Permaculture, Homesteading, and Community Building // How to Grow and Roast Your Own Sunflower Seeds

Hi everyone! As summer has drawn to a close and fall is wrapping us up in its change of colors and smells, it also marks harvest season for many crops. One of these crops is the magnificent sunflower. I was blessed with some amazing sunflowers this year, many of them growing 10 feet high with flowers larger than my head. I love seeing the bees buzz in the flowers and love the satisfying harvest of each seed. In China, we love to eat whole roasted sunflowers seeds. It's almost a meditation, cracking the shells open with our mouths to access the seeds, one by one. Here is how I make my own roasted sunflower seeds ::



Step 1 - Grow Your Sunflowers!

I made a detailed tutorial of how to start your own sunflower plants a few months ago. You can read it here : https://steemit.com/permaculture/@anwenbaumeister/permaculture-homesteading-and-community-building-making-diy-newspaper-planting-pots-for-sunflowers
I still remember the day that the first sunflower bloomed this summer in my garden. It was magical.



Step 2 - Harvest the Flowers

Wait for the sunflowers to reach maturity. This will look like the backs of the sunflower leaves browning, most of the yellow petals falling, and the seeds growing big and with stripes (depending on the variety). Cut the flowers off of the stalk. If you are having problems with birds, squirrels, and other earthly creatures taking the seeds before maturity, you can cut the flower off prematurely and dry the flower head inside with plenty of ventilation and minimal moisture.



Step 3 - Collect the Seeds

I love rubbing the seeds off of the flower head. The closely grown seeds have such a calming texture to touch. I like to sit down with a large bowl in my lap, put some music on or start singing a song, and start to rub the seeds out of the flower head.



Step 4 - Soak the Seeds

Next, I fill up the bowl that contains the seeds with water and allow the seeds to sit in the water for 30 minutes. This will clean the seeds, as most of the dirt will drop to the bottom of the bowl.



Step 5 - Cook the Seeds

I move my seeds to a pot, fill the pot with water, and add 1 tablespoon of salt per cup of sunflower seeds. I bring the water to a boil and then let it simmer for 30 minutes.



Step 6 - Roast the Seeds

I then drain the water from the pot and toss the seeds onto a baking pan. Once the oven reaches 300 degrees, I roast the seeds for about 30 minutes.



Step 7 - Flavor the Seeds (optional)

I love spices! You can leave your sunflower seeds unflavored if you prefer, or just toss some salt onto your finished product. I personally love a grounded spice blend of cinnamon, cloves, fennel seed, star anise, and szechuan peppercorns (Chinese five spice blend). I add my sunflowers to a mason jar, add a few tablespoons of this spice blend along with a teaspoon of olive oil, and give the jar a good shake. I now have sunflower seeds to munch on all day and share with friends. Yum!

Sort:  

nyum nyum - and pretty too!

Hey @anwenbaumeister

What a great post. I love the natural way of living and growing your own food. In the states it was really hard to avoid food with loads of additives and preservatives.

Me and @starkerz were talking about Earth Ships the other day. I may have to add creating one to my bucket list!

Where do you live?

I just wanted to say thanks for your up-vote on my post too, I have followed you :)

https://steemit.com/bucket-list/@ashleypeat/episode-2-the-gun-range-or-bucket-list-vlog

I love sunflower seeds. I never thought to add seasonings to them...Good idea. I will be doing this from now on. Thanks for sharing.

Congratulations @anwenbaumeister, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superhero or Legend account holder (accounts hold greater than 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superhero and Legend account holders during this period was 19 and the total pending payments to posts in these categories was $866.85. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

wow grate post ....i like this.. thanks for this post
i have some new post .....you can check
here @letsmakes

I love sun flower seeds!

That's awesome!

Have you ever heard about using Sunflowers to clean up areas exposed to high levels of radiation?

Apparently sunflowers and hemp are the two best for restoration. As well as some mushrooms.

Ever heard about that?

Amazing... Bunga yang indah

nice..sunflower seeds can make a medicine but not just medicine also STEM,PETALS,ROOTS.andLEAVES can make a medicine.

Good post ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71