THIS IS THE FIRST GUY TO EVER RECOGNIZE ME AS A "CRYPTO GUY" - @YROMANsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #people6 years ago (edited)

And man were we excited to get talking!


There we were, just @papa-pepper, @xtrodinarypilot, @hammockhouse and my "bodyguard" @bluerthangreen. We had just finished up the first episode of CRYPTO TALK LIVE at the MOTIV Radio Studios in Houston, TX and we were hungry.

We stopped in a Niko Niko's to order some food, but something interesting happened when we went to pay for the meal.

I pulled out my ShiftCard and @xtrodinarypilot pulled out his BitPay card. Although the BitPay card lost that round and I ended up paying, our cashier recognized them both and soon we were talking crypto.

Over the past year, I've certainly made some purchases with my ShiftCard, but this was the first time that someone actually knew what it was. Perhaps it was just because I wasn't out in the middle of nowhere where I live and was in the fourth largest city in the US, but regardless of how it happened, it was certainly cool!

MEETING @YROMAN

As cool as it was meeting someone else who was into crypto, @yroman made it even cooler because of his excitement about it. One of the first things he told me when he saw my ShiftCard was "Don't spend your BTC!"

Like many of us, @yroman believes that BTC will climb much higher, and I cannot argue with his advice. The five of us took turns talking excitingly after @yroman took our order, and, interestingly enough, @yroman had even heard of steemit before.

However, they guy who told him about steemit didn't really explain it that well, so we tried to present him with a more accurate understanding. It wasn't too long before he was actually posting on steemit, so that is super encouraging. He's got some learning to do, but he's here and he's active, plus @xtrodinarypilot and myself both have his number, so we may be doing a little coaching.

To meet someone so excited about crypto on the street was a new experience for me. I was glad to not only get to meet @yroman, but that we could also encourage him more to check out steemit.

I was especially encouraged when he came out to request this photo with us. I looked over at the other steemians and said, "This guy already thinks like a steemian!" I went a step further and took a few selfies with him, just in case I wanted to make a post like this.

So, has this ever happened to you? Have you ever randomly met someone else who was into crypto? If so, how did you meet, what did you discuss and are you still in contact with them?

Also, I'll try to encourage @yroman to do an "official" intro post soon, so please join me in welcoming him into our community and help me in showing him how amazing of a platform steemit really is!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of- @yroman



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Yep, everyone keep an eye on @yroman! He is a sharp guy, with a keen eye for detail!

It was truly encouraging to see someone working at an everyday job that sees the larger market, and is really-excited to find a "entry-level" way to gather crypto.

We spoke with him for while after our order was taken, and we all shared the same regret that we didn't buy more BTC when it was still cheap enough to grab 'em buy the handful!

It's really exciting to know that there are any number of average people who are into crypto and that one could just bump into them on the street.
Crypto will really grow once more and more people come on board.

It is exciting, and he was excited too!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @papa-pepper to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Papa Johnny Depp!😀

Heard that about nine times on steemit so far!

More like Johnny Depp's younger country cousin am I right?

I love it, great story! ...no, I haven't met anyone randomly like that... I'm sure it'll start happening more and more, or so I hope.

The House of Pepper t-shirt deserves an upvote on its own. :)

Kudos to him, definitely!

When he saw you: The Legend is REAL!

He recognized my Shift card, not my face, but he can learn more about "who I am" now that he's here, lol.

You sure get around @papa-pepper! Most of my friends think I must be from another planet, but then I don't know enough to be really into crypto yet. Steemit is just a chance to get my feet wet.

It's how I got my feet wet!

There must yet be hope for me then!

And so it begins... ;-)

Lol, so it does!

I have a small idea that the gratefulness was even bigger from his side ! lol What a lucky guy... You have not got plans to come to Belgium have you? lol @yroman as soon as you have your introduction done and you get involved, i tell you it is like an addiction! Be prepared, of wanting to come home quick because writing on pc is easier than telephone. Laughing with new cyber friends over old subjects. And be ready with the camera of your phone to take a picture of that meal bird of sky, because it might just fit in a conversion on steemit that day. Good luck ! to you

No plans on Belgium.... Yet.

Good advice for @yroman too!

it is so addictive ! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78