Entry for the Pay-it-Forward Curation Contest - Week 52

in #payitforward5 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest, sponsored by the PIFC community you will find at @pifc! There you will "meet" a dedicated group of fellow Steemians hard at work on a weekly contest. Our goal is to find and encourage under-valued contributors of great content to our Steem blockchain.

This week is not just another week mind you. But the 🎂 one year anniversary 🎂 of this great weekly contest! Yes, you read that right. That is fifty two straight weeks of effort to find and promote our undervalued fellow Steemians!

Typically, to be selected, your post needs to have a minimum of 200 words of high quality, original content. And your reputation cannot be above 55. Pretty simple! As I normally like to say, "If you are reading this, perhaps we are looking for or have already found you." 😊

But ... This week, the contest founder @thedarkhorse, has instead asked that we "go back in time" and "feature 2 of your favorite bloggers from the past."

Well, frankly I do not have the time to find new Steemians for the normal weekly contest. I simply don't and was just going to be supportive from "behind the scenes," as much as I could. As I've done recently ...

I simply could not let this pass, however, as selecting two favorites warranted setting everything else aside and "do whatever it takes" ...

So, let's do it! 😉

My two entries for the 🎂 one year anniversary 🎂 contest are:

Selection #1: ⭐ @blessed-girl (523.101 SP) ⭐


Selecting my first featured Steemian was easy. @blessed-girl was the very first selection I made in my very first entry in the weekly PIFC contest.

I have come to have a very high regard for this remarkable lady from Venezuela and her faithful efforts to post quality content on the Steem blockchain. Here is her most recent post - Fidelity is the key to Christianity..

One image from this post:

(Click the image to visit this post.)

Given what the people of Venezuela have already endured and continue to endure to this day, I extracted this text from her post:

"All of us who are faithful to God and take refuge in Him, please the Lord. The principle that God has given us talents is also reiterated because we have the ability to administer and traffic them. He would never give us anything bigger than our strength can withstand."

[emphasis mine]

In my Week 23 post below, you will find a link to what this lady has to say about her perspective on what the Venezuelan people are facing. I would highly recommend you read it.

For many of us, we actively participate on the Steem blockchain in the hopes of one day realizing a small profit. In the case of @blessed-girl and others like her, it is much more than that. While it is not my place to say, but hers, I know the income she derives from her steady efforts on the Steem blockchain play a significant role in helping her family "through the storm" of what is currently happening in Venezuela.

Her strength and grace in the midst of it is a wonderful example to us all. I hope you will take the time to visit the work of this great Steemian and offer her your support, as seems best to you!

Selection #2: ⭐ @insight-out (517.532 SP) ⭐

Selecting my second featured Steemian was also very easy. @insight-out was the first selection I made in my entry in the 25th weekly PIFC contest.

At the time, her Vacations & Your Mental Health played a role in my thinking about what ultimately became my "Road to Recovery" series of posts. Earning a tangible expression (beyond just words ...) of my appreciation here.

Her most recent post? "Coincidentally" ... 😉 ... once featured by @thedarkhorse, her response to the help received from everyone linked to the #tenkminnow initiative in becoming a new minnow - A Letter From a Brand New Minnow!

One image from this post:

(Click the image to visit this post.)

Extracting a part of this post, here is what she had to say about the impact of @thedarkhorse selecting her for the #tenkminnows initiative:

Before: "I was feeling rather lonely on Steemit lately. It’s been a bit deserted recently or at least it felt like that. I was questioning how much of my scarce free time I should give to Steemit or should I prioritize doing something else?"

After: "I feel so warm and cared for, and hopeful, and positive… and it’s an amazing feeling. Thank you, guys, for making my day!"

Who says "reaching out" doesn't accomplish all that much? 😉

From the outset of my interaction with @insight-out, I have always enjoyed what she has to say. Always sincere, from the heart, and well spoken. Hard to ask for more!

She is a young mother, so cannot devote all of the time to writing on the Steem blockchain that she might wish. I am sure, though, what she does have the time to write, you will find very worthy of your time to read. And support!

