Public transportation in NY metro area

in #people5 years ago

Metro New York is the metropolitan area around New York City in New York State, Connecticut and New Jersey.

Metro New York is served by 3 large airports, several small airports, trains and buses. The public transportation is amazing in my opinion.

I live in New Jersey and I can get to NY in 20 minutes by bus. Many NJ residents commute to NY for this reason, therefore the Port Authority Bus terminal is always crowded. Here is a quick shot I took recently.

90C4CB08-700A-4244-818B-D0672E43B4A4.jpeg

And a different angle. 😊

898E9CDE-1F61-4E8B-9515-86B439203BF0.jpeg

This is a shot I took at Penn Station, as I was taking a train to Long Island. This is the main intercity rail-station in New York City and the busiest in the Western world, according to Wikipedia. It serves 600,000 passengers per weekday!!!

75E0874D-DA30-4570-9FC4-21A2AEC76095.jpeg

Well... let me go catch my train now. Hope you liked my photos!

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

steemusabanner.png

Sort:  

In the city, every journey is a little adventure.

Very true. Especially in such a big city. 😊

Its been a while since i have been through he port authority it’s such a huge place

Thanks for this great post and being an active member of @steemusa !tip

Thank you. I love your posts too.😊

beautiful images I love to see people and photograph them when they don't see
Happy day

Hey, me too. I try to be discreet, because some people don’t like to be photographed. But I love the motion... people being people...

I love seeing photos of the NYC area. It was always my favorite place to visit. So much action!

Yeah, lots of action. When I feel lonely I take the bus and go in Times Square. Seeing so many people moving around recharges my batteries, if this makes any sense. But it is true. Maybe I am weird. 😉

Looks impressively massive, when you know where you going it must be a very convenient way to commute @starjewel, not so sure how well I would do in these very big cities.

It is overwhelming at the beginning, for sure. But we are all creatures of habit. We get used to anything. When I first visited NY 20 years ago I was infuriated of the waste of electricity. Too many billboards and too many lights. 😊

So great to see an efficient public transport service here.
It must be wonderful to travel about on a train.
Blessings!

Yes, the public transportation rocks here. You don’t need a car. Anyway there is no way you can park in Manhattan, unless you pay $20 per 30 minutes in parking spaces. There are meters too, but very hard to find. So yes, it is very pleasant to travel by train. 😊

Very nice lightning for a public area.
Looking forward to see your Long Island post @starjewel! Take care & have a nice journey

Oh yeah, lots of lights. I stayed only for the weekend in Long Island. Took some nice photos, check my blog. Thank you for being a good friend 😊

🎁 Hi @starjewel! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Getting Around Nyc Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85