Photo Series and Story: Why You Creepin'? - Peoplephotography by worldcapture Week #7steemCreated with Sketch.

in #peoplephotography5 years ago (edited)

181107_Venice_Steemit.jpg

I wonder where this will take me:

That's generally the first thought I have before heading down some unknown road, alley, street or into a forest with no path (I've done this and I don't recommend it). This time was no different. You want to go to Venice? Great! My suggestion? Just start walking. Seriously, it's like a massive corn maze except there's no corn and no entrance and no exit. So I guess on second thought it's nothing like a corn maze. It's definitely like a maze though! You can walk and walk and walk for hours and sometimes you end up where you started. Sometimes you end up in a neighborhood with a bunch of locals that speak no English. Sometimes you reach a dead end and by dead end I mean a canal with no street access so you're only choice is to dive in or turn around. Since diving in is not an option (it's not legal to swim in the canals) your only other choice is to turn around. Or you can sit there, like I did, for as long as you like.

So I sat down. I had the wide lens on and I wanted to grab that perfect shot of the gondolier rowing by. I think in my head I wanted the entire gondola but I quickly realized that wasn't possible from where I was sitting. Those things are pretty long and the opening I was sitting in was pretty narrow. Still, I wanted something that looked Venetian! I want that iconic Italian man, oar in hand, singing a song and pushing his skinny boat through the canals of Venice as the sun beautifully lays down a golden glow. What a mouthful. So I sat. I sat and I waited patiently.

181107c_Venice_PostLUT_Steemit_b.jpg

Here's something I'll let you know about me. I don't care how long it takes me to get the perfect photo, I'll sit there and wait for it. Most of the time it's because I want the people to leave. That might be slightly ironic considering the people photography contest I've entered by making this post but it's the truth. Sometimes it's because I want humans to show up and populate my time-lapse though. For instance, on this same trip, I sat at the bottom of the Spanish Steps in Rome for two or three hours, replacing batteries and memory cards, because I started it too early. One thousand photos of the Spanish Steps is pretty boring when there's no one on them. The point is I don't mind waiting. I actually like it. Taking photos is what I'm there to do so time never enters into the equation.

In this particular case I just sat at the end of the alleyway on the edge of the water. It was a staircase that led to the canal and then dropped off into the blue. The main mode of transportation here is boat so you'll find these spots everywhere. Places you can tie off the gondola to and step onto land. I wasn't looking for this spot, I never am, I just accidentally wandered over to it and decided to stay. I took a few photos of the ristorante awning and the flag waving above it. I poked my head around the edge of the building to see if anyone was coming and boom! There he was.

181107_Venice_PostLUT_Steemit.jpg

Alright, as usual I'm going to be radically honest with you. It didn't happen that easy. He wasn't there. Actually when I first looked there probably wasn't anyone there. After waiting a while someone finally did come by and I took my shot. It sucked (or I thought it sucked). Then another dude came by, nothing. The wrong angle, the wrong look, the wrong whatever. So in all reality I sat there and let a couple roll by before I really figured out what I was doing. That's just what photographers do. No one gets the perfect shot the first time. The story just sounds better when I blow it full of hot air and make it sound like I've got some secret skill that no one else can obtain. Garbage. I'm pushing a button on a device that someone else made. I change some numbers on the digital interface, turn a couple dials, aim and point. A few hundred clicks later one of them might turn out looking good. Sorry to burst the pretty bubble. That's just how it works. At least for digital photographers. You old school film guys got me beat.

The first guy floated by and I was too close. The second guy comes into frame and I hadn't learned my lesson. The third one showed up and I was ready to go. I sat up on the top step, framed my shot and started firing. I love this photo (the first one). He's doing his job but he's looking right at me. He's telling these two tourists about something special but has the awareness to notice me right behind him. For me the third time really was the charm and not just for the photo. It took three times for me to realize I'm no different than any tourist there. I just feel like this guy saw me and thought, "Every corner I got a camera in my face."

181107d_Venice_PostLUT_Steemit_b.jpg

I hope that's not what he was thinking. I like this picture more than any thing I could have imagined I'd get while I was sitting there (again, the first one). There's a contrast here that I love. On the one hand you have two people sitting in the gondola completely engaged in what he's telling them. I don't think they ever saw me. On the other hand he's looking right at me with a kind of serious undertone making sure I know who's boss. My initial reaction is that he's irritated with me. That's not what I wanted but it may have been the result. I don't know for sure, he turned around right after spotting me and continued rowing his boat.

In reviewing this photo and writing up this article, it definitely allows me the opportunity to think about how I engage with people. In the past I have often stood around with my camera and not said a word. Not always but frequent enough to comment on it. Like in an awkward way where people wonder what you're doing. It's something I'm actively working on improving. I think most people, if you stop to talk to them, wouldn't actually mind you taking their photo. In fact I think a lot of people would feel special or honored that you find them interesting enough to point your camera at them. It's just that first step of actually communicating with them that is the most important and it's one I often skip. I truly believe that communication can solve just about anything including my continuing conflict around taking pictures of strangers. Because if he was in fact thinking what I thought he was thinking, the chance to talk to him could have solved it.

I think him and I both would agree on the fact that his country, his culture and his city are stunningly beautiful. At the end of the day that's all I'm trying to capture. I just want to capture that beauty.

VeniceAerial_Steemit.jpg

All photos were taken by @jocqua. My entry into the week 7 #peoplephotography contest by @worldcapture is the photo at the top of this post.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider upvoting, commenting, resteeming and giving my account a follow. If you have any questions or comments please post them below, I'd love to respond to them.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hi, congratz, you are now listed on the Steemians directory (https://www.steemiandir.com/) You can read more about this initiative here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@anonyvoter/new-selections-of-november-5-2018 If you like this project it would be great if you could resteem the post to make more people aware of it.
If you don’t want to be listed just leave me a comment and I will delete your profile from the website. Thank you very much for reading and I’m looking forward to your feedback!
PS: I’m NOT a bot so… I’m really looking forward to your feedback 😊

Awesome! Glad to be a part of it. Thanks so much for adding me!

Really some great pictures you have here.

Posted using Steeve

Thx @void! I appreciate you stopping by and leaving a comment. Cheers!

Hi @jocqua, nice pictures and place. You made to come back to this summer holidays, there we spent one day in Venice as well. We been quite lucky with this summer heat wasn’t so crowded 😁 as usually.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks so much @tomsmaid! I've been there twice now and loved it both times. It actually rained one day while I was there so the heat wasn't bad at all. But the crowds were pretty crazy. I watched three or four cruise ships unload day after day.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thanks so much @travelfeed! I appreciate the help. I'm a part of the discord channel although I haven't been able to be on it much. Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the upvote! Cheers!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jocqua
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=photo-series-and-story-why-you-creepin-peoplephotography-by-worldcapture-week-7


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!
Loading...

Congratulations @jocqua! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jocqua! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jocqua! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 comments. Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36