but once you see a couple spun articles it's pretty obvious when you see another.

Now photos and stuff get harder, but you can sometimes catch them with google also. If you right click on an image you can "Copy Image Location". If you go to Google Image Search you can search by image and one option is to give the image location.

This search is good if it's pretty distinct, but maybe at best it proves it for 20% of the ones I search. Now when I start to wonder about photos is when they are really good yet the poster doesn't tell me anything about how they took the photos. Great photos are art and the artist tells us about taking them most of the time. The details about the lens, shutter speed and so forth are all things a shutterbug loves to share.

Now I'm thinking this needs to be my next post. Will likely pull this comment and clean it up. Will include some screen shots that might make some of this more clear.

Thank-you this info was extremely useful, and creating a post from it will be magic!

I think I need to create a small checklist too, so I don't miss steps in the process and little details.

OK - let me find a replacement candidate and work on the checklist.

have done reading and upvote all the featured bloggers, but @rlt47, I think you must look at the post carefully, I think the second blogger didn't even use his own pic and add no source at all. You're good at criticizing them.. I like your style. keep your eyes open for the next week entry!

This comment protected by @dustweeper

Hi @cicisaja, I'm having a disastrous round this time around. I'm still learning the curation game. I'll try and be certain next time. I think I got sucked into the perfection aspect, Lol!

Thank you for your helpful comments.

Hahaha... I've included a serious plagiarism post on my second entry, once. But then I use plagiarism and grammarly checker from Internet. Since I don't have time to do that...I use the simple method by finding the common mistake human do😊, mis-typing or unusual jokes. I would asked the blogger first if there's something I need to know and saw how fast is the respons (unless they left a message that they'll offline a while)

Practice made perfect right?

Yeah, I think it's a mistake that inevitably make because we tend to believe that people are honest and have integrity...so we give them credit!

But you soon learn that is not how it works...

I really loved @krazyuncle's story though!

rlt47
I want to thank you for featuring me in your article.
I've had several people stop and read, and comment on my article, and mention they came from your mention -- Thank you...

Thank you, @krazyuncle - This is the aim of the project to give undervalued writers as yourself the opportunity to be featured.

My advise is - keep doing what you are doing - and possibly join us when your are ready, and help discover undervalued writers.

Thank you... can you tell me more?

You're welcome...

I'm quite new at this as well, but I'm already loving it. (my second week). Being involved in this project greatly increases your visibility on the platform, and bring you into contact with a caring and supportive community.

The best way to learn is to familiarise yourself with the rules and to peruse the entries of the current contestants to see how the rule are interpreted. Then it's a matter of searching the platform for undervalued writers. They would have to be a complete package (all be it in the rough- at times). Use the link to read the contest rules and see the submissions made.

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@thedarkhorse/lucky-13-week-13-of-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-56c626da311ef

Each week @thedarkhorse host the pay it forward contest and is currently building a blog - @pifc if you are wanting to support it.

There is no rush for you too participate, if you don't feel you are ready, but the preparation will help you build "Steemit skills."

So, for now get to know the rules and peruse some of the entries then come back with the details that require specific clarification.

There are great prizes such as shares the steemit basic income project - which gives you an upvote on ech post you produce for life. This shares and be accumulated over time. Read a bit about this in the links below.

@steembasicincome is run by @josephsavage and is a great program designed to provide a lifetime income to members who have SBI Shares.

Thanks again, that helps...

Awesome, give me a shout if I you need further guidance...

I had a question, then it slipped my mind...

Finally, it came back to me... while I searching the workings of Steemit.

I've seen mention in some tutorials that it is a good idea to upvote your own posted articles, when you first post it. But, I see most people don't do that... Is there a particular protocol, or general community consensus regarding upvoting your own posted articles?

Apologies for the delayed response. Steemit was a bit broken for a few hours!

In my opinion, there is really no rules on Steemit, only guidelines. It's meant to be decentralised, therefore no central authority exists. Having said that we have entities with centralised world - world view with big chunks of SP throwing their weight about.

So - getting to your question. right now their are whales up-voting themselves like there is no tomorrow, and a pious group that donates every vote they have to the community.

The answer is in the middle (I believe), sure upvote yourself own post - but don't only upvote yourself. Up-voting yourself allows you to grow... besides you own the ice-cream have a bite before you share it all...

Obviously you may be involved in specific communities, that has one preference or another - you decide whether you fall in that belief system or not; either move or stay!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank-you @c-squared, I appreciate your visit! ;)

Thank you so much for the entry @rlt47! I'm one of the judges and will check out your featured bloggers tomorrow when my voting power has recovered :) They look great though!

Hello @lynncoyle1 - Thank you.

I think options 1 and 3 are fine, but I may have landed myself a bit of a dud on number 2. I think I should remove that link.

I'll let you know what I think when I have a look at them?

Hi @lynncoyle1 - I've already had some feedback via the other visitors.

Ultimately, on further review - I'm not satisfied with the selection and have removed him. This is to save you and other visitors, time and effort.

Thank you for saving me the time then; I appreciate it :) I'm going to have a look at your others now then. Thanks again for the entry!

You're most welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25