Permaculture, Homesteading, and Community Building // How to Dry and String Peppers for Decoration or Preservation

I have memories of hundreds of dried chili peppers strung along Chinese market stalls. I would look at them while buying veggies with my aunt, amazed at the deep red colors that hung just out of my reach. I remember that my mom would hang up a garland of dried chili peppers on our Christmas tree every winter. My mom's side of the family is from Chengdu, the spicy capital of China. Chiles are a central part of the cuisine, though I unfortunately grew up with almost no spicy tolerance. I've recently been building up my ability to eat spicy foods in preparation for returning to Chengdu. This year, I grew some cayenne peppers and jalapeno peppers. My mom grew the bhut jolokia pepper (ghost pepper) and loves eating them for dinner. For reference, the bhut jolokia is one of the hottest peppers in the world, 400 times spicier than tabasco sauce and is rated at more than 1 million Scoville heat units. This is why I have a hard time eating when I visit my family in China...

Anyways, I just harvested a handful of the cayenne peppers and was inspired to try stringing them up and drying them like the garlands that I saw in Chinese markets.



Step 1 - Grow the Peppers

This is my favorite step. It is so satisfying to see a baby plant turn into handfuls of peppers within months. Peppers grow well in full sun, well-drained soil, and warm temperatures.



Step 2 - Harvest the Peppers

When harvesting the peppers, it is important to harvest a portion of the stem attached to the pepper. This is where we will be threading a needle through in order to tie them all together.



Step 3 - Begin Stringing the Peppers

I used waxed macrame string as it will hold over time and it's what I had on hand, but any thin string will do the job. I tied a knot at the bottom of the string and slipped my first pepper on.



Step 4 - String the Rest of the Peppers

I then got in a rhythm of stringing the rest of the peppers on. I tied a knot in the string about an inch above the first pepper and threaded the second pepper on. I tied the knot in order to keep distance between the peppers. This will help for airflow and allow the peppers to dry faster.



Step 5 - Hang the Peppers up to Dry

I hung my peppers up in my room, where it is dry. I wouldn't recommend hanging the peppers outside, as morning dew will most likely prevent the peppers from drying out and may result in mold growth. This is a great way to preserve peppers for future meals. The garland can also be used as decoration or given as a gift.



Happy growing, drying, and decorating!

Sort:  

Helli @anwenbaumeister It is very creative technique. At the end you can grind them once dried up!

Woooow I was totally thinking that those peppers were just tinies hahaha so big they are, cool that you can have that on youre garden and let those Gigants to dry :) cool to see great post

Just passing by to say thanks for upvoting one of my post, appreciated it a lot. Never thought it can be use as a decoration, i only knew as it is very good to include it in my food, it makes me eat more.

Wow. @anwenbaumeister thanks for sharing new decoration. You are great. .

@anwenbaumeister hi there, using peppet as a decoration looks like art, i never even seen this anywhere, however i like the way its all strung up, it looks colourful.

Amazing pictures! I really love it peppers. Good post

Green and red peppers they look amazing. I used those peppers to make hot sauce. I appreciate you taking the time to share with us you have my upvote & resteem @mannyfig1956

@anwenbaumeister
very good knowledge on how to dry and strong pepper.. which reminds me also growing up..my grandma use to dry pepper...by her kitchen more like smoking... and this wll last as much as she needs it

Congratulations @anwenbaumeister, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superhero or Legend account holder (accounts hold greater than 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superhero and Legend account holders during this period was 19 and the total pending payments to posts in these categories was $702.46. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70