Lifes problems and Steemit how similar they are

in #payitforward6 years ago


It's been a rough couple of days here on the homefront . The weather has changed and we have moved right into summer . Spring was in the air but it just kept going . The temperatures are hovering around 90 degrees . Which in and of itself is no big deal . As you know I plant a lot of trees for the future . And make my little piece of the world that I call home a better place . Unfortunately that does not help in the present . Just like Steemit , I am building for the future . A sapling here and there will pay off in the future . Not only for my benefit but for my environment or platform that I call home . Upkeep or engagement is a critical part of it . Ones foundation will either allow one to secede or collapse in time .

Last week before the warmer weather hit I checked my A/C unit . It blew air but not cold air . Not a big deal every once in awhile you have to recharge the system with coolant . So of I go and make an appointment to have the system recharged .

The guy comes out put his gauges on and behold its bone dry nothing is in the system . The tech ask if I wanted him to fill the system with r22 coolant . So I say no bring it to vacuum . Why would I want to fill it with coolant without checking for leaks . Bring it to vacuum will tell me if there is a leak without wasting money if there is a leak . Well there is a couple leaks in the coil . To keep things short it just cost me $86 to find out that I need to replace the coil $2400 and 4lbs of r22 will cost $800 bringing it to $3200 . Or I could replace the whole thing with the new r410 at a cost of $5960 . The problem is that r22 will be against the law to sell in 2020 .

It's been hot the last 3 days and my sweety pie does not do well in the heat . I purchased a couple Snickers bars for the mood swings (ref: to the snickers commercial) 🤔

So let's go over the options because the above is not going to happen

  1. Replace the unit with r410 at a cost od $6000

  2. replace the a coil and use r22 which will become more expensive at a cost of $3200

  3. ???

Ok a day later and after looking and working on different options this is what I have worked out

Replace the A-coil for a deferred cost of $1200 . receive 3 bottles of r22 to be used at later dates if needed . That's what I have worked out . A total cost of $1200 due TBD and enough free r22 that will last for years

Its is amazing how one's character and reputation comes in handy . People who over the years that one has engaged with and helped out asking nothing in return from them . How they step up as a community and pull together to accomplish what appears to be a problem for an individual and not a community . This all applies to ones action on Steemit , don't you think . So many good people here even though we have never meet in person . We can still look at each other's actions over time and determine the character of an accounts actions . Is there no difference when we know someone in person compared to engagement online . If we take the time to truly look at their actions . Truly get to know them . The small saplings we plant grow into mighty trees . Make some ripples and watch them grow into waves . Make friends not followers

I have to much sweet pouring down off me . no fancy post or pictures just the facts and Pay It Forward .

Sort:  

I love the comparison of the saplings your planting to Steemit and building a future. Each person we reach out to support and help is helping a sapling grow.

Sucks about the whole A/C thing. I don't blame you for wanting to get it fixed. I lived in STL for 7 years I hated the time I did not A/C it was horrible. Never seems to fail though, when something like that happens. It and arm and a leg to get it up and running. I hope your able to get it up and running soon.

Thanks I'll get it fixed sooner then later I hope :)

what we do now will have an impact on our future . Just like these little trees I'm planting thanks

I have not understand it but I am trying to understand it.

its about having friends who help each other out . Building a community.
Sometimes your in the position to help others and when you do it builds friendships that last and in return when you need something it it paid back as you have treated them

You are right Friendship is very nice relation.

good post and great idea and solution in the end

Today is only tuesday hopefully it will be done by tomorrow . There was a problem with finding parts . In the end it will work out

This is so true! You get to know people in your life, and especially when you have some problems, your real friends jump in to help. I'd say it's exactly like what I've witnessed here; if you take the time to nourish it, it will grow. I love your tree analogy too by the way. Really nice post...and I don't mean that in a nice post kind of way haha

LOL I know what your intent was .
This is a great community in that manner . It's refreshing to be with people who earnestly care as opposed to the lip service .

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

When you say "I plant a lot of trees"... is it like 20 trees? But whatever number it is, you are most definitely planting so much goodwill here in this community with the help that you provide me and fellow minnows. And you are appreciated! Just like with your trees, no effort is waste in what you do in #payitforward because and there will be pay off in the future! Excellent article. I am glad that you have worked out the AC situation. Stay cool, my friend!

I planted 7 so far this year . cultivating the ones from last year so we don't lose any . that's the ones around the house . the ones on the perimeter of the property is something we also do . them we just plant and they grow or not so I don't keep track . There is one are I let mother nature take over . I'll get some pictures of it later . The winter took a toll .

The point with the post is that we always pay things forward whether good or bad. The A/C was an example . I'm glad you got it . We all go through difficult times . It is easier when your not alone . I am grateful that I am not alone here on Steemit and together we can do so much

The very broad meaning in the first paragraph, the parable of the tree used today as a protector in the summer, the conclusion is that whatever we do today will provide something useful in the future. 👍

thats it . We have to prepare for the future . It comes to Quick

R22 good choice Teacher...same with my A/C
R22 is very cool and energy efficient 😊

summer is heating Beijing too and there isn't AC in our office, the hot weather is putting some of our colleagues in a different mood. A couple of female interns just requested if they would wear shorts to the office in which I find it improper to do so.

LOL everyone deals with the the heat different . Just like everyone prepares for the future different

Lol u sound spoiled with AC haha back in hawaii i never had a house with AC the only way we cooled down was go swimming. And here in Florida no AC still . We live simple i wish we could afford the electric bill if we ran ac but like back home i would rather spend the money to go swimming. Hope you have a nice cool summer ...jeez sitting in AC lol im so jellyfishing now ..🤣

ROFL
I would love to jump into a pool or any body of water . When its 94 deg with 98% humidity it rains inside the house . When we cook dinner we just leave it in a pot on the counter and 45 min later its cooked ready to eat. It's so hot that when you turn on the hose the stream of water evaporates before it has a chance to hit the ground .
Hawaii has the best climate in all of the US

Hey im in Florida now remember and i know all too well about heat.. we get over 100% humidity. And when its hot we get our tails to a spring or drive the 3 hours to the beach 🤣

Gret to see that the relationships you have built helped you in this situation. You are right, the platform is no different! Thank you for sharing!

This post proves to be a worthy post for the #greetersguild initiative, bringing knowledge, people, and resources together for new users to succeed on the steemit blockchain. Support @terminallyill the visionary behind this cause and whom summoned me to upvote your post.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84