Closing

I put a lot of time into writing the posts I publish on the Steem blockchain. And it is not always with the ... uhhhh ... most "cheerful" of thoughts on whether I am investing my time wisely ... 😉

This post, however, was easy and a real pleasure to write. "Meeting" these ladies is a great example to me of what the Steem blockchain, at its best, can be. They both are putting, in their own special ways, great effort into adding value to it. And doing so in other than their native language! We all benefit, as a result!!

Please take the opportunity to get to know them and others better. What a remarkable time we live in, where we can have interactions like this with others from all over the world!

We can all quite naturally wonder what the impact is of our efforts of this type. I don't claim to be wise enough to know. What I am certain of, though, is our actively engaging with our fellow Steemians like this significantly improves their chances of "hanging around."

Without the many associations I have formed over time, due in one way or another with the @pifc community, I for one, would be very unlikely to still be "in here." You have now been introduced to two of them.

Thank you for investing your time to read through this post. I’d love to hear any feedback you may be inspired to provide.

A big “shout out” and a sincere “thank you” to our judges for this week’s contest - @trincowski, @tryskele, @lynncoyle1, and @viking-ventures! And to our great sponsors - @bengy, @andrewharland, @stever82, @wolfhart and @thedarkhorse!

All the best to you for an even better tomorrow, as we all work together to build our Steem Community! 👍 😊

Respectfully,

Steemian @roleerob

Posted using SteemPeak and “immutably enshrined in the blockchain” on Tuesday, 2 April 2019!

divider 123.png

Source: Glowtext.com


Interested to know how I found this community and why I support it? The following post tells you the story:

If you have found this post to be of interest, the PIFC team would love to have you join us. Here are some posts to help you in making your decision:

Entries from previous weeks:

So, of the 16 selections I have made, those in bold are still active (defined by me as posting and / or commenting in the last 30 days ...). Even with that unfortunate "dead zone" in the middle, still an encouraging 68.8% active!

That said, I honestly have no idea how this "stacks up" against the overall percentages of those who remain actively involved on the Steem blockchain after, 1, 3, 6, 9 , 12 ... months. Likely something one of our great Witness teams - the @steemcommunity team (if you haven't already, support them with your vote!) of @abh12345 and @paulag - would know!

SteemPeak: An awesome interface for our Steem blockchain.

Check it out!


This account is protected by @dustsweeper

________________________

Update / Edit: 3 April 2019 A.M.

Dear reader, please note @insight-out is on vacation. So, you will not find a current post to upvote. You can, of course, comment on the post I have linked to here in this post – her last one.

To support her work, please feel free to upvote her comment below, as that will be in place, for as long as this contest runs.

Update / Edit: 3 April 2019 P.M.

She elected to drop everything herself and get this post out just a short time ago - Entry to The Pay It Forward Curation Contest Week 52. Hard to beat that for a "Pay It Forward" example! 👍

😊 Thank you! 👍

Sort:  

Oh, this is so so so kind of you to feature me again in a PIFC post! I feel a little bit ashamed that I haven't made a new post, but I am working on a special one while I am also trying to be on something like a little vacation :)

The first time we met over the Vacations and Your Mental Health was a very special time for me, too. I saw Steemit through a whole new perspective, felt at home somehow :)

I recently read an old comment of yours in which you tell me how you plan your road to recovery trip. And now, it is already over. Time flies so fast and yet so many things have happened in between. The road trip and the vacations are over. Now we both try to figure out what is coming next :)
To tell you a secret now :) Every time I read a post of yours, I try to "steal" some of your precision and thoughtfulness :D

I am very happy that I met you, my dear friend! <3

My great pleasure @insight-out, to draw attention to your efforts again. You are very deserving of it! Many times I wish I had the ability to do more "in here." But … I have to settle with simply doing all I can …

"... but I am working on a special one while I am also trying to be on something like a little vacation :)"

A ”special” one! That sounds intriguing. It does draw my attention to one shortcoming of my post, once I realized you had no posts inside the payout deadline. Which was to provide a link to a comment or something, where my readers could still show their support, as seemed best to them.

As you can see @pifc / @thedarkhorse already worked through this on his own. I'll put an edit to my post at the bottom, so they can simply upvote your comment here, if they wish.

