Gathering ideas for a new Dungeons & Dragons campaign

in #penandpaper6 years ago

candle1646765_960_720.jpg
Hidiho,
yesterday I met a friend from university and while we drank some beer we also talked about some pen&paper games and I felt the urge to work on a little campaign for DnD. Well, I have the feeling that it won't be a "little" campaign but for now, I will just gather some cool ideas and form a new world.

So let's start with the

1. Question


Which edition shall it be?

As I played DnD 3.5 some years ago I have some books laying around, to be precise I think they are not laying at my house but somebody of my friends should have them. Buuuut should I use 3.5 or test the fifth edition? I think I will start reading the fifth edition and have a look. The biggest differences I noticed at the moment are that you don't have to spend skill points for skills like athletics (you just chose skills in which you are proficient?) and that magic users can cast minor spells without using spell slots (and that is awesome). It looks a bit more like a video game but I will have to read it to be sure if the changes make it better or worse.

2. Question


What kind of setting will it be?

I am planning to have it as a little side game when the main rpg group is missing some people (which happens very often because of family+children, vacations or illness) so that we can switch to DnD and have some fun in there.

And because it's a little side campaign I am thinking of letting them play evil characters. So instead of rescuing the princess, they are kidnapping her, instead of saving the village from the evil orc tribe they are the ones suppressing the people in the village.

I am planning to let them do what they want and just give them a big goal to achieve but how they achieve it is totally free. So, for example, the main goal could be to suppress a whole country and rule it with fear and brutality.

It should be fun to be the evil villains instead of the shiny heroes. And because an evil mage who is only level 1 is not that frightening I would say that every character starts at a higher level, at least level 5 so that they have the power to be the bullies of a little village. The exact level has to be determined after reading the full rules again so that I have a better feeling for the characters.

Because I love to have some strategic elements in my games I would create a new world map and give the characters an evil hideout from where they can operate, hire new men, start their raids and of course defend their reign of evil against shiny heroes who will try to stop them. I am not sure if the players are the leaders of this evil group or if they start as a kind of henchmen for a big evil being. I think it depends on how powerful the characters are at the beginning - if they start with level 5 or even lower I think I would let them be the small henchmen and let them execute the orders of their master. If they start with a higher level I think then it's better to let them be the head of the evil cult/organization.

Uh, I think it would be more fun if I try to include a system that gives each one of them a part of the power of the cult (let's just stay with cult I think that fits better) and that the power can shift. Maybe they will also start to plan their little intrigues to get more power or even get rid of one of the other players.

So I have to think of a cool but simple system to simulate this kind of actions. I definitely will have some 1 on 1 chat with each of them to have the opportunity to give them some small information about the other characters xD.

Ok, this sounds like a lot of fun for me and I think I will work on these ideas in future postings.

So my to do's atm are:

  • read 5th edition rules
  • ask my friends if they are interested in playing evil DnD chars
  • work on the world of the campaign
  • work on the cult and the simulation part

We will see how that will work out. So until next time, bye

Image source

Found this pic here
https://pixabay.com/de/kerze-buch-alte-licht-bibliothek-1646765/

Sort:  

Tis the season for rpging,
Fa-la-la-la-la-la-la-la-la... 🎶

We are gearing up to re-start our Troll Keep Canpaign on https://roll20.net, this winter season, after a 3 year hiatus. 😎

We play old school TSR's Dungeons & Dragons, copyright 1974.

I never played the old D&D, maybe you can post a bit about it after you started your campaign, would be cool to read a bit about it.
I will also use roll20 for my campaign so that we can play for 2 or 3 hours and don't have to drive for more than an hour to get there.

I never played the old D&D...

Without D&D there may have been a gambling addiction in my life. 😎

Love the dice and love the risks involved. With less invested in character creation, character death is not out of the question in D&D as opposed to the restrictions of character death for GMs, due to players' investment, in the newer systems like Pathfinder.

... maybe you can post a bit about it after you started your campaign ...

Will do.

I will also use roll20...

Love roll20. It's been three years since dusting off the campaign (Troll Keep) so really looking forward to it. 😎

If you're going to play D&D, I generally suggest 5th edition. It's a lot smoother and I think it does a lot better job of giving players options in how to develop their characters without involving a bunch of false choices and the balance is much improved from 3.5.

With that said, I think that it fails a little in some of the play styles that were uniquely developed around 3.5. It doesn't allow hyper-optimization unless you start bringing in all the supplemental content, and there's not even that much even then. A lot of the ramp up to really high-power play doesn't feel quite as important as it used to, though I could just be jaded and cynical.

If you do 5e, I suggest starting at level 3 if players are experienced. This represents seasoned adventurers and lets everyone have access to what makes their class interesting.

The big thing about an evil campaign is figuring out what sort of evil is going to be the focus. Mercenary plundering bandits can be fun, in a sort of "Robin Hood, but we steal from the rich and give to ourselves" way.

Having a cult or deity that fosters such behavior keeps players from going too far off the rocker in pursuing the same general goals, and can help keep you from having half of the players playing the bad guys from Mad Max and the other half playing Hannibal Lecter. It sets the tone as it were.

A simple way to do this would be to have the cult have a number of divine (evil) spell slots that can be added to by expanding its influence. Characters who are of higher rank or importance (or just do cooler things or things that are in line with the goals) get to cast one of these spells.

Ok then it's an easy choice - I will try the 5th edition for this campaign. If it doesn't feal right for us we can always change afterwards.

They have experience in 3.5 but it's a good idea to start with lvl 3 so they can start learning how their new characters are working but aren't that weak as a lvl 1 char. That's maybe better than giving them lvl 10+ chars without knowing what the class can really do.

For the kind of evil group I am imagine the villain type of an evil sorcerer with his undead army - the real bad guys. And a big goal they have to achieve like helping an evil but almost forgotten deity to get more power hmmm so they could get their order from this deity. That would let them work together, in most cases I think and still let them fight amongst them to get more power of the deity.
And these evil spell slots are a good idea. With these spells I can also add more stuff that would not be possible mhhh.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @dera123!

You just got a 0.33% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @dera123!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.097 which ranks you at #48196 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1028 places in the last three days (old rank 49224).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 291 contributions, your post is ranked at #137.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @dera123! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69