Sometimes, the Unexpected HappenssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #perspective5 years ago

It has been a couple of long and tiring days... but this afternoon, I did get to spend a little time out in the back yard, taking photos of the many blooming plants and bushes ablaze with spring color.

Sometimes, the unexpected happens.

I was actually trying to take a shot of the blooming salmonberry bushes against the bright blue sky, but instead of the focus being on the flowers in the foreground, it ended up being on the utility wire in the background... and in the exact moment I pressed the button, a hummingbird settled on the wire.

0971Hummingbird.jpg

It was a strangely poignant reminder to not only be open to the unexpected, but also that sometimes unexpected results can actually be better than what we had originally planned for.

In the next photo, you'll see what I was aiming for. That faint horizontal shadow through the center of the photo is actually the same wire... except so out of focus you can barely see it's there.

0971Salmonberry.jpg

It is also a poignant visual reminder that much of what we see and do in life comes down to a matter of perspective. What is it that you're focused on? And are you so focused that you overlook other things that are part of the picture?

Well, short post this evening, because it's super late and I have to work all day, tomorrow.

Thanks for reading!

Comments, feedback and other interaction is invited and welcomed! Because — after all — SOCIAL content is about interacting, right? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

PHC Logo

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 190422 01:38 PST

0971

Sort:  

That is seriously one of those life events when it’s obvious source has a message for you, just a matter of interpreting it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I tend to overplan quite a bit... and this was probably a reminder to be more open to accepting that there can also be perfection (unexpected!) in the unplanned.

AWESOME!! You were definitely at the right place at the right time!
Hummingbirds can be difficult to capture in pictures!

Yes, since they move around so much, and so fast... they are usually gone by the time I actually manage to get a focus on the spot where they have settled!

Oh wow, what a great shot to get a hummingbird actually still! That is so true that we often are so focused on one thing that we totally miss some truly remarkable things. I have a tendency to have tunnel vision sometimes, so this is always a good reminder for me.

It was just one of those "lucky shots" where it settled for about 10 seconds before moving on again. Had I actually stopped and tried to take a "proper" photo with a long zoom lens, it would have been long gone!

I'm guilty of hyperfocusing, too...

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the support! My favorite Steem community, as you know!

You' ve been selected always in support of good work

Largo mensajes.jpg

Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.
- Ryunosuke Satoro.

Do not forget to use our tag #phototalent & #talentclub & #positivexposure

You can see our daily report in this link

Thank you for the support; I appreciate it!

birds bring bliss

Yes, I have been pleasantly surprised many a time too
I guess because there are no expectations
Going with the flow and allowance :)
I don't think I have seen hummingbirds in that colour...
Thank you for sharing :D

I like when the unexpected is a pleasant surprise like that. I can assure you that if you try to get that hummingbird oh, he would not have planted on the utility wire and you would not have gotten that beautiful picture. Well, let's just assume you wouldn't but it's possible that you could have.

I am one of nine children, so the unexpected was always expected. But I can say that I love this article and it may be one of your shorter versions of writing, however, it says so very much in this space. So thank you very much for always and forever teaching with your writing.

I dare say that the lesson is never lost on me.

Upped and steemed

!tip

🎁 Hi @denmarkguy! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85