If you happen to finish your post, before this week is out, then please update me here. And I will then update my edit ... Entirely up to you, since I would never tell you to interrupt your vacation ... 😉

”To tell you a secret now :) Every time I read a post of yours, I try to "steal" some of your precision and thoughtfulness :D”

You are very kind. The older I get, the more I am impressed by the old sayings with which I grew up. Specifically, how concisely they express little “gems of wisdom.” Here’s one example: 😊

”Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.”

Author: Charles Caleb Colton

Thank you for the use of the word “precision.” Given your training and background, I would imagine it would not surprise you that I have, at times, been accused of being a perfectionist. My typical reply is, “Well, maybe, but I prefer the word ‘precision’ over ‘perfection’!” 😉

Hoping you are having a great day “over there” and enjoying your vacation with your family!

Hello, what an honor to be in one of your Pay It Forward publications again, Thanks for your beautiful words.

I know the income she derives from her steady efforts on the Steem blockchain play a significant role in helping her family "through the storm" of what is currently happening in Venezuela.

Your affirmation is very true, steemit is a great help for my family, as well as for all Venezuelans who work daily in steemit.

Congratulations to @insight-out who was also selected.

Thank you for your support, friend @roleerob, God bless you and the entire Pay It Forward team (judges and sponsors)

My great pleasure @blessed-girl, to feature you again. I know few, if any, more deserving!

Glad to know your power is restored. Although sounds like it is literally day by day, whether you can rely upon it or not.

Praying with you and all your people that soon your time of tribulation will come to an end. Hopefully a peaceful one!

Amén. Thank you very much!

Since @insight-out hasn't posted recently I upvoted a comment for her.


giphy.gif


Thank you for your entry. Both of your bloggers have been upvoted and your entry for Curation Contest:Week 52 is confirmed.

Haha, thank you @pifc :)

Thank you @pifc / @thedarkhorse. I appreciate it!

My oversight in publishing this post yesterday, before I had to leave. Now corrected with an Edit / Update at the bottom!

great entries @robeerob, I had the pleasure of working with @insight-out via the #tenkminnows event and @blessed-girl is another amazing account. Congrats to both for being selected as all time favs

Yes @paulag great to be part of a community celebrating their 🎂 one year anniversary 🎂. Not sure whether I would have ever "known" about either one otherwise.

I appreciate your support. Thank you for stopping by! 😊

Really great post! Supported both your picks! Had the same observations as you, a few of my featured steemians are absent from steemit; but fortunately most of them are still producing content!

Yes @paridunus, I think our support and encouragement are essential elements to increasing the retention rate. Not perfect, of course, but I think these percentages are well above the overall averages. I least I think they are (didn't hear back from the two who I had hoped would confirm) ... 😉

Thanks for stopping by and supporting these Steemians. I don't take the investment of your time for granted. I really appreciate it! 👍

Great selection as the growing community of Minnows is great to see engaged with us all. I absolutely enjoy all the engagement that comes from these posts with up and coming users! Thanks for your efforts my friend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

As always @newageinv, thank you for your support of these people. They are very deserving of it!

Hi @roleerob

Just visited your profile to see if you published anything new lately and I was wondering ... where is Rob? why so quiet? :)

Hope you're okey there and just having good time :)

Cheers
Piotr

Good morning (here) @crypto.piotr! In response ...

"Hope you're okey there and just having good time :)"

... I have a "yes" and "no" answer. Yes, I am okay. But ... No, I am not having a good time. Working against a "hard deadline" to get our family taxes done for 2018. And, as part of that, accounting for our investments in "cryptos" for the first time. A "nightmare" ... As I wrote briefly on in a comment here, I am building my own database to handle the challenge / responsibility ...

Thank you for stopping by and inquiring. I appreciate all you do to add value to our Steem blockchain. I hope you are also doing well! When will your wife be joining you there in Poland?

Dear @roleerob

Thank you for that amazing comment. I only had a chance to read it now. Appreciate.

When will your wife be joining you there in Poland?

Another one month. It has been already almost 2 month since I've seen her. Sucks big time. Thank you for asking. That's really kind of you.

Yours, Piotr

Hi @roleerob!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.118 which ranks you at #3350 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 359 contributions, your post is ranked at #190.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @roleerob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86