Visiting a school in rural Myanmar

in #peoplephotography6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit! It has been a while since my last longer posts - unfortunately, my laptop stopped charging towards the end of my trip to Myanmar and I only got my new laptop a few days ago. Before I catch up on the posts that I could not write and tell you what happened in between my last travel update from Myanmar and living in Taipei now, I want to participate in a new awesome photo contest: @worldcapture, whom I had the pleasance of meeting in Bangkok in July, is hosting the #peoplephotography contest. If you haven't already, check it out and participate!


1/100s; 35mm; f/1.8; ISO 100

Back in August, I visited Hsipaw, a small town in northern Myanmar. I went on an organised trek through the jungle. The friendly owner of the trekking company has become quite wealthy (by local standards) by offering tours to backpackers - which comes to no surprise in a country where the minimum wage is just 3 USD per day and tourist-Dollars are worth a lot. The owner of the trekking company is giving back to the community and in one of the villages that we passed through on our trek, he has recently opened a primary school, paying the teacher out of his own pocket and providing free education to the kids - in Myanmar, in many rural communities there are no public schools. We visited the school on our trek and the kids loved seeing their photos on the screen of my camera!


1/60s; 30mm; f/1.8; ISO 100

I believe that @worldcapture only accepts one photo as entry which would be the first photo, but I want to share some more of my shots with you, including some black-and-white edits:


1/60s; 35mm; f/1.8; ISO 100


1/60s; 35mm; f/1.8; ISO 110


1/60s; 35mm; f/2.2; ISO 180


1/800s; 35mm; f/2.0; ISO 100


1/2500s; 35mm; f/1.8; ISO 100


Camera Gear

I captured this photo with my Nikon D5500* and a Sigma Art 18-35mm f1.8 * lens.


My Recent Posts

By the time you read this, this post or some of the posts below may be older than 7 days so you can not vote for them anymore. If you want to support me, please consider voting on one my recent daily posts!

You can view all my posts on steemitworldmap.com

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

If you like my content, don't forget to upvote this post and follow me for more photos and travel stories! Also, I will be happy if you leave a comment to tell me your thoughts and resteem this post to share my work!

All my photos are also available for licensing, please contact me through my Website or the Steemit Traveller's Discord


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://julianpetersphotography.de/blog/visiting-a-school-in-rural-myanmar/

Instagram | Facebook | Website

Sort:  

Man.. Absolutely love those images !! Thanks a ton for your support @jpphotography ! I'm heading to Myanmar in around 25 days for 10 days, can't wait for it!

Thanks for hosting the #peoplephotography contest, it's a pleasure to participate! You will love Myanmar, people are amazing!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Nice post. Always great to see pictures of kids learning. Gives you some hope for the future. How do you find living in Taipei ?

Taipei will probably never be my favourite city in Asia, but there are some things that make living here quite good, especially the amazing food on the night markets and the excellent public transport

Nice. I have never had the chance to visit.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jpphotography
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=visitingaschoolinruralmyanmar-vxa22tlind


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Such a good job with the photos and the story! Congrats!

Hi @jpphotography!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.269 which ranks you at #2488 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 597 contributions, your post is ranked at #270.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28