Entry for the Pay-it-Forward Curation Contest - Week 34

in #payitforward5 years ago

Welcome to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest, sponsored by the PIFC community you will find at @pifc! There you will "meet" a dedicated group of fellow Steemians hard at work on a weekly contest. Our goal is to find and encourage under-valued contributors of great content to our Steem blockchain.

To be selected, your post needs to have a minimum of 200 words of high quality, original content. And your reputation cannot be above 55. Pretty simple!

If you are reading this, perhaps we are looking for or have already found you. 😊

So, let's get started! My two entries for this week are:

Selection #1: ⭐ @alphaccino.art (454.894 SP) ⭐

Do you ever find yourself looking at something and admiring talent you know you don't really have? In looking for selections this week, the picture on this post "grabbed me" and pulled me in and that was my first thought. Great photographic skills!

So, my first selection - @alphaccino.art - is writing to us about plants in her Photography | Aloe Duckeri (Ep1) post. She really enjoys writing about plants and is very good as both describing them and photographing them.

One image from this post:

(Click the image to visit this post.)

What is this beautiful plant, in the "land down under?"

"Anyhoo, the plant I've featured in my photos today is one that grows abundantly in my front garden. It's called Aloe Duckeri and it grows so well in fact that last winter I must have pulled up at least half of them and it hardly even made a dent in the patch."

These photos are just the beginning, as she is putting together a series:

"This post will be the first of a series, containing four sets of images showing the various stages as the flower develops."

I think you will really enjoy reading this first one.

In her introductory post, we learn how her account name came to be. A mix of two of her favorites - coffee and dogs! What's not to like there? 😊

She is a native Australian and working steadily to create her own sustainable income. I would encourage to read more about this new Steemian, how she came to our Steem blockchain, and her aspirations for the future.

Since starting in August, @alphaccino.art has been steadily generating very nice content. Overall, a fellow Steemian well worth supporting!

Selection #2: ⭐ @juliamulcahy (45.626 SP) ⭐

A recent post of mine was based on a family story around the idea of "the road less traveled." So, in the Steem version, "out on the curation trail," looking for the unusual, both the title and the picture associated with my next selection caught my eye.

Glad it did!

So, my second selection - @juliamulcahy - is writing to us about ... words! Ohhh, you might be thinking I don't have time for this, but please trust me. You would be making a mistake. The Little Voice - Bringing a Light to the Word is definitely worth reading!

One image from this post:

(Click the image to visit this post.)

Here is an example of how she describes "meeting" one of her favorite dictionaries:

"However, I am also rather partial to my other dictionary, and we've been friends since 2004. I remember when I first cast my eyes on her. She was sitting there bold as brass on the bookshelf in the Owl Bookshop in Kentish Town, just daring me to take a peek inside."

Very creative! But, she's just getting started ... She gets more "creative" ... 😉 ... still, but I don't want to spoil it, so you'll definitely want to "stop in" and read her post for yourself.

In her introductory post, a short time ago, she describes herself as a "people watcher" and was a little unsure about how to go about introducing herself. If you read it, though, I think you agree she did just fine!

As a nice bonus, this was an opportunity to become reacquainted with this new Steemian. I had a brief exchange with @juliamulcahy soon after she joined our Steem blockchain. It was very nice to "see" her again and encouraging to me to see how well she is doing. For example, she has already won a Curie award for "exceptional content!"

@juliamulcahy is a very good writer and has already made some very nice contributions to increasing the value of our Steem blockchain. Again, an under-valued fellow Steemian well worth supporting!

Thank you for investing your time to read through this post. If you haven't already, please visit the posts highlighted above and encourage these fellow Steemians in their efforts.

A big “shout out” and a sincere “thank you” to our judges for this week’s contest - @thedarkhorse, @tryskele, @headchange, and @viking-ventures! And to our great sponsors - @thehoneys, @bengy, @andrewharland, @el-nailul, @stever82, and @thedarkhorse!

All the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work together to build our Steem Community! 👍 😊

Respectfully,

Steemian @roleerob

Posted using SteemPeak and “immutably enshrined in the blockchain” on Tuesday, 27 November 2018!

Source: Glowtext.com


Interested to know how I found this community and why I support it? The following post tells you the story:
If you have found this post to be of interest, the PIFC team would love to have you join us. Here are some posts to help you in making your decision:


Entries from previous weeks:

This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort:  

@roleerob has set 2.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

Good morning, @roleerob (here), thank you so much for your kind words. It still blows my mind when I wake up in the morning and open up Steemit to find someone has visited my post. I don't think it will ever grow old! You have been a true source of help for me here. Your helpful and informative blog posts have taught me quite a bit, and although there is still much to learn, I am having fun in the learning.

Now, it's time to visit @alphaccino.art and look at those amazing photos and learn something new about plants. ;)

Up before 🌄 (here) @juliamulcahy and finding your reply. My pleasure really as it is something I enjoy doing, writing a post about this weekly contest. Time does not allow for me to be as consistent as some others, but it is an excellent way to add value to our Steem blockchain, which is always my number one priority.

Yes, it definitely does not grow old, as I have been at it now since May 14th. It can actually almost become addicting, if you let it ... 😉

Being a "continuous learner," though, is a very good state of mind to be in IMHO, so you definitely won't be bored any time soon!

And thank you for visiting the other selection. Very nice gesture and I’m sure she’ll appreciate it! 👍

Love both featured bloggers @roleerob! I never seen aloe duckerie flowering before , not in someone's garden and so happy to see the pictures and Julia always writes interesting post with words! Wish you continued success!

Thank you @cicisaja. You are doing an excellent job of engaging with our PIFC community selections. I really appreciate and admire the time and effort you are investing. I hope it returns to you many times over.

You are most welcome @roleerob 😊 maybe because I joined since the week 4 and learned about how important engaging as a support to others in doing PIF, because my tiny invaluable vote at that time. And I already have many returns... at least from you and other supportives members😊

Glad to see you've been popping in again. I really love how you present your features. Thank you for your participation.

Thank you @tryskele. I really appreciate your encouraging words! 😊

Love this community and wish I could contribute every week, but just can't.

Thank you for all you do to keep our community going! 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your entry. Both bloggers have been upvoted.

Very nice entries, @roleerob!

I liked @juliamulcahy's article very much, I'll be following her to see what she comes up with next.

Thanks for your entry for the contest.

Yes, @trincowski, she is doing some great work. The other candidate is as well. Hard to know which ones to pick sometimes, but a good fun problem to have ... 😊

Thank you for stopping by and for your steady contributions to our @pifc community! 👍

I continue to be encouraged by the amount of quality coming into the ecosystem by new users. I like to spend time curating introductory posts as I sometimes get excited on how deep some of their posts get and that is rare on a first posts.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Right there with you @newageinv ...

"I continue to be encouraged by the amount of quality coming into the ecosystem by new users."

Ones of the reason I am still "in here," although God knows Steem has its fair share of garbage and outright abuse. I try to steer clear of those "corners" of the Steemisphere and focus on what I can do to add value, as you and so many others are doing.

" I like to spend time curating introductory posts ..."

Yes, I admire how consistently you do that. So far, I haven't figured out a "time formula" which will allow me to do it, but it is on my mind, as that was the thought behind writing my "Steemisphere" posts to begin with ...

You are doing that very nicely, though, so I wouldn't want to be competing with you. Have a great day!

OH maaan, their posts are both 8 days old...So I've just showed up to their profile and liked the last post before payout. Hope it's fine haha :D

Yes, well, @matkodurko, there's an old saying, "All you can do is all you can do" ... 😉

I believe you are a student trying to keep up with your studies, while doing the best you can "in here."

No problem!

Posted using Partiko Android

Both author's created quality posts. I really the photos in @alphaccino.art post. You did a great job selecting these two.

Glad to hear you enjoyed them @wonderwop. Thanks for stopping by!

Congratulations @roleerob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98